Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is Madden 05 the Greatest sports game ever

is Madden the greatest

• Yes

• No

strong_latte

No, it's NFL and therefore not even as good as ARL96...
Anyway, last years ESPN NFL game was rated better...

canberra_raiders2k2

ESPN NFL 2k5 on xbox is without a doubt the best sport sim ever...

Madden is ok for guys that know very little about the games..

Just about every sport game is better then the league games released...

Deano

I'm playing Madden 04 and loving it, great game.

The 2k series (from what I've heard) has more realistic gameplay however much inferior off season menus.

canberra_raiders2k2

Play 2k5..everything is perfect..

Half time shows, Sportscenter weekly highlight reels, Player of the game interviews, mid season and end of season draft talk of players to look for..there are heaps more but this thread wont exactly fill up with guys wanting to play a game that isnt out in australia yet.

Disco

Deano said:

The 2k series (from what I've heard) has more realistic gameplay however much inferior off season menus.

04 has nothing on 05, there are so many improvements its unbelievable, for starters u have so much more control over your team, especially defence, and franchise mode covers every detail
-Its goes forever
-Retiring players
-Scouting players in the lead up the the draft
-Recruiting players in the draft
-Team Morale
-Setting ticket prices
-Organising Promotional activities
-Setting Food and Beverage prices
-Recieving and having to deal with emails from players who want more game time
-Pre-Season training improving players capabilities
-QBs and Recievers over time learn each others games and improve there awarness

and heaps ore stuff i forget

strong_latte

Disco said:
Deano said:

04 has nothing on 05, there are so many improvements its unbelievable, for starters u have so much more control over your team, especially defence, and franchise mode covers every detail
-Its goes forever
-Retiring players
-Team Morale
-Setting ticket prices

Meh, it's still a game based on a shit sport with a bunch of paddedtwinkies for players...

Goleel

I'm hanging for the local 2K5 release, it's gonna be awesome, but Madden 2005 is a freaking good game, still, it's madden, and i'll always prefer the running game in 2k5, I have since the dreamcast days. Madden is a better produced and balanced game, but I find 2k a lot more fun.

canberra_raiders2k2

strong_latte said:
Disco said:
Deano said:

-Its goes forever
-Retiring players
-Team Morale
-Setting ticket prices

Meh, it's still a game based on a sh*t sport with a bunch of paddedtwinkies for players...

ur an idiot...

I got a billion things to defend the nfl and make fun of league but i like league and ill probably get flammed by everyone else.

canberra_raiders2k2

Disco said:
Deano said:

-Its goes forever
-Retiring players
-Team Morale
-Setting ticket prices

lmao...

there just the same as 04..did you even play 04?

When 04 came out people complained saying that all the audibles and extra's helped the offense but the defense had nothing..so ea then created the great :roll: hit stick..

Hit stick is without a doubt the dumbest thing brought in..it ruins the game and makes it look like an arcade rather then a sim (if you could call madden a sim anyway with all those dumb ass db ai and o-line ai).

Madden hasnt improved since 2003..2003 to this day is the best madden and that says alot seeing as how you could just lob over defenses but that was one of the few flaws..only way to stop it was to take control of the db which wasnt that hard.

I bought the american version of nfl 2k5 and its flatout the greatest game ever..the things you can do leave madden for dead..unlike madden sega actually release a whole new game rather then slight updates..

I play american football and trust me when i say this...madden is a long way from being realistic.

Deano

I won't be getting Madden 05 but will be getting 06, as well as probably 2k5 if it's ever released down here. As 2k2 said, most of the stuff you mentioned disco is in 2004 anyway.

strong_latte

canberra_raiders2k2 said:
strong_latte said:
Disco said:
Deano said:

-Its goes forever
-Retiring players
-Team Morale
-Setting ticket prices

Meh, it's still a game based on a sh*t sport with a bunch of paddedtwinkies for players...

ur an idiot...

I got a billion things to defend the nfl and make fun of league but i like league and ill probably get flammed by everyone else.

Having no interest in NFL doesn't make me an idiot mate, it just means I'm not a wannabe yank... ;-)
And yeah you probably will be flamed if you started whinging about league because ..... (wait for it) THIS IS A LEAGUE FORUM!
... moron.

Deano

strong_latte said:
Disco said:
Deano said:

-Its goes forever
-Retiring players
-Team Morale
-Setting ticket prices

ur an idiot...

Having no interest in NFL doesn't make me an idiot mate, it just means I'm not a wannabe yank... ;-)
And yeah you probably will be flamed if you started whinging about league because ..... (wait for it) THIS IS A LEAGUE FORUM!
... moron.

So if you have no interest in the sport then dont bother posting your ignorant crap in this thread please :arrow:

strong_latte

Deano said:
strong_latte said:
Disco said:
Deano said:

-Its goes forever
-Retiring players
-Team Morale
-Setting ticket prices

ur an idiot...

... moron.

