Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I had the best bloody day at the football yesterday...

Timbo

No, I didn't get to CUA Stadium. Neither did I go to Toyota Stadium.

I was at Henson Park for the game between the Newtown Jets and the Auckland Vulcans.

On Thursday night, I was out with a mate in a bar on King Street when we won a lucky door prize - two passes to the Jets game on Saturday.

What the hell, we thought. What else are we going to be doing? We went not expecting much.

How wrong we were. It was fantastic.

There was no video screen or video ref. When a try was a bit iffy, the ref pointed to the spot and called it. And noone cared, just get on with the game.

There were kids kicking a footy around on the hill. No security telling them to sit down because of liability issues or because they were interefereing with other patrons. And at halftime they all ran out on the field to kick the ball around with each other. Again, no security shoo-ing them away or kicking them out.

The only food was pies or sausage sandwiches. The beer was KB lager. There were no nazi's at the bar saying that you could only buy 2 drinks so you'd have to go back to your seat and come back again.

The pre-match entertainment was a well worn casset tape playing Beach Boys music, and the ground announcer was a character - not a wanker or a robot like you get at other grounds.

But the thing that got me most was the atmosphere. There would have only been 2,000 people there at the most, but everyone was into the game - which was close and of a high standard. And when the Jet's won it right on the buzzer, the crowd went pretty wild.

We went to find out how much it would cost to get in normally - because we'll be back - and discovered it's only a paltry $8 to get in, and kids under 16 are free.

This is everything people miss about going to the football. It was the best day I've had at a Rugby League game in, well, ever. And I realized why shortly into the second half - it's still 1982 at Henson Park. And I think people do miss that a little.

So do yourselves a favour, head down to Henson Park, grab a sausage sanger and a KB and watch the Jets run around from the hill. It'll be one of the best days out you have at the footy in a long, long time.

StormChaser

Park footy is very under-rated. I watch my brother play in an under 19's comp and it's awesome, every week.

t-ba

Always good. I haven't been in yonks but watching the Maggies run around Davies Park was always good value when I first moved up here. Dolphin Oval's great too!!!

If I'm in Sydney and Norths are playing at home I always make a note to amble down to Bear Park.

Kiki

thats so weird Timbo, Sassy and I (and a huge group of friends) were there too!! we got to Jets games alot, its one of the best things to do on the weekend in Sydney.

me and Sassy are now writing for the NSWRL website and doing profiles and character pieces on the NSW cup teams, the Jets were our first. we interviewed them last night. im happy to say everyone from the fans, the team to the CEO is absolutely lovely and awesome and so welcoming.

i'm so glad u had such a great time, make sure you go back coz the Jets are a great club and deserve support!

ps nice to see such a positive thread on this forum :D

Best day of this year was seeing the Jets play the Central Coast side up here with Mason and Myles. Best day, better than half the days I see First Grade.

sass

HOW GOOD IS HENSON PARK?

a day watching the jets is one of my favourite, favourite days. especially when you can get a beer and a coke for $6 and bring your dog.

i think maybe the cutest thing is the little kids who come up and ask for your cans. heart.

It's a good afternoon.

If only half the douche bags who wear a Newtown shirt or put a bumper sticker on their car actually ever went to Henson they might actually reach the 8972 crowd they announce each game…

Kiki

i don't think the NRL is entirely plastic. some grounds still have a very grass roots feel. Leichardt and CUA...and the hill on Kogarah.

but yeh park footy is amazing, i love love love it.

im super excited to go interview some of the other teams!

yappy

Another convert.

Henson is probably the best of the NSW Cup grounds for that old time atmosphere, but NSO isn't far behind. Campbo doesn't quite have the same feel sadly, but yesterday was good. The NSW Cup / JB Cup combined semis we had last year were good though with a bigger crowd. The footy at this level is good, the crowds are friendly, and the prices are right - not many better ways of spending a Saturday afternoon.

Looking forward to August 8 when we visit Henson again. It's the same day as our old players reunion so there'll probably be a few Magpie greats feeling a bit dusty making their way down to cheer on the boys and sink a KB.

Sass & Kiki, we look forward to having you out for a visit to the wild west, and tee up some interviews with Leo and the boys.

Park footy is very under-rated. I watch my brother play in an under 19's comp and it's awesome, every week.

exactly...not to mention he had low expectations going in, meaning when those very low standards were surpassed, he became very impressed.

which wasnt hard to do.

but park footy can be just as great.

LRC

Timbo, your comment about not having the video replays is spot on and Ive posted that before elsewhere.
Its organic footy and you dont get stressed about an incorrect decision because you don't really have a second look and move on quickly.
The milion screens and replays at the major grounds can really fire you up and spoil your day.

miguel de cervantes

Timbo, your comment about not having the video replays is spot on and Ive posted that before elsewhere.
Its organic footy and you dont get stressed about an incorrect decision because you don't really have a second look and move on quickly.
The milion screens and replays at the major grounds can really fire you up and spoil your day.

The problem is that first grade is, obviously, another notch up. Unfortunately a lot more money is involved including betting agencies handling what must be hundreds of thousands of $ on each game.

Decisions must be scrutinised as much as possible otherwise referees would retrospectively come under a huge amount of pressure for having made such or such decision affecting the outcome of such or such game and the flow of money depending on the game. I don't believe this pressure would be confined to the grandstands or the media either. I honestly think this is a large driving factor behind the video ref.

