Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"It’s very realistic to say that we’ll have a second team in Brisbane in 2023": V'landys

Jamberoo

If they changed their name to just the Dragons, with a red and yellow jersey and Chinese styled dragon logo, then they could develop a huge fanbase all over the country, even in Adelaide and Perth. They could take matches all over the country, which would be great for the game.

There are NRL players publicly stating they are more keen on trying their hand at American football. That's a terrible look for our game. It would be like Apple employees saying they use Android phones, or people from Coca Cola saying they only drink Pepsi. Kids see this and think the game must be shit if its best players want to play something else.

New Australians have to be the target over the next 20 years. If it wasn't for Polynesians and Melanesians boosting our numbers then our participation rate would be even lower. We need to get the Africans, Chinese and Indians to adopt our game. New teams in Adelaide and Perth can become successful by targeting these communities as they have no rusted on love for fumbleball.

More teams in New Zealand can only increase the participation rate in NZ, which is a good thing for the NRL and Test football.

@MugaB mocks me for suggesting it, but getting a foot in the southeast Asian market is a game changer that could make RL the richest game in the country. There's plenty of businessmen in SE Asia, but they're not going to invest in our game unless we give them a seat at the table. Imagine how big the Dragons could be if they relocated to Singapore to become the Singapore Dragons!
Africans are made for RL. They are tall, strong and fast, with quick hands. AFL has been targeting African kids in Melbourne the past decade and the number of players has gone from zero to 20 in quick time. Are there any Africans in NRL lower grades? Do many live in Sydney or Brisbane?

Great, guess after 20 years area should totally converted to sea eagles fans right?! Doesn't work that way - different areas have different identities.

North Sydney is a huge & lucrative catchment. Loss of NRL team has allowed other codes to establish footprint. If somebody doesn't appreciate impact of bears disappearing, then they shouldn't be here talking about expansion here
Like I said no one is working to engage them so you are right in that not all people will just adopt another club but if clubs actually worked to enagage the area (and NSWRl did its job in getting kids playing RL) then there is no reason that if I grow up being a Rl fan in Chatswood I wont follow one of the six clubs within travelling distance of my home.

So tell me how have other codes established this footprint without having a club called north sydney playing in the region? You've just totally contradicted your argument for why there needs to be an NRL club there lol.

Its a very bizzare Sydney centric mentality that I have to have a club in my suburb area to want to follow the sport at a profesional level! Didn't South Sydney say they had more fans in western sydney than in their traditional area? Whys that?

Jim Rockford

Its a very bizzare Sydney centric mentality that I have to have a club in my suburb area to want to follow the sport at a profesional level! Didn't South Sydney say they had more fans in western sydney than in their traditional area? Whys that?
This stupidity again. You do realise there's a LOT more people in Western Sydney than in the Redfern area. I live in the Hills but am a Souths supporter. Why? Because they appeal to me and so I choose to support them. I really can't tell if you are mentally deficient or if your hatred of Sydney clouds your judgement. A bit of both I suspect.

mongoose

This stupidity again. You do realise there's a LOT more people in Western Sydney than in the Redfern area. I live in the Hills but am a Souths supporter. Why? Because they appeal to me and so I choose to support them. I really can't tell if you are mentally deficient or if your hatred of Sydney clouds your judgement. A bit of both I suspect.
i think you just proved his point lol

It’s interesting how dolphins keep getting talked up due to their non cash assets. Yet we havent heard what sort of profit they are making, what liabilities they are carrying or what cash reserves the club has. Firehawks on the other hand have come out and stated they have $25million cash in the bank to invest in the nrl club. That for me is a much bigger advantage than owning a supermarket.

