Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is PI a waste of time??

richie8u

I think so, it is HEAVELY moderated and people that run the site dont want to admit anything is wrong and live in LA LA Land,
have you ever had braking news on it?? or do u think anything has changed because of it??

Kilkenny

PI is fine as a forum allowing fans to correspond and express there views and opinions.

As a tool for the club to communicate information to there fans it is an absolute what of time.

choc_soldier

I agree with Kilkenny - it's a great tool for the fans to communicate with each other.

But once any criticism is squarely aimed at the club, certain people get defensive.

Take our current recuitment "drive" for example. There are people on there that are saying that nothing is wrong.

evil.jpg

Kilkenny

parra_panther said:
I agree with Kilkenny - it's a great tool for the fans to communicate with each other.

But once any criticism is squarely aimed at the club, certain people get defensive.

Take our current recuitment "drive" for example. There are people on there that are saying that nothing is wrong.

evil.jpg

The spin coming from the public face of the PI and we know who that is, is that all is well?

Our management are doing a very good job!

The recruits we have brought into the club thus far more than compensate for those players who will no longer be with us?

The recruiting is not finished. There are obviously players from the Bartercard Cup and Queensland Cup who are coming off contract who we will target for 2007?

We should be thankful is you believe the spin coming out of PI.

On the other hand there is an entire top 25 squad of players we have lost or released since 2003 out there? You could probably mount an argument the squad of players we have released would be very competitive against our current squad.

The fans are obviously wrong and being totally unfair. The more PI defends the events as they have unfolded, frankly, the more peeved off I get.

Kilkenny

Sorry, I should also have said. The fans just want some honesty. Not political correctness? That's what's wrong with PI.

Why can't the club just come out and acknowledge that we haven't fared well?

Admit we tried to sign Jamie Lyon, Brett Delaney, Josh Hannay and a host of other established NRL stars but they elected to go elsewhere. The players we targeted, we weren't prepared to pay overs for? The club want to be in a stable financial position to ensure we are able to retain Jennings, Aiton, Sammut and a host of other juniors. Most of us would accept such a statment no problems, rather than the silence we have been subjected too, and at the same time being told we are wrong, wingers and being treated like idiots?

The fans of the Panthers are being treated like idiots. This is a fact.

*Sandy*

Not defending Management, but would it be good business to say out loud who they have targeted, tried to sign but failed and the reasons for failure?

Anything at all that a player/player manager would say in defence of not wanting to come to Penrith would reflect in a bad way for future Penrith recruiting wouldnt it?

Pantherjim.

I don't think P.I. is a complete waste of time, as there are some useful and informative threads on the forum.

I do, however think that it is over-moderated and censored. I feel that those who question the clubs motives, criticise the clubs directions and show the slightest ounce of negativity to a certain direction or, be it, lack of direction to which the club is taking, are treated with scorn, rebuked and censored by the moderators and these do-gooder bum-licking moderator wannabes.

Just today, I was told by one of these wowsers (Panthian) in the "CEO's column" thread that I should be sin-binned for displaying neagativity and having an opinion. :roll: I'm not sure if this individual was being serious, or he's merely just brown-nosing for Moderator or VIP status. Unfortunately I'm of the opinion that a lot of these wankers are rebuking other posters and licking a*se for precisely that reason. While I agree that there is definately a place for moderators on a forum (albeit a restricted number of them) I disagree with the concept of VIP status as it just promotes elitism. In any case I think that if the VIP status concept has to continue it should be awarded fairly. Presently it is awarded unfairly and often awarded to posters that praise the club and do not question its motives one Iota e.g. Troy Mclure: The guy had all but registered and he gets VIP status! If the VIP status concept was fairly awarded, there would be quite a few more posters awarded the status rather than these brown nosing individuals.

I'm of the opinion that Freedom of speech is of paramount importance. I'm also of the opinion that if you want to live in a country/environment where freedom of speech is a fundamental principle, then you have to be prepared to accept the fact that sometimes people may say things that upset you or even offend you, which is why I'm opposed to Political Correctness. I do realise on a public internet forum that the censorship rules have to be stricter than in the real world for legal reasons because of civil liability/defamation etc and possible damage to reputations. However, I'm all for people expressing their opinions on a public internet forum, so long as the way they express it does not breach the forum rules. Even if it is criticising the club and it's management/being negative towards the direction or lack of direction that a club is taking. For those aforementioned wowsers that don't like people questioning/criticising the club, it's quite simple; Do us all a favour and don't even bother putting your mouse cursor over the thread in question.

cainen

So am I a brown nose? I was the very first VIP on there and I've been banned from the site in the past. I am still often critical of the club and don't feel like there's any reason I can't be as a VIP.

