Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Jarryd Hayne sexual assault trials

lockyno1

Will be appealed anyway, so who knows but considering there's no not guilty plea not sure how he gets much of a discount from the maximum

The_Frog

Will be appealed anyway, so who knows but considering there's no not guilty plea not sure how he gets much of a discount from the maximum
You get the maximum if convicted of the maximum possible level of offending. This seems nowhere near that. The fact he was invited and the nature of the online interaction that occurred beforehand may well be seen as mitigating circumstances.

myrrh ken

I get that but showing some genuine remorse would save him more jail time than talking up some 500k contract that got ruined by him assaulting someone.

Thank you QC. As your learned QC friends have pointed out above, he may have painted himself in a corner in that regard in relation to his plea and such equivocations of remorse may come across insincere.

betcats

Thank you QC. As your learned QC friends have pointed out above, he may have painted himself in a corner in that regard in relation to his plea and such equivocations of remorse may come across insincere.

Ok so doubling down on showing no remorse will make it better? That is the stupidest comment of the week, well done.

myrrh ken

Ok so doubling down on showing no remorse will make it better? That is the stupidest comment of the week, well done.

Who is to say he is not expressing remorse as well? But they are not going to count for much given he pleaded NG.

It looks like you don't have much knowledge on the subject mate

AlwaysGreen

You get the maximum if convicted of the maximum possible level of offending. This seems nowhere near that. The fact he was invited and the nature of the online interaction that occurred beforehand may well be seen as mitigating circumstances.
The fact he went Hannibal Lecter on her would suggest your mitigating circumstances is the usual The Flog horseshit.

I was surprised by the verdict, but there’s a process to be followed.

I wouldn’t think Hh would change the verdict on the basis of an outburst.

Could be construed as lack of remorse.

blaza88z

Well done on keeping tabs mate but I'm not. My point still stands, expressions of remorse aren't going to count for much now.

I know you're a smug panthers fan but I don't get the continual need for abuse.

Just put him on ignore mate, he's got some sort of anger management issue. I don't mind a debate every now and then but straight up abuse should never be tolerated.

betcats

Just put him on ignore mate, he's got some sort of anger management issue. I don't mind a debate every now and then but straight up abuse should never be tolerated.

Still sooking cause I called you a name a month ago? fmd how pathetic can you get???