MugaB

It’s interesting how dolphins keep getting talked up due to their non cash assets. Yet we havent heard what sort of profit they are making, what liabilities they are carrying or what cash reserves the club has. Firehawks on the other hand have come out and stated they have $25million cash in the bank to invest in the nrl club. That for me is a much bigger advantage than owning a supermarket.
True, but i reckon they blow all on whatever this new age fan app they are promoting as their point of difference...
None of this really matters, dolphins will get the license, purely coz they aren't encroaching on bronx or titans as much as the other 2 bids will

Melbourne has had very little participation growth despite having the best team of the past 24 years. RL is invisible here at grassroots level. What you need is $$$ and passionate volunteers. Top down approach only does not work.
You are absolutely correct. If we got the game played in schools across Melbourne then we would see more kids playing the game. The game just isn't accessible to them so they don't play it.

True, but i reckon they blow all on whatever this new age fan app they are promoting as their point of difference...
None of this really matters, dolphins will get the license, purely coz they aren't encroaching on bronx or titans as much as the other 2 bids will
All we've heard for years is how there is a massive untapped RL supporter base across Brisbane who wont follow the Broncos. Are any of the potential clubs really going to dilute the Broncos base?

Africans are made for RL. They are tall, strong and fast, with quick hands. AFL has been targeting African kids in Melbourne the past decade and the number of players has gone from zero to 20 in quick time. Are there any Africans in NRL lower grades? Do many live in Sydney or Brisbane?
Our game has no vision. It's run by imbeciles who live in the past.

Like I said no one is working to engage them so you are right in that not all people will just adopt another club but if clubs actually worked to enagage the area (and NSWRl did its job in getting kids playing RL) then there is no reason that if I grow up being a Rl fan in Chatswood I wont follow one of the six clubs within travelling distance of my home.

So tell me how have other codes established this footprint without having a club called north sydney playing in the region? You've just totally contradicted your argument for why there needs to be an NRL club there lol.

I wish I could give this post 1,000 likes. It sums up everything wrong with the "Sydney first!" mentality of the game's administration. AwFuL is winning the battle because they make the game accessible to kids all around Australia.

McDonald's is popular amongst kids because their stores and everywhere and the company targets them in their advertising campaigns. Our game is run by hillbillies who care more about appeasing ageing senile drunks who could barely write their own name when they were 18.

Our game has no vision. It's run by imbeciles who live in the past.
Its amazing how many big kids you see running around an Australian rules field struggling to keep up with the little fast kids. Id be going round asking them to try RL!!

In all honesty if I ran the NRL Id be pumping massive money into getting every school in Australia playing touch footy as a curriculum sport and making sure the kids know they are playing a version of RL. Then Id have a massively beefed up state wide secondary school scholarship programs and finally Id be massively subsidising rego fees so RL was the cheapest game to play for kids. For places lucky enough to have an NRL club Id make it a critieria of having an NRL license that they had to visit X amount of schools a year. Then Id make every registered Jnr RL player a free member of an NRL club of their choosing with a 50% discount for any parent that wanted to get a GA full membership. So much more we COULD be doing with that $500mill a year we are pssing away.

I also wonder if Nines might not be a better more fun version of RL to play for 10-15 year old kids?

Its amazing how many big kids you see running around an Australian rules field struggling to keep up with the little fast kids. Id be going round asking them to try RL!!

In all honesty if I ran the NRL Id be pumping massive money into getting every school in Australia playing touch footy as a curriculum sport and making sure the kids know they are playing a version of RL. Then Id have a massively beefed up state wide secondary school scholarship programs and finally Id be massively subsidising rego fees so RL was the cheapest game to play for kids. For places lucky enough to have an NRL club Id make it a critieria of having an NRL license that they had to visit X amount of schools a year. Then Id make every registered Jnr RL player a free member of an NRL club of their choosing with a 50% discount for any parent that wanted to get a GA full membership. So much more we COULD be doing with that $500mill a year we are pssing away.
This would see a boom in kids playing the game and attending matches as lifelong fans when they become adults. The NSWRL-CENTRIC ARLC will not even consider it because they only care about proposals that provide instant benefits to their 9 clubs.

