Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

its not over

mrpwnd

Eels are torn between hope and despair

Ben Horne

August 23, 2010 - 6:54PM

AAP
Parramatta players are torn between regret over what might have been and hope that they can still miraculously make the NRL finals and send captain Nathan Cayless out a winner.
After losing 20-18 to Wests Tigers on Sunday, the Eels face a seemingly impossible battle to force their way into the top eight - needing to win their remaining two matches convincingly and rely on a stack of other results to go their way.
Nathan Hindmarsh admitted he was shocked as he came to grips with the reality his best mate Cayless will most likely finish his 14-year career without a finals farewell.
However, star centre Timana Tahu did his best to remain upbeat and refused to concede defeat on the Eels' season.
"I think that's the only way we can think. We're definitely motivated, you have to put pride in your jerseys," Tahu said.
"I believe we can, I think these next two weeks are going to be very enjoyable not only for us but for Nathan and I think if you enjoy your football more you tend to play better.
"I think a lot of us will be preparing as if we're going into the finals."
The state of play for Parramatta is they sit on 24 points and have a worrying for and against of minus 56.
Mathematically, they're a chance if other results dictate that the cut off for the playoffs goes no higher than 28 points.
However, with calculators and crystal balls now needed, Hindmarsh said the Eels must face facts about what went wrong.
It's a sobering end for the blue and golds after their heroics last year, when they got on an 11th-hour run and powered all the way into the grand final.
"Yeah, it was kind of like, all over. I think a bit of it is still sinking in to be honest with you," Hindmarsh told AAP.
"Definitely there's (some regret). Look at the two Sharkies games (two losses to lowly Cronulla) and a loss to Newcastle up at Newcastle, they're the ones that stand out most for me.
"If we won those games, we would be sitting a lot better than what we are now, but you can't win everything.
"It's going to be a long shot but we're going to go out there and try and win the last two remaining.
"We've still got Nathan Cayless' game at the end of the season against the Warriors, the last home game, so we're looking to send him out on a positive note.
"Fourteen seasons in the top grade you'd like to send him out a winner.
"You look back at (Brisbane great) Shane Webcke, what he did when he retired. He won a grand final and that's what everyone wants to do I suppose."
Tahu was also lamenting what might have been after the heartbreaking loss to the Tigers at Parramatta Stadium.
The dual international said some of the team's performances at home this season have been "embarrassing".
"There were games that we should have won during the year. I think probably a lot of our home games that we lost were embarrassing to us, but that's just footy," he said.
"NRL is a strong competition, it's not like Super League ... every team is hard."

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-new...-between-hope-and-despair-20100823-13idc.html
Looks like your not alone Hindy.
Less talking and more walking if Parra want to grab for something.

B-Tron 3000

We don't deserve to be in the 8, and to think we can still make depending on other results is wrong. We have been disappointing all year and can't give this comp a shake with the way we have been playing. TBH I said it after the Roosters game that our season was over.

First, who cares about what we "deserve" this year?!
We were the best team by far in 2001, minor prems again on 2005, made the prelim final 7 times since 98, the gf twice, and been knocked out by the salary cap cheats 3 times. There's been a few teams in that period that have won the comp that have "deserved" it less than our club.

Second, are you watching the same comp as me? All anyone has to do is catch the Dragons on an off day or pressure them into another choke. The rest are all beatable.

Djay

We were the best team by far in 2001, minor prems again on 2005, made the prelim final 7 times since 98, the gf twice, and been knocked out by the salary cap cheats 3 times. There's been a few teams in that period that have won the comp that have "deserved" it less than our club.

Second, are you watching the same comp as me? All anyone has to do is catch the Dragons on an off day or pressure them into another choke. The rest are all beatable.
Uhhh, I have no idea what you are talking about in the second point.

And name a team besides the cheating scum the storm who haven't deserved to win it?

After losing tonight the Roosters could also be stranded on 28 points if they lose to Manly (home) and the Cowboys (away).

