Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Inglis wants Johns out of league

bmwpower

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,27312560-5018866,00.html

Timana Tahu's meeting with the NRL's Indigenous Council will take place amidst a call from Queensland superstar Greg Inglis for Andrew Johns' involvement in rugby league to end.
“Some people are tucking their tails between their legs and running away from it, but you've got to take a stance and draw a line in the sand. ” – Greg Inglis Says the time has come​
The victim of the racial slur from Johns which caused Tahu to walk out of NSW's State of Origin II camp, Inglis says there are no excuses for the former Test halfback.

Asked if Johns should continue to have a role in rugby league, Inglis told the Nine Network: "It's definitely not a good attitude. I say no.

"There's no excuses for racism in any sport, any code (or) any culture."

Inglis has strongly backed the stand taken by Tahu, who will take the next step in his campaign to stamp out racism in rugby league with a meeting on Thursday with the William "Smiley" Johnstone-chaired Council.

"Some people are tucking their tails between their legs and running away from it, but you've got to take a stance and draw a line in the sand," the Melbourne centre said.

"We've been copping it from the day our ancestors were born and it's about time we stood up and I think Timana's taking a stance right now."

Tahu also has the blessing of one of the game's multicultural icons, Hazem El Masri.

El Masri, the Muslim who came from war-torn Lebanon as a child and went on to become the game's highest point-scorer, was reluctant to enter league's racism discussion, but did back Tahu's stance.

Asked if the game was moving forward despite the recent racism row, El Masri replied: "We are. Sometimes you have to nominate the problem and just stamp it out.

"I guess sometimes it's good to do that and not beat around the bush so if there's a problem let's just point it out and sort it out and move on.

"As a human being we all make mistakes, it's good sometimes just to put your hand up.

"This is pretty much the Australian culture, that you make a mistake, put your hand up, recognise your mistake, apologise and just move on."

NRL chief executive David Gallop said he hoped Thursday's meeting would be a step towards Tahu and Johns reconciling in a mediation session, the date of which is still to be set, with Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commissioner Mick Gooda.

On a day the Women in League group named Parramatta's Nathan Hindmarsh as their "favourite son", the focus remained more on race issues than the involvement of women in the game.

Dual international and NRL on Fox panellist Wendell Sailor said he had come close to taking a similar stand to Tahu in both league and rugby union.

But he said the example of indigenous players like Steve Renouf and Ricky Walford had taught him to deal with it differently.

"You just thought 'toughen up and get on with it'," he said.

"If you've got this colour skin it's going to happen.

"I've got that personality where I can gloss over it and get on with life.

"Some people, it breaks you down and with 'T' (Tahu) it's obviously breaking him down a bit."

Tommy Smith

Inglis, like Tahu, needs to drink a glass of harden the f**k up.

Exactly when did Andrew Johns cease being Andrew Johns and become Joseph Goebbels instead?

He said "black merkin", but hey, what white bloke hasn't at some point in their life? And conversely what Aboriginal bloke hasn't made a derogatory comment towards white people - not withstanding the fact that they're "allowed to"?

Either way it's hardly the crime of the century and Rugby League needs to stop making mini-series melodramas out of minor incidents. And in this instance it should have been avoided with Joey apologising and as stated Tahu and Inglis drinking a nice big glass of harden the f**k up!

little_aza

I fully support Tahu's stance, and respect him for making a stand - what Johns said was wrong, and something that needs to be stamped out of our game. However the media sh*t-storm (to quote possibly a soon-to-be-former PM) created out of it wasn't the right way to do things: walking out on his mates without prior consultation, having a sook by quitting training and then trying to replicate Mohammed Ali on Monday.

Inglis has every right to be angry at Johns and his remarks: they weren't only directed at his race, but to him personally when he'd never done a thing against Johns, or Beau Scott. To his credit, he responded in the best way possible: on-field. But he shouldn't do a Tahu and let later words or actions overshadow his good deeds - he (or anyone else, bar the NRL admin) have any right right to say who should or should not be in the game.

little_aza

He said "black merkin", but hey, what white bloke hasn't at some point in their life? And conversely what Aboriginal bloke hasn't made a derogatory comment towards white people - not withstanding the fact that they're "allowed to"?

