Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

If You Were Steve Price – What Would You Look to Do in 2013?

Benny

A lot has been spoken about Steve Price – how he went in 2012 and how he’ll go in 2013. A lot is on the line, including his coaching future and we have a lot of ‘so called’ and often ‘self proclaimed’ experts that have an opinion on everything on this forum and I thought it would be an interesting exercise to see what people on this forum would look to do in Season 2013 if they were Steve Price and coaching our beloved St.George Illawarra Dragons. I’ll go first:

Firstly I am going to comment on Steve Price: He obviously has an ability to coach coming into our system in 2002 as Jersey Flegg assistant coach and has been promoted up ever since to be First Grade coach. He has played a huge role in developing our juniors for both St.George and other clubs. A quick look at his roles and players coming through those teams shows that:

2002 – Jersey Flegg Assistant Coach to Nathan Brown (Minor Premiers and Runners Up)

2003 – Premier League Assistant Coach to Michael Potter (Finished 4th and Preliminary Final)

2004 – Jersey Flegg Coach (Result Unknown)

2005 – Jersey Flegg Coach (Minor Premiers and Premiers)

2006 – Premier League Coach (Finished 3rd and Preliminary Final)

2007 – Premier League Coach (Finished 8th and Qualifying Final)

2008 – Toyota Cup Coach (Finished 6th and Preliminary Final)

2009 – Toyota Cup Coach (Finished 2nd and Preliminary Final)

2010 – First Grade Assistant to Wayne Bennett (Minor Premiers and Premiers)

2011 – First Grade Assistant to Wayne Bennett (World Club Champions, Finished 5th and Semi-Finals)

2012 – First Grade Coach (Finished 9th)

Not a bad coaching apprenticeship, with good results and when you consider some of the Premiership players he helped bring through the junior ranks outside of his role as an assistant and coach in First Grade: Brett Morris, Jason Nightingale, Dean Young, Beau Scott, Ben Creagh, Trent Merrin, Matt Prior. Also the development of current players: Michael Henderson, Dan Hunt, Cameron King, Kyle Stanley, Chase Stanley. Throw in half a dozen players that have gone on to other clubs including Internationals like Brett White, Dean Whare and Josh Morris. He coached well in 2011 Charity Shield and 2011 World Club Challenge. Bennett (greatest coach ever) thought he was a good coach and put his name forward for the Dragons so I believe he has a good footy brain and he can coach.

So if he can coach – what went wrong in 2012? Firstly he was on a hiding to nothing taking over from Bennett and trying to replicate his success. He had a style of play that had been highly successful over three years and was again on a hiding to nothing as you don’t change something that is successful (would get criticised if he did so), yet he inherited an ageing squad (namely Cooper, Hornby, Young and Fien) with key losses (Boyd, Gasnier, Costigan, Smith, Saffy and McKinnon etc) that wasn’t capable of being as successful with the same game plan and to add insult to injury – the key to this was a ball playing fullback and Tim Moltzen reneging on his deal was a further set back (despite what people may think of Moltzen – it meant our whole proposed style was null and void from the outset).

He implemented some good changes such as our halves running more and going to the line (which Hornby did much better than Soward) and looked really good in the opening rounds but it took its toll on Hornby’s body and as a result he really struggled in the middle half of the season. Weyman was a massive loss (was in top form before his injury) and 2 golden point losses also hurt us mid season. Consistency was the issue along with away record (2/12) that inevitably led to the side finishing 9th, one win outside the top 8.

The team chanced their arms in certain games with lots of second phase play and looked pretty good (pointing the way forward for the team) and the defence of old was still present for most of the season. Great home record (9/12) and blooding of some younger players with the vast improvement of others leads me to a positive outlook for 2013 if Price has learnt from 2012 and will be his own man in 2013. This is what I’d be looking to do:

• Gerrard Beale: He is my man to wear the No.1 shirt. Will give us the ability to have a ball playing option we lacked at fullback in 2012 (as good as Morris and Nightingale are they aren’t ball players). I think a mix between a ball player, ball runner and support player up the middle would be the role I’d give Beale and look to develop an understanding with Morris and Nightingale as part of the back 3 (chancing their arm from the back with attacks from kick returns).
  • Brett Morris: The best left winger in the world and wing is his best position. He will be strong from kick returns (forming a potent partnership with Nightingale and Beale), from dummy-half or finishing off left side attacks. The thing I’d like to see him add is coming in field from time to time and supporting players up the middle of the ruck and or running off the halves as he did as a fullback and looked good in doing so.
  • Chase Stanley: I wouldn’t be looking at Chase Stanley as our long term right centre – I think he is our long term option at left centre but will have to bide his time at right centre for one more season until Matt Cooper retires. When Cooper is out and despite upsetting combinations I would look to get Stanley to left centre when opportunities present themselves (where we’ll really see the kid shine). Needs to get more ball (will discuss with Soward) and when he does will really add to our attack. Whether attitude or technique (as he can defend) really needs to improve defensively and would work on overtime in the off-season.
  • Matt Cooper: Like Stanley would look to get him more ball and early ball but Cooper will continue to do what he does best – defend well and attack well with Morris. Last season before retirement and or off to the pension fund in England.
  • Jason Nightingale: The best right winger in the world. Same as Morris but from other side of the field.
  • Kyle Stanley: This kid is the future of our club and I have no doubt he will overcome his injuries (like Benji Marshall did early in his career) and stay relatively injury free over the next few years. We’ve lacked a genuine ball player for as long as I can remember and a player who has the ability to go to the line and play what is in front of him (which will be vitally important particularly if we use a lot of second phase play that I propose). Basically if I was coach I’d tell him the spot is his for the year, to back himself and play his natural game and while mistakes may come in the first half of the season, watch him shine in the second half of the season.
  • Jamie Soward: The time has come for Soward to lead the team around the park and I think he will do a good job and enjoy the responsibility. The two things I’d like to see Soward do more are going more to the line when ball playing and this will lead to him running more (where he is at his most dangerous). The other area is his ball playing and actually passing to the centre on the right hand side of the field as basically he picks the second rower up back on the inside or throws a cut out to the winger – C. Stanely needs more ball.
  • Dan Hunt: Just do what he does best up the middle of the ruck and add more second phase play and also some tip on plays in the middle of the ruck.
  • Mitch Rein: Perfect player to play the tough opening minutes and finish off a game. Strong defender and good runner but would like to see him further develop his passing game (significantly improved over past seasons but still needs work).
  • Michael Weyman: See Dan Hunt
  • Tyson Frizzel: Want someone who can play tight and be a worker coming out of trouble but drift wider to hit the edges hard (with support looking for an off-load) in attacking areas. I’d give Frizzel first crack and be patient with him and work hard with him over off-season to fit into defensive structure.
  • Ben Creagh: Same as Frizzel, doing the hard work out of own end and moving to the edge and hitting line hard and looking to break line or give an off-load in attacking areas.
  • Trent Merrin: Playing effectively as a third front rower up the middle of the ruck. Would look to play long minutes and utilise good foot work, off-load and ball playing ability in the middle of the ruck.
  • Matt Prior: I have a lot of time for Matt Prior as a football and has to be in the 17. I think he struggles playing on the edge and always plays his best in the middle of the ruck with strong carries and good defence. I’d have him as part of a 5 man rotation playing up the middle of the ruck (covering props and lock).
  • Jack De Belin: The other player as part of the 5 man rotation would be Jack De Belin. His defence is unbelievable (I’d actually have him teach others how to tackle) when set but a bit of work on his lateral movement will further improve his defence when faced with players with footwork. Continue to work on his attacking game and runs in the middle of the ruck which will get better over time.
  • Will Matthews: Hard choice for the back up edge forward but I was highly impressed with Matthews and think he is the best player to be able to do the job Frizzel and or Creagh can do by playing tight out of own end and being an edge runner with the ability to off-load at the other end of the field.
  • Cameron King: Like Kyle Stanely I think he is the future of the club. He is the creative attacking hooker I can’t remember us having and vital to success in my mind. He has all the skills and like Stanley I’d tell him to back himself, play his own game and the spot is his for the season to prove himself. It will take a while for the others to learn how he plays and may struggle early but he will get better and better and the benefits will be there for all to see late in the season.

If as suggested we sign Bronson Harrison I’d likely have Matthews dropping out of the squad with Bronson and or Frizzel starting and the other player on the bench.

