Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

If I were Farah

BrotherJim05

I would stay at the Tigers and play state cup. I would put in twice the mammoth effort usually shown and absolutely dominate the competition. I would tear Origin apart. I would teach those struggling to make FG.
I would love winning each week and staying out of the usual bs.

Why do this

f**k YOU thats why.

I hope he stays. Icing on the ineptitude cake that is our club

He will stay. Theres no benefit to him or the club if he goes (given Daley has said he'll still pick him for origin from NSW cup).

Telling him he's going to play reserve grade was insane.

He should have been told that Cherrington will be given more game time, possibly to the point where Farah would be starting on the bench. Then if form warrants he can be dropped or promoted without looking like complete merkins

Magpies Forever

I'd say with only a few weeks notice at best (even if it was privately done), by then most clubs had filled their books, leaving Farah no room except for a ESL switch for 2016, and he doesnt want to do that for 2016 at least.

So I reckon 2016 will still see Farah at WT and then he can look around for a 2017 place elsewhere either in NRL or ESL if he wants a good nest egg for retirement.

As stated by others elsewhere maybe solution is take captaincy off him and give to someone else (Lawrence?), work on gradual promotion of replacement hooker to fulltime role throughout season with Farah transitioning to interchange role. This will still allow Farah to compete for SOO and club to transition to new team.

However, elephant still in room crushing the china- all but certain NRL salary cap breach for 2016 with resultant fines and less $$$ available for new signings in 2017.

magpie4ever

You would be twins, as in plural.

as in: "First-person plural simple past tense."

Should be "was" as in: "1st and 3rd person singular pt. indicative of be."

Get it, I don't.

Isn't Farah's contract amount by itself just about double the NSW cups salary cap limit ?,if that is the case i can not see Farah in Reggies regardless of what JT wants.Similiar reason to why that bludging oxygen theif that went to the Broncos never played there!

His salary would be included in the top 25, so wouldn't need to be paid out of the second tier cap.

The second tier is to fund players outside the top 25.

I don't believe there is a salary cap on NSW Cup

Ned Kelly

He could take a three year back ended deal with the Knights paying him $200,000 first two years and $600,000 in the last year.

He gets to play State of Origin, he gets to screw the Tigers management and he gets good pay for three years.

Ron's_Mate

He should sign with a team for $1 per year so the Tigers board still have to pay the full amount.

macavity

He could take a three year back ended deal with the Knights paying him $200,000 first two years and $600,000 in the last year.

He gets to play State of Origin, he gets to screw the Tigers management and he gets good pay for three years.

A bit of chatter about that that is pretty much what is going to happen.

Interesting times for us all.

BrotherJim05

His salary would be included in the top 25, so wouldn't need to be paid out of the second tier cap.

The second tier is to fund players outside the top 25.

I don't believe there is a salary cap on NSW Cup

Wouldn't this mean that when JT selects our Top 25 he can just not choose Farah and therefore his salary won't come out of the FG salary cap? It would mean that he would HAVE to play in NSW Cup barring injury whether we have a change of heart or not.

The whole thing is just ridiculous anyway. I say keep Farah.

I don't think it works that way. Much like injured players (Dwyer is a classic example)

After his injury, we kept paying him under his previous contract until it ran out, which was for (I believe) another year after his injury. This was included in the cap.

If you could move injured players to the NSW Cup to free up cap space, then you could do the same with disgruntled players and that could open up a massive loophole that would encourage all sorts of cap cheating.

Therefore, all NRL Contracted players are contracted to the NRL competition, therefore, that players salary is including in the 25 man cap.

If Farah stays, then playing him in NSW Cup is just stupid.

BadSport

If Brown wants him at the Knights he'll go. He's a solid coach these days and he needs a change now.

At the end of the day Robbies time at Tigers is up, and you'd have to think he's mature enough now to realise that.

FootynRacing

Surely no one here truly believes that if Farah is at the club next season that they will actually play him in NSW Cup ??? It won't happen.

I recall Matthew Elliott saying on the ABC regarding the Tigers playing Farah in the NSW Cup that there is an NRL 'rule' that clubs are obligated to always pick there top players based on form, etc - the exception naturally being suspension & injury and you'd say, a club discipline reason.

That makes sense that the NRL would have such a rule as there has to be an obligation to the game, fans and sponsors to see top team on the field. Could argue that a club keeps picking a player in 1st grade who's form/performance does not warrant selection but the flip side is, is there a player from number 18 to 25 in 1st grade squad or in NSW Cup a better player? The NRL surely wouldn't look at that.

BadSport

If he refused to leave I could see him suing for some sort of breach of contract along those lines in order to reach a settlement. Not that I'm basing that on anything, but there is probably some sort of fair use thing in industrial law (ie. you don't pay someone 900 grand to carve up reserve grade). Prob why his lawyer was requesting the reasoning for due process.

But ultimately he has to go as its him or the coach, and one coach has already gone partly on his account.

I honestly think Farah would enjoy going to a club that just wanted him to play good footy. He's the sort of character who needs to be wanted to be at his best, and Tigers are too much of a basket case now to provide that.

It's a waste of a legacy, but it's not really his doing and the club has made up their mind. Unfairly in my view, but he can't control that. Just politics.

BrotherJim05

Interesting, I thought that there was some sort of technical strategy to this nonsense, but at the end of the day it appears to just be pure nonsense.

As we will be paying a huge chunk of his salary, it ultimately will be a wasted effort. Lets say we sign Matt Ballin for 300k. Great, that makes a lot of sense. OH WAIT A SECOND. We are paying Robbie out 700k...so essentially we are just trading the NSW Vice Captain for Matt Ballin with no difference to the cap.

Stupid stupid.

Unless Knights can take Robbie for at least 75% of his salary then no point to this nonsense

Nuts

Wouldn't this mean that when JT selects our Top 25 he can just not choose Farah and therefore his salary won't come out of the FG salary cap? It would mean that he would HAVE to play in NSW Cup barring injury whether we have a change of heart or not.

The whole thing is just ridiculous anyway. I say keep Farah.

The Top 25 is not chosen by the coach - it is your top 25 highest paid players, so Robbie would obviously be included in that. I had to laugh when I read that Rod Reddy had told him he won't be in our Top 25 next year (not sure if that was actually true or not), a bit of a concern when the assistant coach doesn't know how the salary cap works. Not saying that he should, but if he is getting involved in this sort of stuff you would hope he would have a clue!! :crazy:

And I do agree - the whole thing is a bit ridiculous!

ucantseeme

Looks like Souths are clearing some cap space with Glenn Stewart being given permission to look elsewhere despite being under contract.