Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

James Roberts - NRLs best centre

user_nat

This is exactly how I expected Roberts to go. Brisbane never use that side of the field. Unless he wants to do a Hodges and become a second dummy half, he ain't getting the ball.

Exsilium

This is exactly how I expected Roberts to go. Brisbane never use that side of the field. Unless he wants to do a Hodges and become a second dummy half, he ain't getting the ball.

He would have been noticed and spoken about every week playing for the Titans. Instead his talent is just blended in with the others up there in Brisbane. Maybe it's a good thing. Will keep him on the straight and narrow.

POPEYE

Of course, but if Shaun was a lousy half, he could move to fullback with his ball skills (ability to catch kicked balls) and dominate from there like an All Time Great. Can you imagine his sidestep return on long kicks. Or his ability to run through traffic when collecting grubbers.

Instead, he seeks to improve as a half.

I'm not sure how many halves running around are better than Shaun Johnson - I certainly like him and feel confident when he is playing for the Kiwis against Australia. But the Kiwis pack is not the same as the Warriors pack. That should not be a total assessment on Shaun's ability. Put him behind the Cows pack with Hannant, Scott, Tamau and Taumololo, and give him Morgan in support. See what gives. Put him behind the current Doggies pack - they'd be premiership favourites. Heck, chuck him in a pale Blue NSW jumper and see what the Blues muster as a record over the past 5 years.

Because Shaun Johnson in the halves, is a massive reason why the Kiwis are the #1 football team in rugby league. His brilliance rewards the dominant work of Taumololo, Bromwich, Eastwood, Tapau, Proctor and Matulino.

I appreciate you offering me the use of your eyes but no offence . . . I'll stick with mine

The reason the Kiwis are #1 is entirely down to the forwards, put Shaun in the Cowboys and they don't make the 8

mackdadday

The broncos are winning and even if he is drawing players away from his inside and outside man then he is doing his job. When you have players like Milf, Boyd, Oates, Gillet, Nikorima and Hunt then Roberts just being on the field more has it's impact, if not directly with him scoring. Don't listen to the fools, James!

POPEYE

The broncos are winning and even if he is drawing players away from his inside and outside man then he is doing his job. When you have players like Milf, Boyd, Oates, Gillet, Nikorima and Hunt then Roberts just being on the field more has it's impact, if not directly with him scoring. Don't listen to the fools, James!

Boyd congratulated James for drawing 2 defenders while he cantered through the hole provided, although methinks Roberts would prefer not to be a foil and will soon burr up if the favour is not reciprocated

Kiwi

Lol @ idiots expecting all players to be at their best at a new club. Hell even Issac Luke has struggle the first 2 rounds at a new club. Players need time, Milford took 6 or 7 weeks before he made many eat humble pie, some are still choking on it unable to swallow it like they do their boyfriends loads.

ANTiLAG

I appreciate you offering me the use of your eyes but no offence . . . I'll stick with mine

The reason the Kiwis are #1 is entirely down to the forwards, put Shaun in the Cowboys and they don't make the 8

Not true at all. Kiwi forwards have been dominant over their Australian counterparts for a long long time now and they lost plenty before SJ came along and lifted them to number 1.

SJ rewards the dominant Kiwi forwards with his play by ultimately setting up tries for the inferior Kiwi backs to score.

Sure he has help when playing for the Kiwis. Much better help than he receives at the Warriors. But he is playing against say an Australian international team.

I appreciate you offering your crystal ball gazing with regards the Cows, but no offence... I'll stick with mine. (Don't you feel just cheesey, if not inconsistent, writing this stuff?) But yeah - your argument boils down that attacking halves aren't needed to win rep games, SJ type halves (incl younger Benji Marshall) are not needed for the Kiwis to beat Australia because the Australian backs will just let in tries if their forwards lose the ruck battle.

So selectors can go full Mitchell Pearce type in halfback selection. Better yet, put another second rower in there. Seriously.

And the golden boot went to SJ because... there were too many Kiwi forwards to give it to, didn't want to upset two of Eastwood, Tapau or Taumololo? So just give it to the half? Why not Foran?

SJ rewards the dominant forwards and can make inferior backs look better. It is what good halves do.

Liddell

Lol @ idiots expecting all players to be at their best at a new club. Hell even Issac Luke has struggle the first 2 rounds at a new club. Players need time, Milford took 6 or 7 weeks before he made many eat humble pie, some are still choking on it unable to swallow it like they do their boyfriends loads.

