Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I Dont' Like Cricket, Oh No, I Love it, Yeah

Eelogical

Steve Smith is 35, going to play in the Sydney Test. It's possible he will announce his retirement, have the big Sydney send off, unless he has his eye on the WTC at Lord's in June.

An absolutely cracking test.
One of the best I've seen for years and that pitch was an absolute belter. There was something in it during the whole 5 days for both the batsman and bowlers.
Great captaincy from Patty today rotating the bowlers as he did, and great fielding from the Aussies.

I love Constance's confidence, but I think he needs to possibly pull his head in a bit.
He's a bit too mouthy at this stage for my liking.
He just needs to let his batting do the talking, and in that respect, he has some incredible technical flaws that he needs to work on.

Otherwise, a most enjoyable 5 days.
Bring on Sydney.

Eelogical

I'm not sold on Sam Konstas just yet. I'll give him some time to develop before throwing knives. Maybe he's what the future looks like, I'm not sure. Usman looks destined to retire so ol' mate Sam best try and lock in that opening spot.

Eelogical

An absolutely cracking test.
One of the best I've seen for years and that pitch was an absolute belter. There was something in it during the whole 5 days for both the batsman and bowlers.
Great captaincy from Patty today rotating the bowlers as he did, and great fielding from the Aussies.

I love Constance's confidence, but I think he needs to possibly pull his head in a bit.
He's a bit too mouthy at this stage for my liking.
He just needs to let his batting do the talking, and in that respect, he has some incredible technical flaws that he needs to work on.

Otherwise, a most enjoyable 5 days.
Bring on Sydney.
The commentators were slobbering all over him, that's for sure. I really hope he knuckles down and carves a career out of it. He has a pass from me at the moment. 6.8/10 Eelo's.

JokerEel

I'm not sold on Sam Konstas just yet. I'll give him some time to develop before throwing knives. Maybe he's what the future looks like, I'm not sure. Usman looks destined to retire so ol' mate Sam best try and lock in that opening spot.

I like him he brings energy and enthusiasm the side needs with his youth.

The worst thing the selectors do is drop him of he has a few bad innings.

Steve Smith is 35, going to play in the Sydney Test. It's possible he will announce his retirement, have the big Sydney send off, unless he has his eye on the WTC at Lord's in June.

I don't think he will retire after Sydney going off what he said in his recent interview, as long as he can make runs, he will bat on, Oozie said pretty much the same thing.

I'm not sold on Sam Konstas just yet.

His 60 in the first innings will get him a few credits so I reckon even if he fails in Sydney they wont forget how he set this test much up for Australia.

He's a rare talent for mine with a huge future.

Eelogical

I don't think he will retire after Sydney going off what he said in his recent interview, as long as he can make runs, he will bat on, Oozie said pretty much the same thing.

His 60 in the first innings will get him a few credits sp I reckon even if he fails in Sydney they wont forget how he set this test much up for Australia.

He's a rare talent for mine with a huge future.
I'm not denying his talent, he has a lot to learn. I just don't want to see him get caught up in the fanfare over one game.

Incorrect

Might be showing my age but the best Test match for me was the 1977 Centenary Test match at the MCG v England.
For edge of your seat drama and the narrowest of margins, the 1992/93 Adelaide Test v the West Indies would be the all time best that I've seen played in this country (not old enough to have seen 1977 Centenary Test)...

Aussie's needed 2 runs to win with one wicket in hand and take an unassailable 2-nil series lead with 1 Test left to play...

Courtney Walsh took the final wicket, McDermott caught behind and so the series was level going to Perth... They wiped the floor with us at the WACA (the match where Ambrose took 7 for 1 during one spell) and so it was that poor old AB never got to experience a winning series as captain v the West Indies.... Never forget his reaction when McDermott got out in Adelaide, he pegged a cricket ball against the wall of the dressing room, lucky it didn't ricochet and kill someone lol....

For edge of your seat drama and the narrowest of margins, the 1992/93 Adelaide Test v the West Indies would be the all time best that I've seen played in this country (not old enough to have seen 1977 Centenary Test)...

Aussie's needed 2 runs to win with one wicket in hand and take an unassailable 2-nil series lead with 1 Test left to play...

Courtney Walsh took the final wicket, McDermott caught behind and so the series was level going to Perth... They wiped the floor with us at the WACA (the match where Ambrose took 7 for 1 during one spell) and so it was that poor old AB never got to experience a winning series as captain v the West Indies.... Never forget his reaction when McDermott got out in Adelaide, he pegged a cricket ball against the wall if the dressing room, lucky it didn't ricochet and kill someone lol....
AB threw the ball into the ground and it hit the roof and then bounced and hit Langer in the head.

It's AB's fault why he is such a space cadet lol.

King-Gutho94

Might be showing my age but the best Test match for me was the 1977 Centenary Test match at the MCG v England.
2006 Amazing Adelaide for me

Poms got 550 and still lost haha. How do you lose a test match after scoring 6/550 in the first innings.

Warnie was incredible on that last day.

KP the flog said to warne he would never bowl him around his legs and warnie did it to him on that last day.