Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne - Make him an Eel for Life

spiderdan

It would suck to be the 17th best player in the game.
wouldn't really be a top 16 as such as it would be a top 16 as determined by availability and worth to each club. Reducing the actual cap for the rest of the squad would then allow a shit club without a marquee player a better chance of luring one. So if a club like manly were throwing everything at dce to keep him, a player like foran would be able to get the same benefit from another club without being restricted by the cap. The idea would need some fine tuning to work but I think the nrl should look at it.

Given it took around 7-8 years to start considering an on field challenge system to replace the current video ref I think we may start hearing a bit of chatter around an uncapped player allowance around 2032.

Maroubra Eel

Do you reckon a player like SBW would be one of the 16?
Or would clubs place most value on halves, hookers, and fullbacks?

spiderdan

Do you reckon a player like SBW would be one of the 16?
Or would clubs place most value on halves, hookers, and fullbacks?
fo shizzle I reckon he would be but I guess it would depend on how they determine the players worth. Chooks reckon that sbw's influence extended beyond his individual worth on the field as he helped the coach bring a culture change at bondi last year. There'd be plenty of clubs that would see the worth in having a player like that. There'd also be a max amount most clubs would be willing to spend on that uncapped player.

Dunno mate. I don't think there's a clear top 16. There's maybe a dozen certainties and then maybe another 20 blokes fighting for the final four spots.

I haven't given it a lot of thought due to being hungover from my two beers yesterday.

Chipmunk

as much as i love hayne, he wouldnt even make a college football side. Their are some absolute freaks over there who do not even get drafted - and would make Hayne look average in athleticism and have played the game since they were 5 years of age, hell in the next years college season there are some of the fastest guys in the US that will barely make a college side.

The depth is scary

NFL is the most technical game in the world that involves so many plays and intricacies. If you havent played it for years then give up, you are no chance.

Yes, Ben Graham and Sav Rocca played american football for many many years before they got the opportunity to turn Pro...

I think there are definite positions where you would need to have played the game from a very young age (QB and Wide Receiver being the obvious), but there are plenty of positions a newby from a different code could excel at quite quickly with some training. Jesse Williams is a prime example...

Punt kickers and Place kickers are the obvious options for outside players. I could see Pat Richards being a sensation in NFL