Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hurricane Katrina

shadow grinder

pretty pathetic the people that are looting the place.....and im not talking about the people taking food and water...the people stealing TV's, guns, boxes of shoes , bikes and god knows what are friggin assholes!

SpaceMonkey

shadow grinder said:
pretty pathetic the people that are looting the place.....and im not talking about the people taking food and water...the people stealing TV's, guns, boxes of shoes , bikes and god knows what are friggin assholes!
I reckon the ones stealing beer are forgivable though, I'd need a drink too.

Blade

Oh, and it's not only the people who are looting.

Scroll down to Hurrican Katrina, Police Loot Too! after you click HERE

Moffo

lol amazing

it is a surreal scene. The response to this tragedy is a disgrace

And heads should hang over it. Real people are dying in the streets whilst these dickheads on the tv argue about whose fault it was

disgraceful

Rexxy

Theres also the the The Times-Picayune of New Orleans on line but its coming out of Baton Rouge.

We also get National Public Radio's All Things Considered, shows like the Tom Leaher News Hour, 20/20, BBC world, and all the other mainstream. Fox news BTW is putting a very posiitive spin on things.

I'd say we are better informed than the average american. It looks like Day of the Triffids down there... A total breakdown of society. Its legal and moral code. The wild west; death by the gun.

I have not seen ONE image of the National Guard or The Army.

Bush just said "The city will rise again" but he needed to say we have 40,000 nurses, 1million bread rolls and all the troops we have in Iraq coming home to hand it out and rebuild and secure this once wonderful city.

Now just wait for people to get typiod and the world will know that America may be the richest nation on earth, but also the dumbest.

4 days before any water arrives? people saying on the news "we are going to start eaching each other". 4 days for FEMA to arrive? 20,000 people living in a Stadium and the concession stands arent even open.

Maybe if N.O. had more white people and rich people rolling around in their own blood and poo, the aid relief would be far more immediate.

If you hve your health, some money and you live in Australia then you have won the trifecta. Add a boat, someone to love you and a decent footy team and thats a superfecta.

MysteryGirl said:
Hi guys
Just wanted to provide you with a link to the newspaper down there so you can get more of the local view of things rather than the large national and internation view

http://www.2theadvocate.com/

millersnose

the anti US hate and cliches pour from yet another post

Rexxy said:
and all the troops we have in Iraq coming home.

lol

thatll fix the damage

America may be the richest nation on earth, but also the dumbest.

types rexy on his american invented software into his american invented computer to post to the american invented internet

Maybe if N.O. had more white people and rich people rolling around in their own blood and poo, the aid relief would be far more immediate.

its cause they are blck that helicopters full of instant "the way things were before the storm" wernt hovering at the ready

you forgot to blame the bu$hitler for not signing kyoto

MysteryGirl

Rex:
I wasn't saying you are less informed than the average American...
I was saying that there is a national and world view - and then there is the view from the people who are actually from that area. I didn't mean to insult your intelligence by posting a link to a local newspaper there.

I forgot - Aussies know everything. Evolution's gift to the world.

This may surprise you, but I was aware that you guys do have electricity and paved roads and even running water.

I'll be the first to admit that the lawless behavior in NO is horrible. However, there are always those few who make life for the majority more difficult.

millersnose

Rexxy said:
So you think its all being handled well?

yes

in calamities such as this there will always been hindsight and areas that could have been done better

i do beleive given the destruction it is a credit to the authorities the death toll is so low

Rexxy

MysteryGirl said:
I forgot - Aussies know everything. Evolution's gift to the world.

Youve been listening to pando too much. ;-)

I dont think its true...but we would be able to get water to stranded people within 4 days...

MysteryGirl

I'm sure you could.
You probably would have been prepared for the event as well.

We're just dumb Americans though.

Has nothing to do with Pando btw - I just thought you were a little snitty to me.

Rexxy

millersnose said:
yes

in calamities such as this there will always been hindsight and areas that could have been done better

i do beleive given the destruction it is a credit to the authorities the death toll is so low

I think people in that stadium would want things to be moving a bit quicker. The good thing about hindsight, it prepares you better for next time.

I'm sure our SES is so good because of all the fires and floods we've had in Oz.

But in New Orleans there doesnt seem to be a centralised co-ordination of the effort ... and no aid going in, despite the raods being open.

Plenty of people on roofs asking local choppers for help, but the choppers are full of people only interested in images for the TV news.

The next few days will be critical.

Rexxy

MysteryGirl said:
I'm sure you could.
You probably would have been prepared for the event as well.

We're just dumb Americans though.

Has nothing to do with Pando btw - I just thought you were a little snitty to me.

Sorry if i was snitty...it just seems that we're more concerned about your citizens than your elected officials are.

Rexxy

millersnose said:

a question for you then...

what is the death toll? 1000?

at what stage would that stop being a credit to them? 10,000?

and for the purposes of this poll, the value of 1 life=1 life.
whether it be blacks, islamists, whites...

millersnose

Rexxy said:
I think people in that stadium would want things to be moving a bit quicker. The good thing about hindsight, it prepares you better for next time.

I'm sure our SES is so good because of all the fires and floods we've had in Oz.

fires and floods in australia happen in the bush were there are very few people

this is a major storm that hit a major population center

the comprable one we had was darwin were on a direct population comparison the death toll ws greater

But in New Orleans there doesnt seem to be a centralised co-ordination of the effort ... and no aid going in, despite the raods being open.

nonsense

and

nonsense

Plenty of people on roofs asking local choppers for help, but the choppers are full of people only interested in images for the TV news.

and thousands that have been collected from the worst areas

millersnose

Rexxy said:
a question for you then...

what is the death toll? 1000?

at what stage would that stop being a credit to them? 10,000?

and for the purposes of this poll, the value of 1 life=1 life.
whether it be blacks, islamists, whites...

poll?

your america hate is palpable

Mong

Seems not even the president agrees with you old mate.

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,10117,16477285-2,00.html

PRESIDENT George W. Bush toured areas devastated by Hurricane Katrina on foot for the first time overnight and acknowledged that early results of relief efforts were "not acceptable."

"Out of New Orleans is going to come that great city again. That's what's going to happen. But now we're in the darkest days, and so we got a lot of work to do," he said at Mobile regional airport in Alabama.

"It's too doggone late!" New Orleans Mayor Ray Nagin fired back in an angry and emotional interview aired on CNN. "Now get off your asses and let's do something and fix the biggest goddamn crisis in the history of this country."

Opposition Democrats in Washington also piled on, with Democratic National Committee spokeswoman Karen Finney accused Bush of merely "posing for photo-ops (opportunities)" and failing to get food and water to needy areas.

"Why is it that President Bush was able to send food and supplies to Afghanistan the same day our invasion began, but it has taken five days to even begin to send supplies to New Orleans?" she said in a statement.

Bush, facing a mounting death toll and a growing chorus of critics, took aerial tours of coastal Alabama as well as Mississippi, where he took a walking tour through rubble-strewn Biloxi that brought him face-to-face with two sisters who lost everything to the storm.

Louisiana officials have stepped up their criticism of Washington's response, with some calling the failure to speed troops and food and medicine a "national disgrace

Mong

PRESIDENT George W. Bush toured areas devastated by Hurricane Katrina on foot for the first time overnight and acknowledged that early results of relief efforts were "not acceptable."

Doesn't get much clearer then that