Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jason Taylor Sacked!!

Suomi

Just how many beers did JT put away before the stoush??? He's conveniently sidestepped this one. Surely if you'd only had a couple, it'd form the backbone of your defence!!!

sidestepped :?

he made sure everyone knew on the Footy Show and has signed statements from bar staff and security saying he was not intoxicated. he presented this evidence to Souths too

he'd been drinking water most of the time

http://www.nrl.com/newsviews/latest...lor-at-a-loss-to-explain-sacking/default.aspx

Taylor at a loss to explain sacking

By Steve Jancetic AAP Thu, 17 Sep 2009 23:42:37

Sacked South Sydney coach Jason Taylor says he can't understand why he was shown the door by the Rabbitohs, claiming he did nothing to breach his contract with the NRL club.

Taylor's contract was torn up on Thursday as a result of his involvement in an incident during an end of season drinking session at a Sydney hotel 11 days ago where he was punched by departing backrower David Fa'alogo.

"I haven't broken the code, I haven't beached my contract," a dejected Taylor said on the Nine Network's The Footy Show.

"We presented a document to these guys (the Rabbitohs board) yesterday with evidence as to why there are no breaches in my contract.

"I can't understand why today I'm without a job.

"I'm gutted - the effort and the time that's gone into the job by myself over the last few years, the relationship that I've built up with the playing group ... to find out today that that's all over and that I don't get a chance to make the most of the work that's gone on the last few years is absolutely devastating."

Taylor confirmed reports he would pursue legal action in a bid to clear his name over what he believed was an unjust course of action taken by the club.

The game's third leading pointscorer of all time said he had attended similar functions in past seasons at the Rabbitohs, and that he had documents verifying his claim that he wasn't intoxicated on the night in question.

"I have three written signed statements from two bar staff and security - completely independent people - who say that Jason Taylor wasn't intoxicated, that he was drinking responsibly," he said.

"I've been at these celebrations that we've had since I've been at the club and I was at these celebrations when I was at Parramatta.

"I have no doubt that if I don't get punched that I've still got a job, because if I don't get punched, the day and my involvement there is exactly the same as every one of those day that we've had (in the past)."

Asked if regretted anything he had done on the night, Taylor said:

"Right now I prefer that I didn't go but I look back on the reasons why I did go and why wouldn't I go?

"I've been unfairly treated in my opinion, extremely unfairly treated.

"It won't end here as far as I'm concerned."

Taylor also revealed he had received messages of support from some of the Rabbitohs players.

He has been replaced by coaching consultant John Lang, who was appointed head coach for the next two season.

Penance

Name: John Lang

Position: Head Coach

Coaching record:
323 NRL Games (184 wins, 134 losses, five draws, 57% winning percentage);
Head Coach Penrith Panthers 2002-06 - One NRL Premiership (2003), One NRL Minor Premiership (2003), Two NRL Finals Series

Head Coach Cronulla Sharks 1994-2001 - One Grand Final appearance (1997), One Minor Premiership (1999), Six ARL/Super League/NRL Finals Series

Head Coach Easts Tigers (Brisbane) 1981-84; 1990-93 - Two premierships

Three Coach of the Year Awards - Dally M 1995, Dally M 1999, Channel 9 Coach of the Year 2003

Playing record:

Easts Tigers (Brisbane) 1969-79 – Three premierships;
Eastern Suburbs Roosters 1980;
19 games for Queensland 1972-80;
One game for New Souths Wales 1980;
Eight Tests for Australia 1973-80.

Achievements:
Awarded the Australian Sports Medal for contribution to Australia’s international standing in Rugby League; Took Penrith Panthers from wooden spooners to premiers in two seasons;
Five total premierships with Brisbane Easts (three as a player and two as a Coach) are the only premierships the Club has won in the past 50 years.

Coached Australia in 1997 Super League

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,26088474-2722,00.html

It was Jason Taylor's second breach as sacked Souths coach vows to clear his name

Brent Read | September 18, 2009
Article from: The Australian

JASON Taylor vowed yesterday to clear his name but the job just became more difficult after it emerged the South Sydney coach - sacked over his involvement in a fight with one of his players - was given a verbal warning and fined last year for a previous breach of the club's code of conduct.

In announcing the Rabbitohs' decision to dismiss Taylor, chief executive Shane Richardson confirmed a previous incident was a factor in the club's decision.

It is believed the incident Richardson was referring to occurred following last year's game against the Warriors in Auckland.

Taylor is believed to have breached curfew and turned up at a recovery session the next morning still feeling the effects of the night before. He was fined and given a verbal reprimand by Richardson.

"We have had previous situations - a previous situation in particular," Richardson said.

"The reality is that we have assessed this on this occasion. I really don't want to go (into) the previous one at this stage."

Taylor was unavailable for comment last night while his manager, Wayne Beavis, said he was unaware of any previous incident involving his client.

"I have never received a breach notice in relation to any incident," Beavis said.

Told it was a verbal warning, Beavis sarcastically replied: "It must have been serious. I have never seen a copy of any breach notice."

Taylor, who was given the opportunity to stand down and take a financial settlement, was said to be shattered by the club's decision to terminate his contract after three years at the helm.

The 38-year-old, who guided the club to the finals in 2007, has vowed to take legal action to clear his name and steadfastly denied he had done anything wrong despite CCTV footage suggesting he had engaged in a playful fight with forward David Fa'alogo that escalated into a punch-up.

