Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jacob Host

What you are forgetting OT in the context of that game against melb..up 6 - 0, good attacking raid on a broken line to potentially go up to 10-12 Nil after 15 mins against Melb and had them panicking......wrong option at wrong time and reeked of the easy taking a short cut option. We paid for it big time and lost all momentum after then giving penalties away in defence. No ot was not an isolated moment that cost us game as there were many others but it was a big momentum shifter
Against the Dogs...did not matter. They all could have chipped and chased for themselves if they wanted.

The 2 penalties if you are talking about for running a player off the ball..we deserved them as we seem to do it worse than other teams by making it look so slow and obvious. Time your run in a straight line back to the catcher you cant go wrong.

What you say about halves finding our edge forwards at the right spot or channel as the term they now use..100% correct
Host didn't get it right but at least we tried something rather than die with the ball and then a hit up or find Lawrie which are hardly effective options in the context of the game let alone the season.
You could see how the game went on with piss poor tactics especially 5th tackle options (what happens when coach's way of playing is being adhered too) which is what we would have ended up with without Host trying to be inventive.
The more I practise the better I get (accept for coach's plans of course) so I think we should cut Host some slack on this occasion.

True_Believer

Host is an out and out edge back rower who can play long minutes. Probably not the making the most of his skill set playing off the bench. He's not really an impact player. Luciano is probably better off being your 3rd forward on the bench as he provides a point of difference and is effective in short bursts.

WIth JDB not available, Host needs to start at right edge and play most of the game with Friz, moving to lock. Then you can have K Sims and Lawrie as your bench props, Luc as your 3rd forward and Robson the utility.

It really should be as simple as that but our genius coaches can't see it.

What do you consider long minutes? I don't think he's an 80 minute player - at least not yet. I think he needs time on the bench during the game. Not start from the bench, but spend maybe 10 minutes either side of half time off the field.

BLM01

Host didn't get it right but at least we tried something rather than die with the ball and then a hit up or find Lawrie which are hardly effective options in the context of the game let alone the season.
You could see how the game went on with piss poor tactics especially 5th tackle options (what happens when coach's way of playing is being adhered too) which is what we would have ended up with without Host trying to be inventive.
The more I practise the better I get (accept for coach's plans of course) so I think we should cut Host some slack on this occasion.
Yeh as I said I am not blaming Host for the loss and I hope most are not.
But if I was coach he is not in my starting 13 as I see better options and I would of had a quiet word to him in post match reviews. In saying that I cant even get our own 1st grade to follow instructions and set up for practised plays so my coaching credentials are worse.
Inventive that is being nice..not his role at that point at time (more a brain explosion) but get your point re our normal game plan which I agree.
The bigger picture should of been his focus (through the hands, setting up for next play with their defence in tatters, repeat set) not the low percentage play but i will leave it there as a learning curve..as you say.

giboz71

What do you consider long minutes? I don't think he's an 80 minute player - at least not yet. I think he needs time on the bench during the game. Not start from the bench, but spend maybe 10 minutes either side of half time off the field.

He might not be able to play the whole 80, but he's wasted playing 15 min spurts on the bench.

Luc is more suited for that type of role as he's not fit enough to play long minutes, but he can do some damage when he knows he just as to go hard for 15-20mins before being subbed off.

The whole thing is moot regardless because Mary has no idea how use his bench effectively.

slippery5

Yeh as I said I am not blaming Host for the loss and I hope most are not.
But if I was coach he is not in my starting 13 as I see better options and I would of had a quiet word to him in post match reviews. In saying that I cant even get our own 1st grade to follow instructions and set up for practised plays so my coaching credentials are worse.
Inventive that is being nice..not his role at that point at time (more a brain explosion) but get your point re our normal game plan which I agree.
The bigger picture should of been his focus (through the hands, setting up for next play with their defence in tatters, repeat set) not the low percentage play but i will leave it there as a learning curve..as you say.
If I was the coach Host, Duffty, Lats, Aitken, Lafai,& Lawrie would not be in my 17.
Problem is, apart from possibly Timm, not sure who I would replace them with.

redandwhite4evr

If I was the coach Host, Duffty, Lats, Aitken, Lafai,& Lawrie would not be in my 17.
Problem is, apart from possibly Timm, not sure who I would replace them with.

Largely agree although I would add Allgood to the scrapheap list and I think Dufty is salvageable as long as he accepts a future away from full back and in the halves. Luc continues to frustrate me as well and just doesn't seem to be living up to his undoubted potential- but I want to persevere with him for a while longer. Host brings to mind Jack Gibson's immortal line- "looks like Tarzan, plays like Jane".

