Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Is Ricky Stuart the most overrated coach ever?

Ok, this is getting stupider.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-07-...ologises-for-canberra-raiders-howler/10021536

Sutton is now saying that the real problem is that none of the officials saw the touch judge raise his flag. You have it right there from the NRL that play should have been stopped when the flag was raised but NOBODY SAW IT - including the video referee!

By the way I’m not having a go at you here

Who cares
The touch judge is wrong to hold the bloody flag up
Watch the replay
The players are not even looking at the touch judge

What part of this do people not get?

It wasn’t a knock on
It didn’t touch his hand
Not one replay proved that
Play on
Play the whistle
The raiders players are the ones to blame

Maybe next year Ricky you f**king sook
Blaming a correct ref call on a touch judge for his teams season.
Don’t believe any of this other crap he is going on about
He is trying to deflect the real issue.

What a f**king joke of a human he is
Pathetic in every way as a coach.

skeepe

Quote the rule please.
Certainly.

Section 16, rule 8.1(f)

The Referee shall blow his whistle
when any irregularity, not provided for in these Laws, occurs and one team unjustifiably gains an
advantage

super_coach

Ricky is 100% right, fans are leaving the game in droves because they have had enough. There is no level playing fields. Some teams are given a massive leg up and others are being kicked down. Its not only the appalling referring that seems to go against certain teams, but its the draw that also favours certain teams and its the whole lack of creditability with the salary cap and TPA's.

The game will be dead in no time under the present leadership. They need a massive review and start making some har
By the way I’m not having a go at you here

Who cares
The touch judge is wrong to hold the bloody flag up
Watch the replay
The players are not even looking at the touch judge

What part of this do people not get?

It wasn’t a knock on
It didn’t touch his hand
Not one replay proved that
Play on
Play the whistle
The raiders players are the ones to blame

Maybe next year Ricky you f**king sook
Blaming a correct ref call on a touch judge for his teams season.
Don’t believe any of this other crap he is going on about
He is trying to deflect the real issue.

What a f**king joke of a human he is
Pathetic in every way as a coach.

So why did Sutton come out and say “we got it wrong”......Maybe you should have a crack at the head of referring job if it comes up as you seem to know more than anyone

Ricky is 100% right, fans are leaving the game in droves because they have had enough. There is no level playing fields. Some teams are given a massive leg up and others are being kicked down. Its not only the appalling referring that seems to go against certain teams, but its the draw that also favours certain teams and its the whole lack of creditability with the salary cap and TPA's.

The game will be dead in no time under the present leadership. They need a massive review and start making some har

So why did Sutton come out and say “we got it wrong”......Maybe you should have a crack at the head of referring job if it comes up as you seem to know more than anyone

I do know more
I’d probably be a heaps better coach than Ricky too.
Heaps and heaps better probably.
Probably get he Daly M coach of the year

Generalzod

I didn;t think we needed Ricky to tell us that, the bloke is a genius.,Anyway if you want to make it an even competition you got to play each team twice but that's not going to happen.

PJ

He wouldn't. It's similar to an inadvertent whistle. Play has been unnatturally affected and therefore cannot continue.

The NRL have said that play should have been stopped. The rule book says that the play should have been stopped.

With all due respect, you can disagree all you like but you're wrong, and anyone who shares your viewpoint is wrong.

Ok, I was wrong on that.

If he saw the touchie raise his flag play should have stopped and bunker should have ruled no try if they saw the flag.

On the flip side though if that had happened the Sharks would have every right to complain as the touchie shouldn’t have raised his flag as there was no knock on.

I think the issue is that we have extra officials and huge investment in the bunker and it seems to be getting worse not better.

But the bunker got it right.
The touch judge was wrong.... not the bunker or the ref.
Ref didn’t blow the whistle.
Holding near his mouth is not blowing a penalty.

They don’t stop play for a touch judge holding up his flag when a dude runs down the sideline and scores.
The ref says
I have no try please Please check the sideline .

Canard

With all the focus on the "flag" issue, people seem to have forgotten that the Bunker overruled the no try on field decision.

I'd love for them to explain there was conclusive proof to overturn that call.

With all the focus on the "flag" issue, people seem to have forgotten that the Bunker overruled the no try on field decision.

I'd love for them to explain there was conclusive proof to overturn that call.
The ball didn’t touch his hands of arms
Every single camera clearly showed it just went straight through.
The ball didn’t move nor did his fingers.

Hey
It was bloody close.
At the game we just thought he touched it and the ref had blown the whistle.
Myself and my mates didn’t know about the flag bit until I watched the replay and heard the commentary.

If the ref did go with the touch judge it would’ve been an incorrect call.
I bet Ricky wouldn’t have stuck up the Sharks then.

It looked ordinary but you gotta play the whistle.
Raiders scored a try off a quick tap before the ref had finished giving the penalty.
They also scored one off a forward pass.
Ricky seems cool with those decisions.
Both could’ve been called back.

Travitoh

The ball didn’t touch his hands of arms
Every single camera clearly showed it just went straight through.
The ball didn’t move nor did his fingers.

Hey
It was bloody close.
At the game we just thought he touched it and the ref had blown the whistle.
Myself and my mates didn’t know about the flag bit until I watched the replay and heard the commentary.

If the ref did go with the touch judge it would’ve been an incorrect call.
I bet Ricky wouldn’t have stuck up the Sharks then.

It looked ordinary but you gotta play the whistle.
Raiders scored a try off a quick tap before the ref had finished giving the penalty.
They also scored one off a forward pass.
Ricky seems cool with those decisions.
Both could’ve been called back.

Stop trying to divert the conversation in another direction.
Ricky's mates sent him texters saying they don't watch footy anymore because the officials ruin games.
He's not using as an excuse for the loss, his team weren't good enough but the referees are to blame for his team losing.