That escalated quickly

Not true at all. Kiwi forwards have been dominant over their Australian counterparts for a long long time now and they lost plenty before SJ came along and lifted them to number 1.

SJ rewards the dominant Kiwi forwards with his play by ultimately setting up tries for the inferior Kiwi backs to score.

Sure he has help when playing for the Kiwis. Much better help than he receives at the Warriors. But he is playing against say an Australian international team.

I appreciate you offering your crystal ball gazing with regards the Cows, but no offence... I'll stick with mine. (Don't you feel just cheesey, if not inconsistent, writing this stuff?) But yeah - your argument boils down that attacking halves aren't needed to win rep games, SJ type halves (incl younger Benji Marshall) are not needed for the Kiwis to beat Australia because the Australian backs will just let in tries if their forwards lose the ruck battle.

So selectors can go full Mitchell Pearce type in halfback selection. Better yet, put another second rower in there. Seriously.

And the golden boot went to SJ because... there were too many Kiwi forwards to give it to, didn't want to upset two of Eastwood, Tapau or Taumololo? So just give it to the half? Why not Foran?

SJ rewards the dominant forwards and can make inferior backs look better. It is what good halves do.

Bromwich and Taumalolo have destroyed Austtalia in recent years and yeah that's just opened up holes for SJ to expose. He doesn't have that at the Warriors.

Fu*k look at the Kiwis forward pack, we still can't find a place for the likes of JWH, SST and Manu Ma'u.

Btw it's been long old friend, how've you been? Haven't seen you for a couple of years...

Maximus

Milford was playing in a different position. It's a completely different situation, so the comparison isn't valid. Luke has always looked like shit behind a forward pack that isn't dominating, so he is no surprise.

The best centre on the planet should actually be making an appearance during the game. Nobody expects him to be at his best, but he could have had a snooze in the in goal for the full 80 minutes and would have done just as much. The fact you are defending this is just pathetic.

Kiwi

Milford was playing in a different position. It's a completely different situation, so the comparison isn't valid. Luke has always looked like shit behind a forward pack that isn't dominating, so he is no surprise.

The best centre on the planet should actually be making an appearance during the game. Nobody expects him to be at his best, but he could have had a snooze in the in goal for the full 80 minutes and would have done just as much. The fact you are defending this is just pathetic.

I am prepared to give him time. Much in the same way the Warriors fans would be prepared to give Luke and RTS time, Broncos gave Blair time and a rocket when needed. I am not worried about Roberts, his confidence, timing etc will come, and if not Bennett will replace him. You are always going to have players who adapt very well to a new team, structures, style of play etc, and others who take longer, not everyone is the same.

mackdadday

By the end of this season Milford will be the best player in the world and Roberts will be reaping the benefits.

ANTiLAG

Bromwich and Taumalolo have destroyed Austtalia in recent years and yeah that's just opened up holes for SJ to expose. He doesn't have that at the Warriors.

Fu*k look at the Kiwis forward pack, we still can't find a place for the likes of JWH, SST and Manu Ma'u.

Btw it's been long old friend, how've you been? Haven't seen you for a couple of years...

Cheers mate. Thanks for your nice wishes.

I think JWH was previously a bit overrated for rep level. But when Sam Kassiano cannot get in the running to make the team, you're running alright.

The Kiwi forwards have had it over Australia for long time now. (Are they decreasing the interchange for international footy as well - because this could well hurt NZ as against Bird, Parker and Myles type forwards). But SJ is still required to cash in on the dominance. I'm sure all Kiwi fans remember being frustrated when the Kiwi boys won the ruck, and the forward running meters, but still lost the game due to a poor kicking game, and no creativity in the halves (often out of club position players in the halves and even at fullback).

To be able to convert that dominance into winning games means SJ is a good half. He makes the Kiwi centres and wingers, score against their superior opposition. It is still no mean feat, and a centre playing in the halves, as Popeye claims, just could not do that.

Snappy

. The fact you are defending this is just pathetic.

lol

What's pathetic, is that people are having a massive sook about what some journalist wrote about a local player in a local newspaper.

No one on here is claiming Roberts is the best centre.

As for current form, he's doing a job in a quality team. His time to shine will come.