That’s the top 17 I would go for and the style of play would be very direct up the middle and utilising second phase play to continue to play up the middle or move the ball to the edges. The middle players of Weyman, Hunt and Merrin would be the best in the League and should generate good go forward (De Belin and Prior aren’t bad replacements as well). Would look for good go forward out of own end with our backrowers playing tight and add in strong dummy-half runners from back 3 I have no doubt we can make good and easy metres most sets with a strong kicking game at the end from Soward.

Would also look when getting to towards the opponents half of the field for some second phase play from our middle players with our back 3 lurking as support players in the middle of the ruck. As we move further upfield I would look to keep playing direct with some support up the middle but looking for second phase play to hit our edge players (second rowers or centres with our halves running at the line). From set plays in good ball territory I would look for a variety of attacking plays including left and right hand side sweeps (involving fullback), hitting second rowers short with support and giving centres early and clean ball with which to attack. Though at the end of the day – playing very direct.

Defence I wouldn’t really change too much from recent seasons.

We’re blessed to have a mix of handy back up players and some exciting back up players…I’d be looking for these players to do a similar job to those players that are replacing.

Nathan Fien: I like Fien as a player and think he has something to offer but it is his last season and we must invest in our youth. I think you might need some short term pain for long term gain and one of those is having Fien as a back up player. He’d be my first choice replacement in the halves and at hooker and I think will be better suited to not playing regularly as really struggles due to his age playing week in and week out.

Josh Drinkwater: Never seen him play and honestly I would be mainly looking for him to play a full season for the Cutters and see how he goes. If going well and opportunity presents itself to potentially blood him in First Grade but overall just a full season playing with men would greatly aid his development and then re-evaluate for 2014.

Daniel Vidot: Impressed with him in 2012 but he is behind the best 2 wingers in the game and would be my first choice replacement should something happen to Nightingale or Morris. His handling is a problem and needs to be improved but I think his future lies in the backrow and would experiment with him in the NSW Cup and in NRL if an opportunity arose.

Jack Stockwell: Just behind the middle 5 players and would be the first choice replacement for any of those players. Will get better and better with development and I would see him come in and out of First Grade and would rest some of the other middle players to manage workload over the season.

Leeson Ah Mau: Would be the first choice backup for our second rowers and will be able to do the job. Looked good in patches throughout the season but needs to improve his handling – particularly under pressure where I want my second rowers to run in traffic at pace with good lines.

Michael Henderson: If he stays injury free his service will be invaluable as will no doubt be required throughout the season to play as part of the middle rotation.

Bronx Goodwin: A player who doesn’t let you down and can fill in at fullback, wing or centre.

Nathan Green: At this stage will likely be first choice should either of the centres go down. A solid player but lacks some pace but if he can further develop his off-load would become more dangerous. Think might be better suited to the backrow as he continues to develop.

Evander Cummins: The big question is how to further develop Evander and I’d be looking for Evander to play the majority of the season in NSW Cup, developing against bigger and stronger opponents but if losing form, confidence or to simply give his body a rest to rotate him back into the Toyota Cup until he recovers and then back to NSW Cup. If an opportunity presents itself would look to blood Evander at some stage, likely off the bench in a utility role.

Charly Runciman: Without recruitment Charly is in a battle with Nathan Green to be the centre to replace Matt Cooper when he retires. Likely behind Green and Goodwin should an injury occur in 2013 but would look for Runciman to mainly play Toyota Cup but every few weeks to play in NSW Cup to see how he goes. If an opportunity presents itself and he is in form – chance to blood him towards the end of the season.

Kem Seru: Another player I’d like to further develop with more of a view to 2015 but great chance to progress his future in 2013. I’d play Seru in Toyota Cup and make him play 80 minutes to improve his fitness. I’d also rotate him in and out of NSW Cup as an impact player to see how he goes against the bigger and better players.

Some big decisions need to be made for 2014 and recruitment will be high on the agenda but a lot will depend on how Price performs early and how specific players perform early. The key positions I’d identify to target are a top class halfback (potentially at the expense of Soward whose asking price might be too high for what he brings to the team), a genuine attacking centre to replace Cooper and an explosive backrower.

That is my suggestions on what I would do if I was Steve Price…over to everyone else to offer some constructive feedback and or to outline their plans.

hardbaby

I think the Dragons have a good squad and can make the finals with some luck. But I do feel that we are one or two players short and that situation will be rectified in 2014.

