Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

John Cartwright

Fingerbang

So over the last few months we have seen the likes of Griffin, Henry, Taylor, Matt Parish all available for either head or assistant coaching gigs.... And we get Cartwright... Yeah I'm not happy ..
I don't think I have ever seen a time when you are happy....:sarcasm:

Blood Shot Eyes

You are entitled to your opinion...but when you say 'thats saying something ' all it says to me is that your opinion is one of the most useless and misinformed things I've read on this forum (which is actually saying something!)

Brownie, with zero coaching experience, consistently took the team to the finals in all but 2 of his years as coach. He brought through multitudes of talented youngsters and played an exciting brand of football. He is credited by Bennett himself for getting the team ready for the success of 09-10. And now he is in the ESL grand final against all odds, after years of pulling low lying teams into the 8 and topping the ladder with St Helens.

To compare him to Price, who had years of lower grade and assistant coaching experience and still failed to produce anything even close to.what Brown did, is laughable.

Firstly thanks for the history lesson and coaching stats...to comment that Bennett gave credit to Brown for getting his team ready is laughable....wasn't Bennett the same bloke that said Price was going to do a great job with the team and the side was in good hands, (even more laughable)......anyway thanks for all the useless ESL stats that mean very little when compered to the NRL....nothings changed for me and my opinion but that's what this forums all about...time to move on

I rather have some one far removed from the club that means no Brown he had his time and didn't get the job done.

Giving Mary the job is even more laughable just another yes man for Doust to con into his vision for failure.

Blood Shot Eyes

I rather have some one far removed from the club that means no Brown he had his time and didn't get the job done.

Giving Mary the job is even more laughable just another yes man for Doust to con into his vision for failure.

I agree mate.....also NO Brown for me either....

BennyV

Can't compare roster then and now

A roster that Brown built. He brought through a number of our best players in those years. Meanwhile Price made ridiculous choices like Stanley at 5/8.

And if people didnt notice, Brown can add Grand Final winner to his resume, despite an insane injury toll and being huge outsiders.

But yeah, Price and Mary are heaps better coaches :roll:

BennyV

Firstly thanks for the history lesson and coaching stats...to comment that Bennett gave credit to Brown for getting his team ready is laughable....wasn't Bennett the same bloke that said Price was going to do a great job with the team and the side was in good hands, (even more laughable)......anyway thanks for all the useless ESL stats that mean very little when compered to the NRL....nothings changed for me and my opinion but that's what this forums all about...time to move on

Yeah, ESL stats mean nothing, thats why McGuire and Robinson have been such monumental failures in NRL after their stints in ESL...

#teammary #pricewasasupercoach

Blood Shot Eyes

Yeah, ESL stats mean nothing, thats why McGuire and Robinson have been such monumental failures in NRL after their stints in ESL...

#teammary #pricewasasupercoach

A Drovers Dog could have been successful with the playing rosters those two had at their disposal.....but anyway thanks for pointing it out.....and just for the record I happen to be a Nathan Brown fan (as a player) its just that I don't want another old boys club appointee coaching my footy team...end of discussion.

Get2dachopper!

A Drovers Dog could have been successful with the playing rosters those two had at their disposal.....but anyway thanks for pointing it out.....and just for the record I happen to be a Nathan Brown fan (as a player) its just that I don't want another old boys club appointee coaching my footy team...end of discussion.

It's going to be old boys either way. So would you rather brown or Mary?

BennyV

Mate, I'm not talking about boys clubs appointments. I'm responding to the absurd claim that Price is anywhere near being the coach that Brown is!

Blood Shot Eyes

It's going to be old boys either way. So would you rather brown or Mary?

You raise a good point mate...but I guess ones been tried over seasons... the others about to ....we will just have to wait and see......If Brown returned in some coaching capacity and was successful then great I would be the first to swallow humble pie....but at this point he didn't rate that highly with me when he was in charge.

TruSaint

You raise a good point mate...but I guess ones been tried over seasons... the others about to ....we will just have to wait and see......If Brown returned in some coaching capacity and was successful then great I would be the first to swallow humble pie....but at this point he didn't rate that highly with me when he was in charge.

Blood, put in all perspective champ.

Totally agree that with the talent he had Nathan could and should have done better. We did have a fine squad. Problem is he was coaching player mates. Way too young.

Credit lies in the fact he packed his bags, headed over to England, and now has brought some much needed silverware to the Saints.

His teams effort today to win the title as massive underdogs was terrific. Albeit against 12 men for nearly 78 minutes.

As you say correctly, time will tell. ;-)

Blood Shot Eyes

Blood, put in all perspective champ.

Totally agree that with the talent he had Nathan could and should have done better. We did have a fine squad. Problem is he was coaching player mates. Way too young.

Credit lies in the fact he packed his bags, headed over to England, and now has brought some much needed silverware to the Saints.

His teams effort today to win the title as massive underdogs was terrific. Albeit against 12 men for nearly 78 minutes.

As you say correctly, time will tell. ;-)

I guess in the meantime mate lets hope some stability, sensible recruiting,development and common sense prevails and once again put us back up there where we belong....

The difference between Brown then and Brown now is EXPERIENCE.

But for Doust, don't let experience get in the way of signing an internal rookie coach.

Likewise for Bottle and JBoy, don't let incompetence get in the way of a passionate defence of Doust.

You know it makes sense.

Straight Shooter

Slippery Morris

WHat was impressive for Brown is he won the GF with no halves. His star halfback (Luke Walsh who killed it in the ESL) was out and Hohai got knocked out in the 2nd minute. He had 2 forwards ( I think one was Willie Manu remember him) playing in the halves. I know they played against 12 ment but having no halves doesn't help and it showed in their attack. Goes to show that Brown even when the chips are down can get his teams up not whinge that he did not have the roster or an aging roster etc. He makes it work regardless. He gets the best our of all his players.

Highland Saint

WHat was impressive for Brown is he won the GF with no halves. His star halfback (Luke Walsh who killed it in the ESL) was out and Hohai got knocked out in the 2nd minute. He had 2 forwards ( I think one was Willie Manu remember him) playing in the halves. I know they played against 12 ment but having no halves doesn't help and it showed in their attack. Goes to show that Brown even when the chips are down can get his teams up not whinge that he did not have the roster or an aging roster etc. He makes it work regardless. He gets the best our of all his players.

Respect

bottle

The difference between Brown then and Brown now is EXPERIENCE.

But for Doust, don't let experience get in the way of signing an internal rookie coach.

Likewise for Bottle and JBoy, don't let incompetence get in the way of a passionate defence of Doust.

You know it makes sense.

Straight Shooter

Nice to see your Jimmies so rustled Shit Shooter.
Go have a cry in the corner now.

dungay dragon

Has this appointment been confirmed by the Dragons ?
Just wondering what the relationship between He and Ryan James might be as he was mooted to being on his way to the Dragons as well
James ,,,big strong tough and has youth on his side
Ticks a lot of the boxes we are desperately in need of ...