It probably works at Henson because there is no video screen and if I am not mistaken, no formal betting.

big boppa eel

No, I didn't get to CUA Stadium. Neither did I go to Toyota Stadium.

I was at Henson Park for the game between the Newtown Jets and the Auckland Vulcans.

On Thursday night, I was out with a mate in a bar on King Street when we won a lucky door prize - two passes to the Jets game on Saturday.

What the hell, we thought. What else are we going to be doing? We went not expecting much.

How wrong we were. It was fantastic.

There was no video screen or video ref. When a try was a bit iffy, the ref pointed to the spot and called it. And noone cared, just get on with the game.

There were kids kicking a footy around on the hill. No security telling them to sit down because of liability issues or because they were interefereing with other patrons. And at halftime they all ran out on the field to kick the ball around with each other. Again, no security shoo-ing them away or kicking them out.

The only food was pies or sausage sandwiches. The beer was KB lager. There were no nazi's at the bar saying that you could only buy 2 drinks so you'd have to go back to your seat and come back again.

The pre-match entertainment was a well worn casset tape playing Beach Boys music, and the ground announcer was a character - not a wanker or a robot like you get at other grounds.

But the thing that got me most was the atmosphere. There would have only been 2,000 people there at the most, but everyone was into the game - which was close and of a high standard. And when the Jet's won it right on the buzzer, the crowd went pretty wild.

We went to find out how much it would cost to get in normally - because we'll be back - and discovered it's only a paltry $8 to get in, and kids under 16 are free.

This is everything people miss about going to the football. It was the best day I've had at a Rugby League game in, well, ever. And I realized why shortly into the second half - it's still 1982 at Henson Park. And I think people do miss that a little.

So do yourselves a favour, head down to Henson Park, grab a sausage sanger and a KB and watch the Jets run around from the hill. It'll be one of the best days out you have at the footy in a long, long time.
Great post mate, saw my first ever game at Henson park back in the late 70's Im 41 now and took my son intentially to his first game at Henson Park about 3 years ago to watch Parra and Newtown , he didn't realise the significance, but I did.

Greenie

Gotta love a Saturday afternoon at Leichhardt watching Balmain - especially when my little Carlingford Cougars are the pre-game entertainment!

Must get out to North Sydney Oval before season's end - while there always seems to be someone running around in red and black when I drive past on Saturdays, they are generally practicing line outs ...

Does anyone know where you can get the schedule for Bears games?

btw Timbo, you made the right decision not to go out to CUA - we really weren't very good - again.

It's been long trips home from Newie and Penrith in successive weeks ...

CC_Eagle

Must be the weekend for it - I spent my afternoon watching my sister's boyfriend run out for Wyong at home. The whole game had such a traditional (no f*cking video ref) and basic feel. Anything else would have just feel wrong in comparison.

Those in the know in the NRL should spend a few afternoons watching some club footy. Maybe then the code won't be completely disjointed from it's own audience.

Kiki

Another convert.

Henson is probably the best of the NSW Cup grounds for that old time atmosphere, but NSO isn't far behind. Campbo doesn't quite have the same feel sadly, but yesterday was good. The NSW Cup / JB Cup combined semis we had last year were good though with a bigger crowd. The footy at this level is good, the crowds are friendly, and the prices are right - not many better ways of spending a Saturday afternoon.

Looking forward to August 8 when we visit Henson again. It's the same day as our old players reunion so there'll probably be a few Magpie greats feeling a bit dusty making their way down to cheer on the boys and sink a KB.

Sass & Kiki, we look forward to having you out for a visit to the wild west, and tee up some interviews with Leo and the boys.

HI MISTER!

oh you're so sweet, we can't wait to come visit u guys. it won't be until September because we have some other teams lined up and then we are off to the USA for a holiday. but we will let you know when we are on the way out.

Greenie we are going to Leichardt in 2 weeks! so excited!

it's the best gig ever :D

typicalfan

I love NSW Cup, Bundy Cup matches etc. Used to watch the Sydney Bulls, Windsor Wolves, Mounties etc run around. It is real footy devoid of the stuff that ruins first grade like over policing the ruck and video referees.

Every time I visit my brother (a King Street native) we go and watch the Blue Bags play, be it against a Reserve Grade side or a Metro Cup side. The trek to Marrickville is eagerly anticipated, from Zanzibar to the Henson Park Hotel. This is something that pre-NSWRL fans fail to understand.

It is the game which is important: not the spectators (particularly those who never saw the crowd reach the referred to capacity of 8972), the players, the groundsmen, the officials, etc. The game of Rugby League is what the fans come to see, the Blue Bags running on Henson Park in Marrickville, the competiton of man vs man, club vs club, the winner feeds the family on his $200-a-win-bonus and the loser returns with nothing but his dented pride and a new story for the kids.

THAT MY FRIENDS IS RUGBY LEAGUE!

miccle

Great thread, and something in it for all of you north-of-the-border too.

Qld Cup football is always a great afternoon. Three grades playing, cheap as chips and some of the best local grounds in the country (with some great, cheap food on offer too). Steak sandwiches while sitting on the Langlands Park grandstand, sunning yourself on the grass at Dolphin Oval, enjoying a beer on a picnic rug at Bashup Park or taking in the sights (and smells) of the Chook Pen at Kougari Oval.

Rugby league at its finest IMO.