I think Price needs to:

1) Have faith in his squad but be realistic in his expectations - 7th or 8th placed finish;
2) Have guts at the selection table - big minutes to our younger players;
3) Sort the alignment and structure out in the backs;
4) Get his interchange right (I thought it was terrible this year);
5) Build for a premiership in 2014/15.

All of those things are possible. If he does it, and does it well, he will keep his job and have a very successful three years. It's a long process. He was rooted from all directions this year. To my mind, this is Year 1 of a 3 Year Plan.

KiamaSaint

Wow, just wow. Lot's of thoughts there.

If I was Price I would figure out I had less than half a season to prove myself and therefore I would go for broke.

FB - Cummins, he is not ready but I would hope to uncover the rookie of the year.
Wings - BMoz & Flo, looking forward to them back on the wing.
Centres - Beale & Stanley, I know I won't get much love here but Cooper is not going to save the coach's job.
5/8 - Kyle Stanley, as soon as he is ready. Anyone who plays there before that knows it is only until Kyle is ready.
Half - Soward, but I would be working hard during the off season to repair that relationship.

Props - Weyman & Merrin, when Weyman is fully fit from injury.
Hooker - king would my choice because I am going for broke.

Second Row - Creagh & Harrison (if signed)

Lock - JDB, great defender, he always has a dig.

Rein, unlucky not to be in the starting line up.
Frizzel
Hunt
Prior/Matthews/Stockwell.

good work benny!
and yes! Price does have some runs on the board, wrt his coaching.

But please please please Steve, stop all this "St George Footy", "pulling pants down" stuff in interviews.
And stop conducting an interview like Bennet.
(it was annoying from him as well, but at least we had generally won the game. so it was easier to cop.)

Get some tips from Daniel Anderson or Matty Elliot.
Relax.
Go out on a limb occasionally.
Be outrageous.

I believe Steve.
Best wishes.

hod

In 2012 Price tried to change the world and be a hero. Only problem was he had the wrong plan and had convinced himself that the plan would work.

I hope to see a more sober Price who puts the wellbeing of the Club, team and players ahead of his ambitions and claim to fame.

I would like to see him progressively improve the team and come up with game plans that suit the capability and capacity of the playing roster he has in front of him.

I would like to see Price prepare the team to be up for the job in home and away games.

I think he has the roster to make the eight and maybe even the top four however, he will have to have each member of the team playing to their full potential to achive a finals spot.

Each game will be important to win and so Price will have to develop sound game plans each week to have any chance of making the finals.

Crescent dragon

Good stuff, I think King is the go at hooker. Rein will find it harder next year, be more scrutinised etc. King could well be the X factor in attack and could form a better combo with the halves!!

I'd I were Steve Price I wouldn't read the forums...

Except for the OP..

Quality stuff :)

Slippery Morris

Alot of people are saying Price struggled last season because he did not have the cattle. This season he has more or less the same cattle instead replacing experience players who have played over 200+ games, reps and won a GF with youth and this season people are saying that the Dragons have a good side. Out goes Hornby and Young in comes Beale and Frizzel.

Saints had a great side last season and they will continue to have a good squad this season. Coming 9th was not a true reflection of how they played. They were poor in attack and did not score less points than the other 15 clubs for no reason.

If Price needs to do anything it is improve the attack and that is what he said in every press confrence where he conceded that their "offence" was poor and needed work. Nothing changed why would it now? Are some of you suggesting Hornby was the cause of poor attack? He is the only difference with this season in the backs. Out goes Hornby in comes Beale. Was Price too scared to drop him and try Kyle in the halves or Fein? When Saints beat Manly it was Hornby's ball in the corner for Nighty to score that won us the game.

Price has a great coaching record prior to 2012. Once he entered the highest level of the game he showed he does not have what it takes. I hope I am wrong next season and he improves but I just doubt it. Maybe he should coach the side as he did his previous teams in the lower grades and not try and replicate Bennett to much. It worked before and would probably work again.

bottle

So we have some saying 'don't try and replicate Bennett', and some saying 'go back to replicating Bennett'.
That's sure cleared it up for me.

Hope all that helps ya Steve.

hewi

Its s**t or get off the pot time for Price i think. On paper a very good squad. The x factor is Price the coach, can he make it happen for them. Il admit im worried but hope that he proves me very very wrong.

Hutty1986

Alot of people are saying Price struggled last season because he did not have the cattle. This season he has more or less the same cattle instead replacing experience players who have played over 200+ games, reps and won a GF with youth and this season people are saying that the Dragons have a good side. Out goes Hornby and Young in comes Beale and Frizzel.

