Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Inglis to Souths..

Ziggy the God

Seems to me like the sort of player who runs good lines and he will be sniffing around Cronk like Slater does which could be very effective.

He also seems to be a gutsy player in close games who puts his body on the line..always good to have a player like this.

Exactly. Go and watch our game against the Sharks this year as a good example.

He had Gallen coming at him all night and he slammed time after time. You don't see that happen to him too many times in a season.

BunniesMan

There you go again.

If he is a 300k player, there are 20+ 400k centres running around in the NRL.
I didn't say he's worth 300k. I said that's how much he's making. Big difference.

Just by doing the maths, and taking into consideration that he's gotten a raise at Melbourne tells me if he wasn't at 300k this year he was close to it and will be at 300k in 2011.

Ziggy the God

They gave you so much trouble because they had to be seen as doing something..even though they are as weak as piss and couldn't enforce the rules even if they were hit in the face with them

What part of us having $190k free in the cap + selling Champion don't you understand?

Coastbloke

Storm were supposed to shed players how can they afford anyone
rugby league needs transparency

How can rugby league not afford to play that money to Inglis via the salary cap..

rugby league is the only code that can fill a quality stadium like Suncorp for Club, State and Internationals..

Gimme another sport in this country that can fill a 52,000 stadium for a Club, State and International match..

We UNDERPAY our players..Inglis deserves his pay level and it's not HIS problem the NRL is run by a peanut who should be back practising law and not running TGG..

Exactly. Go and watch our game against the Sharks this year as a good example.

He had Gallen coming at him all night and he slammed time after time. You don't see that happen to him too many times in a season.

Will do...IMO this will be the signing of the season for Storm. Might be easy to win that though as we have signed pretty much no one !!.:p

roboshark

I understand it......I just don't believe it

But as usual there will be no telling souths fans anything

Ziggy the God

I understand it......I just don't believe it

But as usual there will be no telling souths fans anything

I am asking seriously, you don't believe that losing one of our starters plus what we had in the cap plus the parts of the 3PA they allowed are not enough?

roboshark

No I honestly don't Ziggy......maybe if you had lost Lowe as well or similiar maybe, but I just can't cop that your team with so much quality can then add inglis whilst only offloading champion....who whilst a good player is not a star just yet

BranVan3000

Horrible move, Souths. Champion was a potentially better player than Inglis if he continued living up to is 2010 form (before injury). Plus I SERIOUSLY doubt Inglis will start 11 half as good as Champion could. And there were other players that could've been unloaded (especially with Sharks and Cowboys seeming so keen), I'm sure Talanoa and Wesser and Crocker could've been driven off somewhere.

But on the other side, we have a surplus of great centres at the moment, so at least we shouldn''t be struggling in that position as a result. Inglis and Farrell will make a great centre pairing. I wonder how Inglis will feel if he's outshone by the rookie.

At least Champion will have a shot at a Blues jumper now though too seeing as he''s not in Souths colours

Noa

What a ripper...Champion is a good player but IMO Storm are now overloaded with centres with the likes of Stanley, Neilson, Chambers and now Champion all capable of playing that possie.

Im not as sold on move as you kia. He,s a solid player but id have shown faith in oneill, neilsen and stanley. If all he does is runs lines he,ll be handled pretty comfortably eventually ala hoffman

Ziggy the God

No I honestly don't Ziggy......maybe if you had lost Lowe as well or similiar maybe, but I just can't cop that your team with so much quality can then add inglis whilst only offloading champion....who whilst a good player is not a star just yet

Fair enough.

You can also look at this way. In many cases, the most expensive players in a side are found wearing 1, 6, 7 and 9. I am not saying in all cases, but it is true for many clubs.

We have Wesser, Sutton, Sandow and Luke. I bet if you added what they get paid in total versus other clubs, we would be well down the list.

We have clearly spent our cap in the forward and obviously now with our new centre.

BranVan3000

Im not as sold on move as you kia. He,s a solid player but id have shown faith in oneill, neilsen and stanley. If all he does is runs lines he,ll be handled pretty comfortably eventually ala hoffman
Champs has really good defence

But I've never seen him really do that extra level. But if there's anywhere to find out if he is it's at Storm playing off their halves and fb

applesauce

Wow the Storm have just shot up in my predictions for finals footy next year.

Champion with Slater, Cronk & Smith will be a better player (and better than the current Inglis).

Rugby League in Vic will be strong again :) and Souths will have a sh*tload of members, while the players will have the mental belief to make the finals and that is a great thing leading into 2011.

Noa

Champs has really good defence

But I've never seen him really do that extra level. But if there's anywhere to find out if he is it's at Storm playing off their halves and fb

Probably the reason bellamy wanted him.

I hope he does well but he wont have a certain sam burgess luring defensive players in off him next year.

Souths are probably second favourites because all their fans are delusional like Bunniesman, throwing thousands of dollars on them because they're a 'certainty' to win the comp, thus bringing their odds in heavily.

Probably the reason bellamy wanted him.

I hope he does well but he wont have a certain sam burgess luring defensive players in off him next year.

Noa...I reckon he will be solid in the Quinn mould which is why Bellamy would have signed him considering that Quinn is in hospital more than playing at the moment.

He has the size over Neilson as well which is an advantage..