Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I hope we have learnt our lesson

Clifferd

I don't think it is.

In the 19 seasons Since 1998 we've had 12 different premiers.

Its not like the English Superleague where they have had 5 different premiers in the 21 seasons since 1996

The English Premier League has had 5 different Premiers since the 1995/96 season

We have the fairest competition in the world imo.

And there's a fair chance Canberra could win this years comp, which would make 13 different premiers in 20 years

What is a rort is that the NRL will not permit Harry T to provide TPA to the WT because Meriton was a former major sponsor,when everyone knows the Broncos are blatantly if not shamelessly out of control with rorting the salary cap.

typicalfan

Either the players stay or some do, or the club has plenty of cash to spend and Cleary to sell as a coach who will attract interest. I would be requesting a trade deal for Moses too.

mepelthwack

Although I think this ultimatum will almost certainly guarantee Tedesco leaves, I still feel it was the right thing to do. With him, Woods, Moses all gone and 700k back for Farah we will have a fortune to spend.

It may turn out we need to pay overs for Widdop, Johnson or Reynolds but I'm pretty sure we will get one of them and if not we can throw a truckload at Cooper Cronk.

We should be able to get another good prop and back rower in addition to Mataulino and perhaps a centre.

I would expect all of these new signings to be decent.

I think the future, 2018 onwards is bright. I think Brooks will become something like we hoped for and I hope Suli becomes a real star. Mcilwrick is an absolute gun we are very fortunate there. Noafuluma I predicted big things from a couple of years ago and he has actually exceeded that and he is here for 4 more years now.

This year we have to make do with what we have and I doubt we can make any serious semi final charge but in the future karma being the bitch it can be, I'm hopeful we will beat and beat well the chooks, dogs and eels when it's going to hurt them the most and help us achieve glory.

You know, a town with money's a little like the mule with a spinning wheel. No one knows how he got it, and danged if he knows how to use it!
―Lyle Lanley

Based on the Telecrap Woods and Tedesco are both gone and if this is the case we are flush. In past years I would be extremely concerned we would waste our money on our very own Adam Blair model monorail. With Ivan Cleary at the helm all that is now going to change.

In the past 2 weeks we have re-singed Brooks to a reduced value contract which is fitting and which he has accepted. We have re-signed Nofa who has talked about his desire to improve and help the team. We have ET doing everything but throwing himself in front of a train for the team on the field, and speaking passionately about the team off it.

We have prioritised our contract negotiations when we couldn't reasonably fit 3 into 2. When the little prima dona wanted a release immediately we reminded him what a contract is and means. We didn't throw too much money at too few individuals.

When the 2 we were after dragged their heals about signing very generous contracts and kept bringing up a different bullshit story on a weekly basis we gave them an ultimatum. Sign by Friday or we'll make other arrangements. Bravo! The comes first before individual player.

I no longer care that much if Tedesco stays. We've made him a great long term offer that befits his current standing in the game and his form. Probably actually exceeds it. We paid for his junior development and when he had multiple long term injuries we stood by him as a team, and paid for his medical expenses and rehab financially. The first chance he got he wanted to f**k off to the raiders and it was only through the intervention of Robbie Farah he reneged and stayed. Now that it's contract time he wants to go again. This truly shows loyalty is dead.

Woods I no longer want to keep for any amount. What sort of leader would fraternise with the opposition on a week when we are due to play them. Sure you have mates from other clubs but in the lead up playing each other a leader would be rallying his own troops and doing everything possible to ensure the enemy is defeated. He should be immediately stripped of the captaincy. He couldn't lead his dog to the neighbours grass to take a dump.

As has been pointed out we don't want to be paying massive overs to attract other players. I hope Cleary has made a shopping list of players he wants to cover any contingencies going and put prices next to their name he won't go over.

Every time Cleary has spoken or acted since he has arrived I've been impressed and confident the club is in great hands. He has already embedded a team first ideal and it's clear he;s thinking of the fans. My opal card is topped up and I'm on the bus!

Mate - you actually made some sense at that point. You probably need to drink more often.

I'm quoting myself but there is no need for any comments regarding me being batshit crazy. I am.

I was thinking that we all will require a tonne of drinking to get over this. f**king Teddy the dog going to the Roorters.

Woods leaving is great but losing Teddy is shithouse.

I no longer care that much if Tedesco stays. We've made him a great long term offer that befits his current standing in the game and his form. Probably actually exceeds it. We paid for his junior development and when he had multiple long term injuries we stood by him as a team, and paid for his medical expenses and rehab financially. The first chance he got he wanted to f**k off to the raiders and it was only through the intervention of Robbie Farah he reneged and stayed. Now that it's contract time he wants to go again. This truly shows loyalty is dead.

I don't think loyalty is dead. Tedesco is just a dog merkin.

jadtiger

I'm quoting myself but there is no need for any comments regarding me being batshit crazy. I am.

I was thinking that we all will require a tonne of drinking to get over this. f**king Teddy the dog going to the Roorters.

Woods leaving is great but losing Teddy is shithouse.
I actually believe Woods is the greater loss as much as i like tedesco he has form for not being s good clubman and is now reported as having signed for the dogs and then backflipped to go to the roosters.He has zero loyalty to us and i dont care how he plays but his attitude is terrible

Front-Rower

I don't think it is.

In the 19 seasons Since 1998 we've had 12 different premiers.

Its not like the English Superleague where they have had 5 different premiers in the 21 seasons since 1996

The English Premier League has had 5 different Premiers since the 1995/96 season

Since 2000 there have only been 8 teams that have finished as minor premiers after the regular season;

Brisbane
Parra x 2
NZ
Penrith
Roosters x 4
SGI x 2
Melbourne x 2 (5 if you count their stripped titles)
Canterbury

With an 8 team semi final series, it really does become a lucky dip as the reward for 26 rounds comes down to form over a 4 week period.

Since 2000 there have only been 8 teams that have finished as minor premiers after the regular season;

Brisbane
Parra x 2
NZ
Penrith
Roosters x 4
SGI x 2
Melbourne x 2 (5 if you count their stripped titles)
Canterbury

With an 8 team semi final series, it really does become a lucky dip as the reward for 26 rounds comes down to form over a 4 week period.
The fact that the MInor Premier hasn't gone on to win the Premiership more frequently since 1998 than prior proves that the comp is more open now.

Winning the Minor Premiership for the first 80 odd seasons was almost a guarantee of reaching the Grand Final and winning it.

That's not the case anymore.

I actually believe Woods is the greater loss as much as i like tedesco he has form for not being s good clubman and is now reported as having signed for the dogs and then backflipped to go to the roosters.He has zero loyalty to us and i dont care how he plays but his attitude is terrible

Clearly he is a dog merkin. That is obvious.

Well, the next best player is only ever a season or two away from the NRL, we just need to be in a position to nab them, at the moment we now are, hopefully we start to manage this a bit better than we have.
Players will nearly always go where the money is, you cant blame them.

The fact that the MInor Premier hasn't gone on to win the Premiership more frequently since 1998 than prior proves that the comp is more open now.

Winning the Minor Premiership for the first 80 odd seasons was almost a guarantee of reaching the Grand Final and winning it.

That's not the case anymore.
I blame the top 8 system.

Top 5 rewarded the MP, put some real value on playing well for the whole season..

The beauty of the top 5 was that to win the title, you had to defeat the MP along the way at some point.

Now, it's a lucky dip..

Thankfully they've improved the top 8 and removed McIntyre.. that thing was a joke.. the fact you could finish third after 26 rounds but be out in week 1 of the finals if results didn't go your way was ludicrous..