Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hunt has asked for a release

SHOULD BEN HUNT BE MOVED ON BEFORE THE 2024 SEASON?

• Yes

Votes: 20 95.2%
  • No

Votes: 1 4.8%

BLM01

But we are a poorly run club.
Don’t disagree but some of their tripe they have dishing out as the reasons apply to other clubs
Titans have no won a comp in 15 years and have turned coaches over recently like turnstiles
Have hardly made a dent in challenging the comp except when over the cap? In early days

So we will leave them alone and all the media report is a tick for what’s happened
And of course Benny will be better off their know Des has signed
Their bias and eyesight are all tunnelled vision

SGMax

Hunt is homesick??
Have you seen how far Gold Coast is from his home town?
Its a flight either way....probably 1 hour from GC vs 2 hours from Sydney.
Hardly something that is worth the drama of suddenly running out on your team and breaking of contracts.

Complete BS and I can't see the Titans improving enough to be a genuine chance for a title...nowhere near it.
Tino and Fifita have been there for years already and they haven't lifted to the top yet.
Hope the NRL get serious about enforcing the anti tampering rules.

RedVee_8

Yeah mate, perfect lifestyle. Reckon this will be me until I pine box it.
Yes beautiful spot.
We used to stay in Jeffery’s lane? not too far from the surf club until my uncle & aunt bought a place a block or two further south on the Hwy, then we used to stay there. But Im talking pre (& after) the Currumbin Creek mouth being dredged out, and before (& after) the new bridge at Currumbin. Lol I sound like an old bloke now.

Is there still a movie theatre? I remember the seats were hessian sacks on wooden ? frames. very cool, my cousins dragged me into some surf movie in the mid 70s :) happy days

Gomarchin

Go marchin,
Manager and Benny on a huge backflip and clean up of story seeing they got busted doing something illegal..now the compassionate leave angle comes to play so Benny looks all innocent
I know a backflip a REAL Dragons legend N Blacklock would be proud of.

But the 'I'm homesick and wanting to go home' excuse (even though its still a 1 hour flight away) will always work because once you bring up the 'I want to do what's best for my family and we miss them etc etc.' you will always get the release (eventually).

The way he went about this was complete amateur hour but an opportunity for Flano and the club to start re-building.

qld redvee

Hey Guys this whole Bullshit story stinks and goes to all involved right to the top, the NRL will cover their arses say nothing to see here, move along, yet those same low life’s will make it all fine and proper, what a bunch of liars.
Just imagine if it happened at easts or another glamour club ,,nrl would have come out swinging and probably already fined the offending team and given uncle Nick a 100% salary cap exemption as compensation.. there's definitely a who cares attitude from the authority

dannyt

This whole thing has gone from Dragons bashing from the media's "basket case" club to lifting the band aid off for us to see the how the anti tampering rules regarding the cap are a farce.

I hope the club takes every opportunity to milk every last drop to make this go away.
You can bet hoops-the-wit won't go past "basket case".

Redhoopz

Firstly, nobody knows if something has changed in his personal circumstances since October, which has driven this. It's all speculation. Even still, it's poor timing from Hunt.

If the Dragons do grant him a release, it shouldn't be until after the season has finished. All the QLD teams will either make the finals, or in with a chance to make the finals. Hunt shouldn't be allowed to leave halfway through a season and potentially get to play finals footy, while the Dragons are battling to avoid the spoon. There also needs to be some sort of compensation to the Dragons - whether it be financial or player swaps, or both.

SnowDragon

I heard from a mate (no substance as such) that Hasler was in discussions with Titans, and decided to contact Hunt and convince him to move. Supposedly this was prior to him signing with Titans (like that matters).

the system is weak if not broken. Best we can achieve, is wring out the best deal possible, and hope Amone avoids jail time. Then let Flanno build us a Premiership.

Mojo

I know a backflip a REAL Dragons legend N Blacklock would be proud of.

But the 'I'm homesick and wanting to go home' excuse (even though its still a 1 hour flight away) will always work because once you bring up the 'I want to do what's best for my family and we miss them etc etc.' you will always get the release (eventually).

The way he went about this was complete amateur hour but an opportunity for Flano and the club to start re-building.
Sick of living in a mansion in Cronulla … I want to go home to the beautiful red dust and screw grass.

Mojo

I can't wait what his reaction towards the club after the smoke clears.

If he backs down, he will look like a goose.
He looks like a goose anyway IMO.
He reminds me of that dickhead we all went to school with who learnt very quickly that he could do anything he likes because he‘s the star A-grade footy player.

Mojo

I heard from a mate (no substance as such) that Hasler was in discussions with Titans, and decided to contact Hunt and convince him to move. Supposedly this was prior to him signing with Titans (like that matters).

the system is weak if not broken. Best we can achieve, is wring out the best deal possible, and hope Amone avoids jail time. Then let Flanno build us a Premiership.
I think your insubstantial mate is on the money. As soon as Hook was mentioned by Ben (in his backpedaling interview yesterday) I had the brow slapping thought - of course the NRL would have a hell of a time trying to enforce an anti-tampering policy against a currently unemployed coach - both Des and Hook have probably been working the phones. They’ve both got axes to grind and pitching for a new coaching role with a ‘marque‘ player in your back pocket (like a spiv snake oil salesman) would be extra leverage.

The big bucks meat market that the NRL has become is becoming pretty ugly.