Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is Idris ready for Origin?

Do you think Jamal Idris is ready for Origin footy?

God-King Dean

Out jumped? Idris was back expecting a bomb, he had to turn, run in field and still almost got there. Do you honestly think if Creagh and Idris were up against one another in a genuine contest for a high kick that Idris wouldn't out leap him? Please..

It's not that far fetched.

That's the 2nd try Creagh has scored in that manner this season. Used be a winger & was a talented basketballer in highschool.

jimmythehand

idris is a fantastic leaper, but he is absolutely sh*t at catching, timing his jump, or even getting in the right position to catch it.

ByRd

Well the kicks he has received this year have been average at best, we can never get them in the right position, they are always too short or too long.

I dont think Idris is ready yet, the kid has talent and will be something special but needs more time to learn the game and work on his flaws. I can see why they are calling for him to be in the side as NSW need to look to the future and try something different to defeat QLD but atm he isnt ready, maybe next year.

Kimmorley, Ennis and Idris all earned selection tonight:

The New South Wales Rugby League has named a 17-man squad to take on the Queensland Maroons in Game I of the 30th annual State of Origin series, taking place at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday 26 May 2010.

The team is as follows:

1. Kurt Gidley (captain, Newcastle Knights)
2. Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons)
3. Matt Cooper (St George Illawarra Dragons)
4. Timana Tahu (Parramatta Eels)
5. Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
6. Jamie Lyon (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
7. Brett Kimmorley (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
8. Michael Weyman (St George Illawarra Dragons)
9. Michael Ennis (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
10. Josh Perry (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
11. Trent Waterhouse (Penrith Panthers)
12. Ben Creagh (St George Illawarra Dragons)
13. Anthony Watmough (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)

Interchange:
14. Jamal Idris (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
15. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs (Canberra Raiders)
16. Luke Lewis (Penrith Panthers)
17. Brett White (Melbourne Storm)​

http://leagueunlimited.com/article.php?newsid=19276

MountainMan

Now heres what I just don't understand...
Jamal Idris played for Milperra Colts,Berala Bears and St Johns Eagles

He went to La Salle College, Bankstown

Bulldogs didn't pick him for Harold Matts or even any development teams..
He had to try out for S.G Ball for the 2008 season.
So as a teenager he made 1 rep team,the Bulldogs sg ball 2008.
From that season i dont know what happened to him,but he went on and made the Oz schoolboys played 20s,played first grade.now origin

Some1 1st tell me how he is classified as being from the "country",when he played junior footy in the bulldogs district for years and years.
Also why doesn't any one menshion how he got to where he is,all within a year? he was a unknown just poped up over night!

I reckon he pulled all the Dogs officials pants down IMO

Bulldog Force

Now heres what I just don't understand...
Jamal Idris played for Milperra Colts,Berala Bears and St Johns Eagles

He went to La Salle College, Bankstown

Bulldogs didn't pick him for Harold Matts or even any development teams..
He had to try out for S.G Ball for the 2008 season.
So as a teenager he made 1 rep team,the Bulldogs sg ball 2008.
From that season i dont know what happened to him,but he went on and made the Oz schoolboys played 20s,played first grade.now origin

Some1 1st tell me how he is classified as being from the "country",when he played junior footy in the bulldogs district for years and years.
Also why doesn't any one menshion how he got to where he is,all within a year? he was a unknown just poped up over night!

I reckon he pulled all the Dogs officials pants down IMO
Dude, you got some of your information wrong. His junior clubs were Forster, Bankstown Sports, Berala Bears and Chester Hill Hornets. His first junior club was Forster in country NSW, then the Bulldogs scouts recruited him. So he is rightfully a country rep.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamal_Idris#cite_note-1

MountainMan

Dude, you got some of your information wrong. His junior clubs were Forster, Bankstown Sports, Berala Bears and Chester Hill Hornets. His first junior club was Forster in country NSW, then the Bulldogs scouts recruited him. So he is rightfully a country rep.

He did play for Milpera Colts also mate,and No they didn't recruit him at all,they didn't offer him any contracts at first,he was just picked in the ball squad,he was a bulldgos junior.Alan Fry who was the coach of the team that season did not expect idris to even go to 20s.
Injury after injury he got his shot,then played well in the 20s,then same thing injury and injury, plus the dogs were dead last at the time,he got a couple nrl games..
The point is,who ever was in charge of the recruitment at the time(2008) is a dead set fool,they didn't pick him for any junior teams and then his playing 1st grade within a year.

Doga

Dude, you got some of your information wrong. His junior clubs were Forster, Bankstown Sports, Berala Bears and Chester Hill Hornets. His first junior club was Forster in country NSW, then the Bulldogs scouts recruited him. So he is rightfully a country rep.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamal_Idris#cite_note-1

You got your info wrong actually. He started in the local Bankstown Comps as has been stated already. He then went and lived in Foster in the mission played junior footy for quite a few years. Then came back and played SG Ball for the Dogs and begun his rapid rise.

Doga

Nope, if you have a look again, Lyon had the second rower covered (Myles?), Idris should have been on Inglis and Hayne was covering Boyd
Lyon may have had Thurston covered but not much else. I have seen it several times.

Bulldog Force

Even if Idris did read that wrong, keep in mind, the kid is 19, you can't expect a rookie to be squeaky perfect. Even people like Darren Lockyer make mistakes.

hellteam

Even if Idris did read that wrong, keep in mind, the kid is 19, you can't expect a rookie to be squeaky perfect. Even people like Darren Lockyer make mistakes.

Exactly, he did read it wrong, but he is 19 so it's not entirely his fault it can be expected, but it is the selectors fault, because he shouldn't have been in the team.

Doga

Exactly, he did read it wrong, but he is 19 so it's not entirely his fault it can be expected, but it is the selectors fault, because he shouldn't have been in the team.

I don't think anyone disagrees with that