So if you have no interest in the sport then dont bother posting your ignorant crap in this thread please :arrow:

I have no interest in the sport, but I do have interest in debating a claim that the Madden 2005 game was the best sport game of all time. Understand?

canberra_raiders2k2

You know nothing about the nfl and think cause of padding makes it a pansy sport..but why do sports have to based on how much they hurt rather then how fun they are?

Union is rougher then league, does that make it a better game? heck no..

how does having padding make them gay? in league/union people lay ontop of one another holding the ball carrier down...i dunno that kinda seems gay..

it makes no sense, you said your here to debate about it being the best sport game or not yet in ur first remark you point out that they use padding and therefore its a pansy game..(wait for it)..BY CALLING IT A PANSY SPORT YOUR LOOKING AT THE REAL LIFE GAME NOT THE VIDEOGAME.

Madden 05 is a solid game if you havent played any since 2001..they just update rosters and fix major bugs while doing so make others...so once again i say no its not the best sport game..

ESPN 2K5 will be out by the 18th of this month so you guys should check it out...ive got the xbox version and it wipes the floor with every other sport game.

Deano

strong_latte said:
Deano said:
strong_latte said:
Disco said:
Deano said:

-Its goes forever
-Retiring players
-Team Morale
-Setting ticket prices

ur an idiot...

... moron.

I have no interest in the sport, but I do have interest in debating a claim that the Madden 2005 game was the best sport game of all time. Understand?
So debate the quality of the game and stop focusing on the sport being based on a bunch of "paddedtwinkies for players". :roll:

Deano

I've pulled these review headlines off http://gamefaqs.com for ESPN NFL 2k5

XBOX
Best football you can get for your buck BeefieCheesie 8/10
Farewell John... it's been nice Brandogrey 9/10
Good for 19.99, unacceptable for 49.99 CapnStank 6/10
An excellent improvement over 2K4 FalloutX 10/10
Unmatched value, and satisfaction. Fastkilr 9/10
ESPN NFL 2K5 Changed Me foster39 10/10
Manning to Harrison.......Touchdown Colts! Galactus21 9/10
Get this because it is $19.99. And only because it is $19.99 GameSTAR 7/10
Kill 'em all ! (2005#1) Gruel 10/10
Worth its weight in gold...no...PLATINUM! IPwnYourQB 9/10
Best.Football.Game.Of.the.Year. korriban 10/10
Sega has officially stolen EA’s thunder. Patriotwolf 10/10
Your Crib wont be complete without this game. Pie Penguin 9/10
The only football game with a turnover rate higher than the Washington Redskins coaching staff. pizzacat83 1/10
Excellent Advancement of series. PSUstoekl 9/10
A $20 price tag makes the game affordable... radiohead rocks 7/10
A Must Own Football Title Ryudo88 9/10
A true rival to Madden has finally arrived, and for one easy payment of $19.99 sephiroth0000 9/10
$20 for a GREAT football game which raises the bar in the Madden VS ESPN saga SilverBlazer 8/10
Thats why they're the world wide leader in sports stevetheguy1 10/10
The single best Football game since Tecmo teenboy 10/10

PS2
Madden has some competition at last! Alucard27 9/10
Are U Ready For 2K5? Aries73 9/10
Save your $$ for Madden. Trust me. AVexer 5/10
Great price for a great game bond0007 9/10
Is ESPN the game of the Year?? I think not. brad2596 6/10
Worth every penny- and you only need 2000, not 5000! chasehas 9/10
ESPN goes for it all. SuperBowl or 5 and 11 year Coltscatch88 4/10
With a $15 price tag and superior gameplay, it's easy to see why this title is a must have. DJellybean 9/10
The Theme of This Years Game is "Improved From Last Year" Error1355 8/10
20.00, or Roughly 1 cent per bug fenrhero 3/10
No wonder why its worth $20!!! FootballFan13 7/10
Another average sports game from Visual Concepts Griese2k1 5/10
Better than Madden 05? No! Worst than Madden 94? YES! hicke 4/10
This is the only football game you need this season!! IwillAssassinateU 10/10
ESPN brings good football at an affordable price jbcom 8/10
A few problems here and there, but nothing short of great lilfinch 8/10
I like it better than Madden 2004, but we'll see about 2005 Manji Desty Nova 10/10
The best football game ever, period. marchmadness1012 10/10
Forget Madden this year... ESPN NFL 2K5 is the football game to get! plasmabeam 9/10
Too Many Problems to Replace Madden pstrang 6/10
ESPN continues to gain on Madden, and with the $20 price tag the gap is smaller than ever pubbisk 8/10
Good football but glitchy and the worst franchise mode ever RHart 6/10
With Madden 2005 coming soon, ESPN may satisfy your hunger SilverBlazer 9/10
You Get What You Pay For Skelator 5/10
Worth the $20? Theoriginalconcept 9/10
Its a cool game...............I guess!!!!!!!!!!!!! treetree 7/10
ESPN or Madden? Part I (ESPN) UMCupps 7/10
An AWESOME football game! yuna03 9/10

It might just be me but I reckon there's more negative reviews by proportion for PS2 than negative reviews for xbox which I find interesting.