There's really only 1 nazi moderator on there that goes over the top, and it's not Rob.

It's all about how you go about saying your criticism. There are stacks of negative posts about the club on the site at the moment that haven't been deleted. They mightn't like it, but if it's not unreasonable criticism and it doesn't resort to insults then in most cases it will stay (except occasionally when the nazi moderator does his thing).

I'm pretty sure Troy Mclure is, or works for a sponsor so that's why he got VIP. I initially thought he worked for the club but got into a minor argument with him recently about stakeholders' rights to question management and when talking about sponsors he said referred to them as 'we.'

I'm not sure Pantherian was referring specifically to you when he said about sin binning users. There are some users who seem to only be there to post negative things and bring the club down at any opportunity without offering any constructive criticism. I suspect those are the people he's referring to.

As I watch the news this morning and see all the sh*t that's going on in the world at the moment, I realise we should be thankful it's only a footy club that's causing us grief. Life is good. Peace ;-)

Pantherjim.

cainen said:
So am I a brown nose? I was the very first VIP on there and I've been banned from the site in the past. I am still often critical of the club and don't feel like there's any reason I can't be as a VIP.

Mate, I'm not saying that everyone that has been awarded VIP status early is a brown nose, but I'm saying that it is awarded unfairly, and I do question the VIP status of some posters, one for example; Troy.

I also think that there is favouritism displayed on many levels at P.I. and it goes as high as the Mods and to some extent, even Rob himself.

That's just my two cents worth.

cainen

Probably because you state your criticism in a reasonable way.

It's not that big a deal being VIP, all you get to do is have pictures in your signature and an avatar, which I reckon everyone should be allowed to have (though with some restrictions). There's no secret forum or special powers or anything.

Caged Panther

I don't think that these days you could particularly claim that there is over zealous moderation of criticism towards the club. However there certainly has been in the past and all it did was create a core group of people who go there for whom the club can do no wrong.

This is where my problem with PI these days comes. Not that it's over moderated but that whenever you express a view that's critical of the club the 'core' group of do gooders starts jumping up and down. Claiming your just a band wagon supporter blah, blah, blah. And to me at least is seems that for this reason every thread ends up the same...in an argument about whether your a true supporter or not.

Fibroman

The job of a moderator is to make sure that nothing gets posted on the site that will cause the site or any people to find themselves in legal 'hotwater'. Whether that is posting rumours and purporting them to be the truth or by slandering individuals, it doesn't matter.

The age of political correctness is behind us. It was something of the 1990's. Australia is now over the whole thing. Criticising managers and players is called 'Freedom of Speech'. There is no crime in having an opinion.

You just need to look at how many moderators there are on PI to know that it is over moderated.

The same way an email filter gets rid of spam, there should be key words and phrases that default posts directly to a moderator. I would imagine that you would only need 4 or 5 moderators at the most to effectively keep people out of trouble on these forums.

Ps. Did anyone know that Rob Weaver was recently seen.....'edit' with 'edit' and then later caught 'edit' with 'edit' and then some more high ranking officials were 'edit' and then 'edit'.

Just moderated myself and it wasn't that hard.

Schijt hoofd

Fibroman said:
Ps. Did anyone know that Rob Weaver was recently seen.....'edit' with 'edit' and then later caught 'edit' with 'edit' and then some more high ranking officials were 'edit' and then 'edit'.

Just moderated myself and it wasn't that hard.

One more time for the dummies.:?

I don't have a problem with the forum.The website could have a few more things on it though.Would be good if it had a players injured list and also say how long the player is contracted for in his player profile.

cainen

Fibroman said:
The same way an email filter gets rid of spam, there should be key words and phrases that default posts directly to a moderator. I would imagine that you would only need 4 or 5 moderators at the most to effectively keep people out of trouble on these forums.

They did this with the word "Hadley" for a while.

Pantherjim.

cainen said:
It's not that big a deal being VIP, all you get to do is have pictures in your signature and an avatar, which I reckon everyone should be allowed to have (though with some restrictions). There's no secret forum or special powers or anything.

Don't get me wrong, I'm definately not bucking for VIP status, to be honest, I couldn't give a rat's rectum whether I was VIP or not. (Hell would freeze over before Rob gave it to me anyway) What I'm trying to point out though is that the concept of awarding posters VIP status does promote elitism... i.e. The aforementioned wowsers on the forum that insist on putting people in their place who criticise/display negativity towards the club. Believe me, there are people in this world that are petty enough to do such things. Simply in order to gain the extra privleges of being able to have an avatar and pics in your signature. For them, it's a milestone believe it or not!