Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Injury Updates

Anyone know the extent of Sio's injury and how long he is likely to be out for ?

I reckon the injury was diagnosed as conflict of interest, and it was only going to keep Sio out for one match against the club he will play for next year.

emjaycee

i am hearing that the break (pun intended) for Manu will be a good thing.
From what I have heard, he has been carrying an arm injury all season and he needs to give it time to heal. Also, there is a thought that he needs to put on some weight anyway and some time off to put on about 6kg will see him back bigger and better for it.

i am hearing that the break (pun intended) for Manu will be a good thing.
From what I have heard, he has been carrying an arm injury all season and he needs to give it time to heal. Also, there is a thought that he needs to put on some weight anyway and some time off to put on about 6kg will see him back bigger and better for it.
Thanks for the info buddy. Insights like these are the reasons why I go on these forums. Good job, mate.

grifter

Hey lads, I've got Kenny Sio in my Supercoach team - any idea how bad his injury(if that's what it is) was?

phantom eel

Apparently it's a shoulder. Must've been a surprise, as he was named for the Bulldogs game and then never appeared, and hasn't been selected since.

Who knows... might be out for weeks, or could even bob up in the team this week if Hayne doesn't back up?

If I were you I'd ditch Sio and look for a trade from one of the teams that doesn't have any more byes coming up - Manly or the Sharks from memory?

Will Hopoate is expected to miss some NRL football, but the NSW medical staff are confident his shoulder injury isn't serious.
Hopoate became the second NSW winger in consecutive matches to play through the pain barrier of a shoulder injury and see out the 80 minutes, after Brett Morris' heroics in game one.
The 22-year-old's arm was hanging limply by his side for much of the second half, but after some encouraging words from trainer Ron Palmer, Hopoate decided to tough it out.
Hopoate said he was inspired by his Blues teammates who have defied medical opinion across the two matches, determined to throw everything at ending Queensland's reign.
The jubilation had numbed the pain, but he'll go for scans on Thursday morning to determine when he can return to the field for the Parramatta Eels.
"There was some treatment (needles) at halftime but I was able to carry on," Hopoate said.
"The boys were putting their bodies on the line and fighting for the state so I thought I needed to as well.
"(Palmer) was encouraging me to stay mentally strong and put effort in for the boys."
NSW's drought-breaking victory at ANZ Stadium means Hopoate is undefeated in his two State of Origin appearances.
His last was back in 2011 when he scored a blistering try, and the man with the midas touch marked a golden return to the game's biggest arena on Wednesday after his two-year Mormon Missionary.
Hopoate has gradually re-found some of his best form through the first half of the season, but never thought his return to Origin would come so soon.
The young flyer received his call up after injuries to the Morris brothers, and his defence on the right side with Josh Dugan was crucial.
"Never would I have expected this so quickly and to be part of an Origin winning side it's definitely humbling and I'm very grateful," he said.
"This truly is a blessing."
http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=8862156

I find this a bit un-professional. Parra pay his wage and his season and future was put at risk to stay on the field with needles.Needles to numb the pain right? So he cant feel his injury.Sounds like performance enhancing too me and risky to the player.
Same goes for the Morris twins.If they come off when injured do they both miss so much footy?
JOKE

Chipmunk

I find this a bit un-professional. Parra pay his wage and his season and future was put at risk to stay on the field with needles.Needles to numb the pain right? So he cant feel his injury.Sounds like performance enhancing too me and risky to the player.
Same goes for the Morris twins.If they come off when injured do they both miss so much footy?
JOKE

I think it's only a matter of time before a Club seeks compensation for damages from the NSWRL or QRL when players get injured in Origin. I doubt any court in the land would say that NSWRL didnt fail in their duty of care for all 3 players (Hoppa and the Morris')

I can see court action happening when a NSW player who plays for a non-NSW based Club gets injured Or vice-versa (Qld player who plays for a NSW based Club).

Personally I am over the Origin period and all players having to miss games for Clubs before and after Origin games. The Club's and the Players need to take a united strategic stand for something to change.

eels_fan

If they were playing in the grand final for parra you'd want them needled up and playing on.

No different.

Yes we own the player and pay his wage. Completely different. If they came off early maybe they only miss 1-2 weeks