"I was never told I should not attend and no time restrictions were ever put on my attendance," Taylor said in a statement released through his legal team.

"I drank responsibly at Forrester's (Hotel). I was not intoxicated. Along with players (including David Fa'alogo), I engaged in pretend, light-weight, kung-fu play.

"David was a willing participant in the play encounter that directly preceded the incident. My actions at Forrester's and since have not brought the club into disrepute and I did not breach my contract of employment or any code of conduct.

"I deeply regret the impact that this has brought to my family, the players, the members and the club. I believe that I have been treated unfairly by the club. I will be taking the matter further and doing all I can to defend my honour and clear my good name."

The threat of legal action appears to hold no fears for the Rabbitohs. Chairman Nick Pappas, a lawyer, said: "It's something we thought might happen as a result of this process.

"Any difficult process sometimes leads to dispute and sometimes court action. That's something that isn't a surprise to anyone, but the board and club generally is confident of its position and believes it has acted not only in the best interests of the club and its stakeholders, but of members and fans, and the code generally.

"We gave him every opportunity to explain his actions on the day in question. He did that. All of that was conducted in a good spirit."

Richardson said the club had been left with little choice to part ways with Taylor given events this season.

The game has been dragged through the mud following a series of incidents involving players. This time it involved a coach.

"I'll tell you why he was sacked. It was simple, because we viewed the tape, viewed the evidence, reviewed everything about it and came to the conclusion that his conduct was not in the best interests of South Sydney and was not the sort of conduct for a head coach of South Sydney," Richardson said.

"This is a very serious situation and we have looked at all the information. At the end of the day the decision has been made that the conduct was not becoming of the head coach of South Sydney."

Fa'alogo, who was scheduled to appear before the board today, also had his contract torn up over the incident. The New Zealand international is due to join English side Huddersfield next season but lost nearly two months of his contract, believed to be worth about $40,000, with yesterday's decision.

Taylor, however, was the biggest casualty of some sky-larking that went wrong.

"This is a difficult day for me with Jason Taylor," Richardson said. "The reality is that everybody knows the club situation and what we require from the players' code of conduct and staff in general.

"Do I hold the coach to a higher state than the players? Yeah I do. Do I hold myself to a higher state than the players? Yeah I do.

"We're the leaders in the club. We have got to set the standards. We will all make mistakes from time to time. The reality is we don't feel the standards were met on this occasion."

Kiki

i really think this has more to do with the fact Souths have been under performing than anything else. its just convenient he got into some trouble.

There's gotta be something more, based on what JT said with Vossy tonight, there doesn't seem to be a legit reason for his sacking.

bluesbreaker

Yeah, clear your good name. throwing cup fulls of piss over unsuspecting patrons at the cricket must be run of the mill in JT land. What a clown, Fa'alogo should've punched his f**king lights out.

mickdo

There's gotta be something more, based on what JT said with Vossy tonight, there doesn't seem to be a legit reason for his sacking.

Well what would you expect him to say? There's two sides to every story, and they are never the same.

Ridders

The whole intoxicated issue is quite interesting as Taylor is adamant that he wasn't and says he even has proof. Isn't Taylor's supposed intoxication the main reason for his sacking. Legal action here we come.

Sugar

More than one alcohol related incident with JT ( Im sure the details will be aired when the courtroom fires up)
And some members of the board have been waiting for the chance to relieve Taylor of his position

Ziggy the God

Taylor hit an employee, and that is a sackable offence in every workplace in the land.

In any business worth its salt, if someone is a high achiever, you are given slack if you slip up, as long as it isn't serious.

If they have been underperforming, and they slip up, then it is not brushed off. Keep slipping up, and you will find that these people are no longer at their desks.

It happens every day in business, how come some people don't understand this simple principle?

Good luck getting a decent gig Jason, they will be lining up due to your record and that they will most likely be hiring a potential litigator down the track.

Broncodr01d

Taylor was always in it for the short term when Richo added good mate John Lang to the staff. The writing was on the wall and they only needed an excuse to fire JT. Apparently he gave them one.

No legal action will overturn the decision, good game JT, move on.

Broncodr01d

p.s. Two sides to every story, the version JT presented is missing some facts IMO. Sounds too "cut and dried".

MattJ

I found it a bit hypocritical that JT was complaining about losing the team he had put togethor and the players he had helped attract next year he wouldnt be able to work with, the plans he had in place and what he was working towards etc.....
The same thing happened to Bomber McCrae when he coached in 06. Players like Asotasi, Vagana, Kidwell, Widders were all added to the roster for the 07 season while Bomber was in charge of the squad and then JT took it from him before he got the chance to work with some better players then he previously had at his disposal.
I feel for JT, its a real sour way for it all to end and with a bit of common sense and control, could have all been avoided, but he put himself in this position, hopefully he keeps a career in the game and has better fortunes elsewhere.

if you wanted to make a career out of coaching you would not go to souths - avg life expectancy of a coach at that joint would be 2 yrs max and never to be seen again

I like to refer to the Souffs coaching job as the poisoned chalice of rugby league.

Lang's head will be rolled within 12 months mark my words.

Souths pretend to be the peoples club, but you'll never meet a bigger bunch of bogan arseholes and petty thugs.