I've actually never called anyone a "black ####" before, and don't ever intend to...but maybe I'm just weird...... :crazy:

Oh, and I've never been called a "white ####" either - maybe I'm just lucky? :crazy:

Tommy Smith

I've actually never called anyone a "black ####" before, and don't ever intend to...but maybe I'm just weird...... :crazy:
Really? I say it quite often. Especially during the football...but never actually mean it...

But the only difference between me and pretty much everyone who will criticise me for it on here is that im telling the truth.

m0nty

Really? I say it quite often. Especially during the football...but never actually mean it...

But the only difference between me and pretty much everyone who will criticise me for it on here is that im telling the truth.
If you don't mean it, Tommy, why do you say it?

You're not normal.

Danish

A mate of mine at high school was from Nigeria and in our group of friends we used to call him a black merkin in jest, then again it was usually when he and his dad were jokingly referring to us as white devils so no one seemed to mind.

As for Inglis, why this woman bashing, cap cheating mercenary thinks his moral opinion is worth a damn is beyond me

Jono1987

A mate of mine at high school was from Nigeria and in our group of friends we used to call him a black merkin in jest, then again it was usually when he and his dad were jokingly referring to us as white devils so no one seemed to mind.

As for Inglis, why this woman bashing, cap cheating mercenary thinks his moral opinion is worth a damn is beyond me

But...but...it's not his go!

Tommy Smith

If you don't mean it, Tommy, why do you say it?

You're not normal.
LOL That's right, im not normal.

One thing im certainly not is politically correct.

I concur with Danish, ive used it in many similar situations. For people with a dark sense of humour racism can be quite funny!

But yes ive also used it during the footy.

cleary89

of course everyone who has played footy has said it. Just like when they say I have the merkin in they yellow boots, or that red headed merkin.

Big Mick

LOL yeah. But don't you realise...he didn't know....that he had a boat in his garage...he didn't know...about signing different contracts...he didn't realise...he received extra payments in his bank account.

Its because we are racist that we are seeing this. Don't you know?

Stop being ignorant Danish...we are all blind with Racism remember.

Well done media for dragging this on and on and on and on.......

Typical RL media.

shane1970

I'll support his stance IF at the same time the NRL kicks the salary cheating players out of the comp as well! cause in the context of it all - they are playing a game and calling someone a name, whether it be racial or just offensive has absolutely NO bearing on the outcome of a game or a competition HOWEVER players who knowingly signed extra contracts and were paid well and truly over and above what every other club was playiing for legally is just outright cheating - so I say kick the cheats out of the game as well Greg - What do you say about that?

m0nty

You're a shining example of rugby league culture at its finest Tommy, what more can I say.

gregstar

wow.

a woman-thumping, cheat wants a drug dependant racist removed from the game.

home & away just garnered another plot summary.

just play football ffs.

The thing I don't get is that Inglis is happy to admit that, in the racism divide, he is "black" as Mundine does.

And Inglis is a cutie..........

Does that make me racist? No - at worst, I have made an offensive remark using a racial term as a verb.

So when I beat up my missus, what does that make me?

When I am a traitor to the state that educated me and made me an elite sportsman, what does that make me?

When I sign 14 contracts, all different in the same week, and suddenly get a bank account fatter than the Queens, and find the QEII in the garage, knowing my clubs is subject to a salary cap, what does that make me?

When the press speculate every 5 minutes about me joining AFL and I do nothing to stop it, despite the damage it does to the game that pays me and makes me famous, what does that make me?

Inferno

Bolded and blown up for emphasis. Meanwhile this merkin is wearing pink boots this weekend to highlight the important role women in league play.

"This is something that's really close to my heart," Inglis said yesterday.

"People underestimate how important [women] are, so raising awareness and money as part of the round is something I'm very proud to do."

Link

LOL That's right, im not normal.

One thing im certainly not is politically correct.

I concur with Danish, ive used it in many similar situations. For people with a dark sense of humour racism can be quite funny!

But yes ive also used it during the footy.

I'm with you in this one...thanks to Tahu, the term "black merkin" was thrown around during SOO2 in unprecedented levels :lol: Mind you, so was "useless St merge ranga fairy merkin" but no one had a problem with that.

But hey, the Arts Degree genius's in here said that anyone who uses throwaway derogatory terms is a hardened racist, so who am I to argue.

On topic - Inglis has no right to say who is or isn't involved in Rugby League.

raidar

Not that either are great looks, i'd rather be labeled racist then to be labeled a woman basher.