DeanPay98

Ok we need birsbane to win by 10 points and parra to beat south by 14 points or more....That mean when we play NZ we need to beat them by 18..POSSIBLE where theres light theres hope
C'mon boys

I'm having a 2003 flashback. The only difference was in that year we beat Cronulla ;-)

mrpwnd

Disgrace losing to cronulla twice.
Disgrace losing to an out-of-form knights side, couldn't even be bothered throwing the ball to Uate's side where they leak all their points.
Disgrace losing to a developing Broncos team that was 50% juniors.

Seriously wtf sort of pisshole are Parra in this year?

salvy71

No if parra win last 2 and warriors loose against brisbane we finsih equal on points...
they are 60 points better...if we win by 18 and they loose by 12 thats a 30 point swing... so if we beat them in the last rnd by 15+ we would be better for and against-I am very good at maths dingbat..
NEVER GIVE UP IM NOT ABOUT TOO

I think canberra will win both games and the Warriors will beat the Broncos this week ....in any case i doubt Parra will win both games unfortunately ...

Big bad Benny back, Burty to kick em from the sidlelines, Tahu all the better for the run last week, Mortimer back to give the side an injection of youth.

I pity South Sydney.

Eels by over 36 points :cool:

Parraren

F%ck yeah who gives a rats if we deserve to be in the 8.

I'm more confident this year than last that we can win it from 8th.

Never give up.

mrpwnd

What do you guys reckon the odds are that had Storm never cheated we might actually have a premiership or 2 under our belt now.

Springs

If the Storm had never cheated all the comps from 2006-2009 would be completely different altogether. The odds would most likely be the same as they are now.

What do you guys reckon the odds are that had Storm never cheated we might actually have a premiership or 2 under our belt now.

What's the point in even discussing this, besides pumping one's own tyres up.
It's history. Done and dusted. Pointless.

pantherz9103

Canberra look the goods to make the 8 and I expect they'll smash the Cowboys (lol at ppl seriously thinking they could lose) and their momentum may be too much for the Broncos even at Suncorp. Raiders could be this year's Eels of 2009 with a great run of form late in the year.

The Eels need the Broncos to beat the Warriors without Lockyer and then the Eels need to win themselves by a big enough score against Souths and then beat Warriors by a decent score to trump the Warriors in F/A. That's their best hope imo. A long shot though. I fully expect the Warriors to beat the Broncos without Lockyer anyway.

Tony Bongo

F%ck yeah who gives a rats if we deserve to be in the 8.

I'm more confident this year than last that we can win it from 8th.

Never give up.

The only team that doesn't deserve to be in the eight is The Storm. If we make it we deserve it.

parra pete

Canberra look the goods to make the 8 and I expect they'll smash the Cowboys (lol at ppl seriously thinking they could lose) and their momentum may be too much for the Broncos even at Suncorp. Raiders could be this year's Eels of 2009 with a great run of form late in the year.

The Eels need the Broncos to beat the Warriors without Lockyer and then the Eels need to win themselves by a big enough score against Souths and then beat Warriors by a decent score to trump the Warriors in F/A. That's their best hope imo. A long shot though. I fully expect the Warriors to beat the Broncos without Lockyer anyway.

I expect the Raiders will win last two matches, and then put St George to the sword in the first semi final. The Raiders have plenty of momentum. Hope so anyway...

parra pete

I spoke to David Furner last night. He gave me the old 'We're taking it one game at a time' routine, but I got the feeling the Raiders are fairly confident of getting into the eight.
Seems so much like the Eels of last year it is not funny.

I spoke to David Furner last night. He gave me the old 'We're taking it one game at a time' routine, but I got the feeling the Raiders are fairly confident of getting into the eight.
Seems so much like the Eels of last year it is not funny.

You're right.
It's not funny.

B-Tron 3000

Brisbane to lose to Raiders in round 26 at Suncorp?

Not if Locky is playing.

Locky plays - Broncos for sure. Raiders don't have anyone that can hold a candle to him, and in a big game in front of his home crowd, he will get them home.

I've faith that Warriors will win this weekend and then Broncos. Our games are the ones we need to worry about.

mrpwnd

What's the point in even discussing this, besides pumping one's own tyres up.
It's history. Done and dusted. Pointless.

Was meant as a rhetorical question.
Fair enough you didn't see it, i'll be sure to add the (rhetorical question) or (sarcasm) notes next time.