Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How woeful are the Roosters!

Cliffhanger

Didn't you have a major deadwood cutting and culture change last year? That's what we were told all through GF week. The man you want out is uncle Nick, the man who allows an 'anything goes so far as we win' policy at the club.
Are you serious?

Uncle Nick is best thing to happen to the Roosters since back to back grand finals in the 70s. No Politis and there will be no Roosters.

Before Politis came in and saved us we hadn't played in a finals series for 13 years, the number of supperters was dwindling, the club was in financial ruin, lowest sponsorship and membership in the comp, Easts Leagues being sold off chunk by chunk by the previous admin and financially imperilled. We were completely f**ked.

After he took control

Finals appearances in 96, 97, 98, 99, 2000, 01, 02, 03, 04, 08, 10. Grand Finals in 2000, 02, 03, 04, 10. 10,000 members. Easts Group expanded out to encompass five clubs and $100M assets. one of the most lucrative clubs in terms of sponsorship.

It was teams assembled under the Politis business model that have made all those finals appearances and appeared in more grand finals than any team except Brisbane and Melbourne since he took over the club.

Big Pete

Nobody disses the Titans for buying Bird, or the Raiders for buying Tilse.

There's a difference between what those players did and what Carney did.

Tilse was the fall guy for one incident - Bird wasn't convicted for his crimes.

Cliffhanger

There's a difference between what those players did and what Carney did.

Tilse was the fall guy for one incident - Bird wasn't convicted for his crimes.
Yes because she glassed herself:roll:

But that wasn't the point. Teams always pick up other teams discards.

Pretty sure if the Roosters let Carney go after the Watts incident another team would have bought him.

Good god Besthalfbackpearce is one annoying motherf**ker.

The team deserves everybit of criticism for 2011 and then a bit more, there are divisions in the camp and all is not well but to say we didn't deserve to be in the GF is just wrong we had to defeat 3rd, 2nd and 4th to get to the GF in what turned out to be an elimination game every week. Carney at full fitness is definitely the difference between crap and not with this team.

Point of order, Roosters went Spoon, Second Last, Spoon, Spoon in the 60's.

LOL the 60's, why do you Souffs fans live so far in the past?

Iafeta

Firstly, weren't they doing fairly ordinary through this part of last year? And then finished strong. Secondly, if Chris Heinington had half a brain to pick up a football they were out in the first week of the finals anyhow. I'm still staggered how a first grader with supposed rep desires could muff that play up. Thirdly, I reckon it must be hard playing for a club with such a loose code of conduct and such application of that code of conduct depending purely on your name rather than the act ... you wouldn't know what the hell is expected behavioural and attitude wise at the joint.

Iafeta

Didn't you have a major deadwood cutting and culture change last year? That's what we were told all through GF week. The man you want out is uncle Nick, the man who allows an 'anything goes so far as we win' policy at the club.

Correct. Many mixed signals fly around through him.

Hooch

Carney still hasn't got it together. Maybe you should sack your replacement sprint coach? You can't tolerate that sort of non-performance.

Mark Rudd

Nobody would know if the Rooster's were gone. Honestly mate, do yourself a favour. Find another team. And encourage other Rooster fans to do the same. Then sign a petition from Rooster fans to relocate the team to Perth.

It would solve SO many issues. One the least is wasting TV time on a joke of a team.

This.

Cliffhanger

The saddest thing is I think the Roosters were actually trying last night. Their goal line defence was desperate stuff.

Red Bear

Tell you what, if SKD could catch they'd be going a bit better this year, about 5 times the last two weeks he's been put in space and dropped it.

Cliffhanger

I think he may be carrying an injury or something. He's a lot slower than last year and he has no confidence.

Ronnie Dobbs

I think he may be carrying an injury or something. He's a lot slower than last year and he has no confidence.

He's carrying something, but it ain't the ball.

He's just a metaphor for the Chooks. Exciting for 10 weeks in 2010, back to the abyss in 2011. Much like Parra in 2009 and then last year.

Cliffhanger

It became really obvious the Roosters had problems against the Sea Eagles and a lot of those fears were vindicated against the dogs, no matter how many sets we had within 20 of their line in the final ten we couldn't take the game. All our creativity in attack came from Carney in 2010 and he's just struggling to find form this season.

At the momen I think we're really missing Kennedy. None of our forwards are willing to take a hit up in our half. It's disgusting.

Hooch

It was just a bit of a purple patch I reckon. I couldnt undersstand how he went from serviceable back to an international class centre.