Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I Was Just Rejected At ANZ Stadium Homebush Tonight

sooperdooper

Mate, what sport isn't? League administrators in any competition/code are always going to want to play matches at the best quality venues, as these venues generally offer the best facilities and amentities, which will enable their customers want to come back time and time again. Unfortuantely for ANZ, the stadium was built in the middle of nowhere. This will always come back to bite them in the arse when they try to attract crowds. Except for major events eg: Grand-finals, SOO, Socceroos games and even select Swans games, crowds are always gonna be sh*t. I think it's fair to say if the stadium was built in the city centre, or even where the current Moore Park sites are, that crowds would be significantly better.

middle of nowhere?
its 10min from parra and 15 from the city and throwing distance to one of the busiest roads in sydney....

eels81236

this reminds me of the time i needed some more baked beans, however, to my disapointment the store had run out again. twice that week! i despised the local shopping centre, so i thought id make a point.
I tried to get into Woolworths with a sign that said... "why shop here? the shelves are always empty."
for some reason they wouldnt let me into their place of business making derogatory statements about their service or product.
So I cried about the freedom of speech laws. "I can say whatever I like" i tried to explain to them. "it was nothing direct or personal" i cried. access denied.
I went home that week and sent a letter (no email in those days) to the "australian retailers association" at the time, claiming my innocence and displaying my disgust at woolworths for not letting me say what i liked. no success.

Looking back at it now i realise how i was just a naive little schoolboy. i thought the 40 minute class on "freedom of speech" (tought by the gorgeous 4th form teacher miss toon) tought me everything i needed to know on the subject. i was just a kid. i had so much to learn. immaturity at its finest it was.
worst part of it all... because i was so angry about them disrespecting me and my sign, i told them i would never go back there and left. i wish i had just kept my mouth shut and got the spaghetti instead.

disclaimer: entire story may or may not be true

2 True Blues

Wearing a Maggies jersey at an NRL match is asking for trouble though mate. You should have known that. lmao.........

But seriously, you should have gone into the game. Shown your sign. Had it aired etc. ( I doubt that they would have filmed it though anyway ), had it confiscated so you would not have to carry it home on the train. Then enjoyed the footy after proving your point.

Not they would have let you in I suppose anyway.

I remember BB43 taking one of those footy horn things to the Jets grandfinal against parra several years ago. They confiscated it off him at the gates when they saw he was wearing a Jets jersey. Strangley enough they handed out " sponsor ship covered thumper sticks ( or whatever they are called ) " for the crowd to make noise with.

Even more strange was the amount of NRL supporters sitting around this same ground all blowing their horns after we entered and were seated, ( though wearing NRL jerseys ). Strangely enough these horns were only confiscated from the Premier League fans.

?????????????????????????

Apparently they must have wanted to keep the crowd volume down for national TV when the P/League final was on.

Or they just hated to see a Jets jersey on a grandfinal day or something !!??

PS.... Made me recall when you mentioned you were wearing a wests jersey. I reckon that would not have helped your cause either.

St. Brett

Can somebody tell me on what grounds they would reject this banner?

reject.jpg

Does anyone find that offensive?

Offensive is not even the word I should be using.

They rejected me last night just because they can.
The ANZ ground had to push their weight around and bully one small fan.

She actually said that the second reason I wasn't aloud in was because I was wearing a Magpies jersey.
Why are you wearing that she said.

The pole only messured 1 meter and 10cm not exceeding the 1.4 regulation.

St. Brett

The Kill Joys felt a need to go and spoil my night, people.

killjoys.jpg

Don't even think about cheering if your team scores at ANZ it might offend the ground staff.

And I wouldn't put it past them that you'll have to wear a suit in future to gain entry into their stadium.

I've already e-mailed the merkins with offensive letters and now I will tell other media outlets about my treatment.

What pisses me off about this is the double standards.
I went to the Souffs Dragons game a few weeks back and took my No Vacancy sign and was aloud in yet last night they felt the need to express their inner arsehole for some reason.

ground.jpg

This was a real big turn off last night.
I have a huge e-mail to type now.
Wanna read it?

I can see him sitting at home polishing his gun while talking sweetly to it, right now!

"Its ok my pretty. You'll be allowed out to play real soon... real real soon" - *lovingly polishes the muzzle*

St. Brett

Wanna know what was most humiliating about attending that ground once?
Being made to drink a can of Coke outside the ground and not being aloud to take it inside.

I better work on this letter right now.

What's wrong with this banner below?

killjoys.jpg

smeghead

Wanna know what was most humiliating about attending that ground once?
Being made to drink a can of Coke outside the ground and not being aloud to take it inside.

I better work on this letter right now.

What's wrong with this banner below?

killjoys.jpg

The guy holding it is plenty wrong

IanG

As far as no fans attending and being a large stadium goes. I've often copped a bollocking for suggesting that teams who play their home games there should do some of their pre season training at NASA because I think a pre requisit to playing there is being acclimitised to a place which has no atmosphere.