Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Inglis to Souths..

BranVan3000

Good on Souths if they did it legally, but it's going to cost them down the line. All this back loading of contracts will bite them hard. Burgess, Asotasi would both be on 350k each, Inglis will be partly back loaded, and Luke would've received a upgrade when re-signing.

Doesn't leave any money for a decent pair of halves.
Asotasi probably won't be resigned on the same sort of money. Plus there will be a substantial increase in the salary cap with the TV deal

Noa

Someone here said it earlier, he only shows up for 3 games a year (QLD, QLD, QLD). Give me a player who is cheaper, still gets the job done and doesn't set expectations too high and bash his girlfriend.

hahaha, if some clown on here said it it aint true.

He was no different to any other center last year, 1 good game evey 3 or 4, not good enough for his talent but indicative of the way the position has developd.

hahaha, if some clown on here said it it aint true.

He was no different to any other center last year, 1 good game evey 3 or 4, not good enough for his talent but indicative of the way the position has developd.

That's why centres should never be paid anywhere close to 500k.

BunniesMan

Yeah, because my boss always pays me in gifts, including a boat, get paid in cash too. Did I mention I've signed three contracts, with three different figures on them???? Suss you think?????????

You're not all there are you bunnies man. Tell me what dissability you suffer from, maybe I could donate to find you a cure.
Do you honestly think a football player in his early 20s bothers himself with reading contracts and understanding NRL player contract rules and regulations? They pay people to do that. And the people they paid were at the core of the scandal. Not the players themselves.

There is no evidence the players knew anything about it and it's unfair to accuse them of things with no evidence. That doesn't just go for Inglis, but Cronk and Smith and Slater too.

And I suffer from no disability. I'm perfectly normal. With an above average IQ.

ShaiGuY

Unlike most people, I would prefer someone with a lesser current profile and more of a commercial/business profile as CEO. Look at Andrew Demitriou - love or hate AFL he has been a very good CEO - e.g. Pay/Free TV negotiations, expansions. He did very well in business until he became head of the players union. You need someone who has experience at running a business - rather than someone who is good at coaching a team or commentating. I would prefer a better business mind than football mind to actually run the NRL and it is essential to the future of league.

BunniesMan

How would Shane Richardson know what he weighed in round 1 last year? There's no way he's currently lighter than his playing weight for the START of last season.
All we've seen really is photos from one day. Sometimes photos can add weight, unflattering angles etc etc. And he might have already started his weightloss since then, that day was weeks and weeks ago.

Red Bear

Bit sad they had to cut a local to get him, could've gotten rid of someone like Asotasi or Wesser (but i guess there isnt any desire for Wessre these days). Champion could be a pretty damn good pick up in the long run as well.

BunniesMan

Bit sad they had to cut a local to get him, could've gotten rid of someone like Asotasi or Wesser (but i guess there isnt any desire for Wessre these days). Champion could be a pretty damn good pick up in the long run as well.
Exactly. It wasn't just about getting rid of someone we didn't want. It had to be someone who a) freed up enough money and b) would create interest from other teams.

natheel

Beau will flourish at Melbourne! Under bellyache and with players like cronk, smith and skater around him I feel storm fans will b saying Greg who? By the end of 2011

Noa

sucks for Beau but i hope he does well at the Storm.

Why kiki, hes had one good year and cashed in on it. if he stayed at souths he may have done an injury or more likely not be as effective due to teams manning him tighter

Ausguy

Why kiki, hes had one good year and cashed in on it. if he stayed at souths he may have done an injury or more likely not be as effective due to teams manning him tighter

haha.... maybe cos he has been shafted out of a team he has been with since he was 15 and has to move states about 6 weeks before the competition starts again....

Scarves

How does Manly who were never reported to be over the cap, and since the 2008 Premiership, have lost a truck load of players like Bell, Beaver, LeStrange, Orford, Hall, Cuthbertson and now this season Hodkinson, Farrar and Josh Perry find themselves in a situation where they sign nothing, no players at all for season 2011.