Saints had a great side last season and they will continue to have a good squad this season. Coming 9th was not a true reflection of how they played. They were poor in attack and did not score less points than the other 15 clubs for no reason.

If Price needs to do anything it is improve the attack and that is what he said in every press confrence where he conceded that their "offence" was poor and needed work. Nothing changed why would it now? Are some of you suggesting Hornby was the cause of poor attack? He is the only difference with this season in the backs. Out goes Hornby in comes Beale. Was Price too scared to drop him and try Kyle in the halves or Fein? When Saints beat Manly it was Hornby's ball in the corner for Nighty to score that won us the game.

Price has a great coaching record prior to 2012. Once he entered the highest level of the game he showed he does not have what it takes. I hope I am wrong next season and he improves but I just doubt it. Maybe he should coach the side as he did his previous teams in the lower grades and not try and replicate Bennett to much. It worked before and would probably work again.

Wasn't that a kick? I'm not a massive fan of Pricey, but I honestly think you're a bit too hard on him Slippery. I'm not so sure a single season in charge is enough of an indicator and there were some good signs at the back-end of the season. We'll need to be well & truly in the 8 by mid-2013 though I would imagine

64 Dragon

In 2012 Price tried to change the world and be a hero. Only problem was he had the wrong plan and had convinced himself that the plan would work.

I hope to see a more sobor Price who puts the wellbeing of the Club, team and players ahead of his ambitions and claim to fame.

I would like to see him progressively improve the team and come up with game plans htat suit the capability and capacity of the playing roster he has in front of him.

I would like to see Price prepare the team to be up for the job in home and away games.

I think he has the roster to make the eight and maybe even the top four however, he will have to have each member of the team playing to their full potential to achive a finals spot.

Each game will be important to win and so Price will have to develop sound game plans each week to have any chance of making the finals.

Talk about stating the bleeding obvious!

Slippery Morris

Wasn't that a kick? I'm not a massive fan of Pricey, but I honestly think you're a bit too hard on him Slippery. I'm not so sure a single season in charge is enough of an indicator and there were some good signs at the back-end of the season. We'll need to be well & truly in the 8 by mid-2013 though I would imagine

It was enough for Steven Kearney. He was shocking the first season. Second season did not much better actually worse and got them the spoon. That is what I am worried about. I really hope I am wrong and Price has a good season. It would be a brilliant story seeing a coach come through the grades and then gets them to a GF.

Morotti

The first 10 rounds of the season will make or break Price. So we have to be doing ok. Being competitive and inside the 8.

The key for us is the halves. I think our best team is:

1. Beale
2. Morris
3. Cooper
4. C. Stanley
5. Nightingale
6. K. Stanley
7. Fien
8. Weyman
9. Rein or King (I am undecided which is best)
10. Hunt
11. Creagh
12. Prior
13. Frizzell
14. Merrin
15. Rein or King
16. Jack de Belin
17. Jack Stockwell

I think that is our best team. I don't think Soward has the organising skills to be a No. 7. I think Fein will do the job in the interim until we get a long term half or Drinkwater turns out to be the solution (I have never seen him play).

Not sure who should play lock though. But I put de Belin on the bench as he is still a young kid and needs to develop himself mentally and physically before he can play the 50-60 mins that he will need to play if starting.

Maybe Henderson takes Stockwell's place on the bench but wait and see on form I think.

Blokes like Cummins and Green will ply their trade in the Cutters mostly I think and bide their time until injuries or representative duties give them a look in.

Fire

Great post Benny, I enjoyed reading that. There really isn't much I disagree with in it.

What I'd like to see Price do

1. Bring Kem through one year earlier than you suggested (though a strong case could be made we already have enough props in the system).

2. Develop juniors. K. Stanley, King, Cummins (with Cummins, at least if only in rep footy time).

3. Succeed. He has been with our club for over a decade. Of course I wouldn't be disappointed if Bellamy came and got us a Premiership in 2014/15 But, is that the type of club we want to be, a club that has to constantly import coaches to win us Premierships. It'd be great to develop a top-line coach in Price from within our own ranks. He's entitled to a poor NRL debut year, nonetheless, he lives and dies by the sword this year.

Just my 2c.

Again, great post mate.