Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Is Ricky Stuart the most overrated coach ever?

AlwaysGreen

Ricky Stuart unloaded on his own players in the post-match press conference after Canberra’s second-half collapse against North Queensland on Thursday night.

The Raiders took a 12-0 lead into halftime but failed to register another point as the Cowboys emerged 18-12 victors in the nation’s capital.

Stuart’s side has won just two matches from six to start the season and have now blown seven double digit leads since 2020 — the most out of any team in the NRL in that period.

“The way we started that second half was pathetic,” Stuart said. “I’m sick of defending playing 40 or 50 minutes of football.

“There were some individuals that didn’t start with the way they should have to get us back onto the front foot.

“I’ll deal with that when we get back to work, but it is not on and I’m sick of it.

“There are some individuals who have got to look at themselves because it is not up to NRL standard.

“That is not the standard that we want from our football team.

“We showed what we could do in the first 40 minutes and we were let down by our performance in the second half.

“Blokes have got to have a good hard look at it.”

Ricky Stuart was absolutely filthy. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Stuart knows some of his players like Jack Wighton and captain Elliott Whitehead are aiming up but they aren’t getting enough support.

“I’ve said it before those guys need supporting. There are certain blokes that are not contributing to the standards that they need to contribute to. Simple as that,” Stuart said.

“If I keep sitting here defending them it is not going to solve anything.”

Stuart also bristled at a reporter’s question about a moment in the match involving outside back Xavier Savage, who many view as an excitement machine but hasn’t been a regular first-grader this season.

“Do you think the play from Jordan Rapana when Xavier Savage was injected into the game when Rapana gave Savage the ball for the crucial run back and he was bundled into touch and the Cowboys scored,” the journalist asked.

“Do you hope Jordan Rapana next time takes that hit himself? What did you make of that play?”

Stuart replied: “No, Xavier Savage should have stepped inside mate.

“That’s why Xavier Savage is not playing first grade because he is still learning the game.

“So many of you people want X-factor. So many people want Xavier out there. That is why Xavier hasn’t been playing because he is still learning the awareness of the game.

“But I’m only a dumb coach. Everybody else wants X-factor. Well we haven’t got X-factor at the moment.

“We are still teaching young people how to play footy at an NRL standard. If you are an experienced player you take the inside there. That has got nothing to do with Jordan Rapana.”

“But I’m only a dumb coach" Finally he admits it.

Spot On

So, who are the individuals that didn’t get the side off to a good start in the second half then?? And not up to NRL standard???

Just put it out there Ricky. Dealing with it ‘back at work’ is not making a difference.

Name and shame Ricky.

Leaguenutter

Ok thanks buddy I’ll let you know when I’m going to get the moon back tomorrow morning and I’ll see you tomorrow afternoon

Pete Cash

It's just depressing right now. It's time to sweep out the deadwood and rebuild though. Sticks on the strong copium if he thinks this side can turn it around.

We must have the worst ball playing in the comp.

Even when we were good we were a team of individuals. Hodgson and beej could create out of nothing. Is it a coincidence that we have struggled post hodgsons knees exploding and beej leaving.

Stick out

Nealo 12

It's just depressing right now. It's time to sweep out the deadwood and rebuild though. Sticks on the strong copium if he thinks this side can turn it around.

We must have the worst ball playing in the comp.

Even when we were good we were a team of individuals. Hodgson and beej could create out of nothing. Is it a coincidence that we have struggled post hodgsons knees exploding and beej leaving.

Stick out
Soooooooo stick it out

King-Gutho94

Like i said eariler Telfon Ricky wont get any heat from the media its his greatest achievement how he sold his soul to the Telegraph journos.

Paul kent has been his ghost writer/ speaker for ages.

Any other coach who carries on the presser the way Ricky does most times would be called petulant and hammered pillar to post.
But not stick becuase the journos reckon he is passionate.

Chippy73

Ricky picking a team of plodders who look like they met in the carpark and the only player he names as making a mistake is the 19 year old rookie he throws under the bus... He's lost me, he can get f**ked the merkin.
Yeh I thought that was pretty low...sure get stuck into him in private but why single him out in the presser, I'm sure the kid is already feeling completely shit.

Literally Andrew Johns was kinder to Savage on the live broadcast after it happened...said "he'll learn from that"

A vintage Sticky presser tonight.

A good salty, surly start really set the foundation.

Followed by a bit of early contrarian combativeness with the reporters, even when they were trying their best to piss in his pocket.

“Ricky, was that a 9 out of 10 for frustration tonight?”

“Oooh, it was worse than that”.

Quickly onto a bit of the Stick Man’s bread and butter, self-pity.

“I’m sick of it! I am sick of sticking up for these guys!”

Then a few more jabs at the media to bring it on home.

“You blokes in the media want ‘X-Factor’, well I’m just trying to teach Savage how to play NRL football and YOU blokes want X-Factor!”

And the crescendo of an abrupt, unexpected signature Sticky storm off.

*chefs kiss*

In a turbulent, topsy-turvy world of pandemics and international warfare, it is nice to come home, watch the Raiders collapse and sit back and enjoy a sulky Sticky presser that plays all the hits. All thriller, no filler.
Very well summarsed. Still a narcissistic sook with no self awareness.

mongoose

Ricky picking a team of plodders who look like they met in the carpark and the only player he names as making a mistake is the 19 year old rookie he throws under the bus... He's lost me, he can get f**ked the merkin.
This has been a problem with Ricky his whole coaching career. He has no time for developing younger raw players, for him coaching is all about proving his doubters wrong, that is his motivation.