How doesn't a club like Parramatta (or North Queensland) not score Beau Champion but instead buys centres of the past in Chris Walker and Paul Whatuira.

How doesn't Cronulla get a look in for Champion, hell, he wouldn't even need to move house if he switched from Souths to the Sharkies. If Cronulla's roster is at the cap limit...wtf.

Bottom line... how does Melbourne who were projected to be in excess of a cool million above the cap line in 2011 some how end up with a rising star like Champion.

I don't begrudge Melbourne any player, I'm not a fan of altering history because the NRL were dumb deaf and blind, but if we are going to have a cap these kinds of trades between clubs simply don't add up.

I'm a fan of the cap, but I reckon it needs to be transparent. They don't need to name which player is getting what, but they should be required to show what player 19 is on and what player 15 is receiving. Like I said, no names but at least we'll understand how a guy like Champion gets swapped for Greg Inglis... and then understand how both clubs fit the the size 16 foot into the size 9 sock.

Noa

haha.... maybe cos he has been shafted out of a team he has been with since he was 15 and has to move states about 6 weeks before the competition starts again....

That part sucks but thats how the game is right now unfortunately. And its not the the first time its happened so spare the mock outrage.

Im out

The News LTD got good press out of this freakshow so no doubt a box has been ticked there.

At least it's sorted, let's all f**king move on and stop the whinging. Good luck to Beau in Melbourne and GI at Souths.

Ausguy

That part sucks but thats how the game is right now unfortunately. And its not the the first time its happened so spare the mock outrage.

Im out

haha mock outrage? its footy mate not real life important stuff.

not the first time no, but tell me the last player that was forced out like this and had to move states to accomodate someone else?

BunniesMan

How does Manly who were never reported to be over the cap, and since the 2008 Premiership, have lost a truck load of players like Bell, Beaver, LeStrange, Orford, Hall, Cuthbertson and now this season Hodkinson, Farrar and Josh Perry find themselves in a situation where they sign nothing, no players at all for season 2011.
Haven't heard a peep from Manly in the offseason, don't think they even tried going after anybody. Perhaps they spent all their money resigning blokes?
How doesn't a club like Parramatta (or North Queensland) not score Beau Champion but instead buys centres of the past in Chris Walker and Paul Whatuira.
North Queensland has the disadvantage of a) recent struggles on field and b) remote location so I can presume it's tough for them to buy players without paying overs.

As for Parra, I don't think anyone has any clue what they are upto. Entire articles have been written about the players they've lost and the strange decisions they've made in recruitment. And people think they might have as much as 500k of capspace with nobody to spend it on.

Champion was linked to the Eels a week or two ago.

How doesn't Cronulla get a look in for Champion, hell, he wouldn't even need to move house if he switched from Souths to the Sharkies. If Cronulla's roster is at the cap limit...wtf.
Champion to Sharks was also made some noise this week. And there was an article saying they'd consider anyone Souths let go but we didn't let anybody go to the open market. He directly went to Melbourne.

Bottom line... how does Melbourne who were projected to be in excess of a cool million above the cap line in 2011 some how end up with a rising star like Champion.

I don't begrudge Melbourne any player, I'm not a fan of altering history because the NRL were dumb deaf and blind, but if we are going to have a cap these kinds of trades between clubs simply don't add up.

I'm a fan of the cap, but I reckon it needs to be transparent. They don't need to name which player is getting what, but they should be required to show what player 19 is on and what player 15 is receiving. Like I said, no names but at least we'll understand how a guy like Champion gets swapped for Greg Inglis... and then understand how both clubs fit the the size 16 foot into the size 9 sock.
As for Melbourne, it's surprised everybody that they could afford Champion.

The News LTD got good press out of this freakshow so no doubt a box has been ticked there.

At least it's sorted, let's all f**king move on and stop the whinging. Good luck to Beau in Melbourne and GI at Souths.
Good post. Problem is, still 77 days to go till friday night round 1...