Well obviously these 2 are going nowhere
Young Host was very honest in his appraisal and made more sense than almost every other player interviewed thus far.
I hope he achieves his goals for 2020 as he is great young bloke and has ability if used correctly I hope you read this Flanno:grimacing:

Dragonsamy

Well obviously these 2 are going nowhere
Young Host was very honest in his appraisal and made more sense than almost every other player interviewed thus far.
I hope he achieves his goals for 2020 as he is great young bloke and has ability if used correctly I hope you read this Flanno:grimacing:

Agree with You OT re Host he is a nice young guy hopefully he steps up and cements a regular spot. He love playing for the red v.
More than most

Agree with You OT re Host he is a nice young guy hopefully he steps up and cements a regular spot. He love playing for the red v.
More than most
Yes he is articulate and passionate.
I played footy with 1 of his uncles many many years ago for the mighty Peakhurst West Primary School and all the Host family were very dedicated St George supporters.
Some years ago now I took the grandson to the footy and noticed a very young Jacob Host playing in the lower grades and thought geez I know that surname and would you believe it as I was getting up going to the food outlet I ran into his uncle who I had not seen for over 45 years and I recognised him straight away and had a chat about young Jacob.
They are a very nice family and extremely close nit and no doubt Jacob wants to be a dragon more than anything else in football.
He like many others can make it and it is just a question can they do it despite Mc Fookknuckle and that is where I sincerely hope that if Flanno is part of the structure that he will make that very key point of difference.

BLM01

Yes he is articulate and passionate.
I played footy with 1 of his uncles many many years ago for the mighty Peakhurst West Primary School and all the Host family were very dedicated St George supporters.
Some years ago now I took the grandson to the footy and noticed a very young Jacob Host playing in the lower grades and thought geez I know that surname and would you believe it as I was getting up going to the food outlet I ran into his uncle who I had not seen for over 45 years and I recognised him straight away and had a chat about young Jacob.
They are a very nice family and extremely close nit and no doubt Jacob wants to be a dragon more than anything else in football.
He like many others can make it and it is just a question can they do it despite Mc Fookknuckle and that is where I sincerely hope that if Flanno is part of the structure that he will make that very key point of difference.
You didnt happen to play your first senior type football for the Peaky Hawks......by the off chance

denis preston

He is exhibit A in identifying what type of coaching we have in developing players.For the sake of his career he ( and others ) need to get away from the 3 coaches .They are all stagnating under these 3 amigos. We need Flanagan to be given everything we can give him to put structures & development in place.
When this is all over ( the McGregor years ) will be known as the left hand ( coaching ) and the right hand ( pathways program ) not talking to each other.
Geez the bloody board shit me !

BLM01

He is exhibit A in identifying what type of coaching we have in developing players.For the sake of his career he ( and others ) need to get away from the 3 coaches .They are all stagnating under these 3 amigos. We need Flanagan to be given everything we can give him to put structures & development in place.
When this is all over ( the McGregor years ) will be known as the left hand ( coaching ) and the right hand ( pathways program ) not talking to each other.
Geez the bloody board shit me !

I am not convinced all our football operation department and people directly involved with the NRL squad of 30 are the best professional people available either. That includes the HPU, training and skills people.
But that all comes to Mary and his team he chooses of merry men.
All the top coaches in the NRL go and learn from some of the best team outfits and coaching techniques in the sporting world current and past, prior to pre-season starting. Yeh it might be an excuse to spend some club money and a holiday / work junket but those good coaches over here dont put the cue in the rack and keep believing what works well 1 week is the way to go for life.
Well what does Mary do?...probably just put his feet up for a few weeks with the family (deserves a holiday) and say to himself I can coach, I will try and mix things up a little, make it look like change...that will work.. and / or at times phone a life long NSWRL rugby league mate like Daley, Freddy, GUS who he calls mentors and someone he trusts over a steak and beer or 2 and say..what you reckon about this idea, then run with that.

You didnt happen to play your first senior type football for the Peaky Hawks......by the off chance
Before Michael Kidd got the Hawks going you had Narwee or Riverwood United both in the Canterbury Comp yuk poo so the brother and I went to Oatley / Renown
The other option would have been Penshurst RSL but green wasn’t my colour

BLM01

Before Michael Kidd got the Hawks going you had Narwee or Riverwood United both in the Canterbury Comp yuk poo so the brother and I went to Oatley / Renown
The other option would have been Penshurst RSL but green wasn’t my colour

Red yellow black were not mine either and I ended up at Scot's for a few years in the early 90's playing with a mate helping them out in A grade some days with 12 and getting trounced 50 - 0 + some games

Loved Cahill Park as a ground to play on.
Bexley Oval (The fenced cricket oval) on Stoney Creek Rd was another
But KJO on knock out comp day in the 60's was just the best experience and Scarborough Park (any of the numerous fields) was the pits.

BLM01

Loved Cahill Park as a ground to play on.
Bexley Oval (The fenced cricket oval) on Stoney Creek Rd was another
But KJO on knock out comp day in the 60's was just the best experience and Scarborough Park (any of the numerous fields) was the pits.
Memories...all we have
Good to still be a part of Old Boys day
And still playing..I will be going up to the Gold Coast in March for the Australian Over 35's Masters
Great fun, piss up, comraderie and a little bit of footy...except for the serious ones