It does feel like we are in a catch 22 at moment, the clubs keep spending more than they are earning and asking for more money, The NRL keeps spending to bail them out, the state leagues struggle to build new interest with the limited finances they have and the NRL is so worried by what AFL is doing in NSW and Qlnd its totally lost any hope of taking the fight to AFL in their territory. I used to think it was because the game was compromised with News ltd ownership and lack of funds but we've shed both of them problems and still 8 years on seem to be going nowhere fast.

Its not just a NSW problem though, its a game mentality problem, led by NSW people.

It does feel like we are in a catch 22 at moment, the clubs keep spending more than they are earning and asking for more money, The NRL keeps spending to bail them out, the state leagues struggle to build new interest with the limited finances they have and the NRL is so worried by what AFL is doing in NSW and Qlnd its totally lost any hope of taking the fight to AFL in their territory. I used to think it was because the game was compromised with News ltd ownership and lack of funds but we've shed both of them problems and still 8 years on seem to be going nowhere fast.

Its not just a NSW problem though, its a game mentality problem, led by NSW people.
I suspect that Sydneysiders view the NSWRL as their version of the British Empire. The Brits invaded smaller civilisations with their superior resources (guns and ships). The NSWRL used the money their clubs collected from pokies to bankrupt smaller competitions that didn't have these resources. The Brits planted the Union Jack on conquered territories and ruled over them, treating the locals like second class people. The NSWRL put a token club in conquered cities so they were burdened with the humiliation of being forced to play in the Sydney competition, where they're never treated like equals and are just there to be exploited for their resources (players and money from TV rights).

Any discussion about expansion is always through the lens of how the Sydney clubs can benefit. Never do the powers that be consider what's best for the expansion sides. Quayle and Arthurson set the Crushers, Cowboys, Reds and Warriors up to fail by making them cover travel and accommodation costs of Sydney clubs. Their idiocy created the Super League War and set the game back 30 years, but the Sydney fans blame everything on Murdoch, Broncos and every other Super League club except for the three from Sydney that jumped ship.

This new Brisbane team is only getting a spot in the NRL because the NSWRL's arrogance and bastardry towards Queensland RL has allowed AwFuL to make massive inroads in the state, and it's now having a detrimental effect on the Broncos and Origin, which are the two money-making machines that allow us to keep up with AwFuL to some degree.

Cairns is actually a hell of a lot closer to port moresby than darwin is, plus they've both been in talks to form a joint bid, sharing 6 home games each at PM and Cairns, plus a lion mascot, (Pride) representing the PNG team, fits with the current Hunters of the QRL
Putting a team in Cairns is just plain stupid. There's not enough people or businesses in the North Queensland area to support two teams.

Pippen94

I wish I could give this post 1,000 likes. It sums up everything wrong with the "Sydney first!" mentality of the game's administration. AwFuL is winning the battle because they make the game accessible to kids all around Australia.

McDonald's is popular amongst kids because their stores and everywhere and the company targets them in their advertising campaigns. Our game is run by hillbillies who care more about appeasing ageing senile drunks who could barely write their own name when they were 18.

No, it's just somebody who lives in an afl state who won't listen to locals tell him about divisions & rivalries in Sydney. Its no coincidence that the north shore sees highest membership in certain codes & participation for soccer.

Sydney is no different to any other city. All cities have rivalries within their boundaries. The only difference is Adelaide, Brisbane and Perth were forced to get over their petty rivalries, whereas Melbourne and Sydney were the big entitled brats who said "rules for thee, not for me".

AwFuL were smart enough to create a centralised administration that ruled over the clubs so they could expand and placate Melbourne's numerous clubs at the same time, and even had the guts to send a couple of its clubs interstate. A few clubs like Richmond wanted to relocate to Brisbane before 1987. NSWRL and its clubs did none of these things and the game as a whole is paying the price.