Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Judiciary Charges 2019

Fangs

Basically if you are Billy Slater (Or you know him) then its 500 points to get suspended. That is of course subject to a hearing, an impartial hearing.

Merely playing against Billy Slater won't grant you a thing, you need to 'show cause' as Todd would say.

azza29

Yeah i've long proposed a tiered system.
The points system right now treats each game the same, which is fine, except the MRC and Judiciary dont consistently apply that same standard... players routinely seem to get lighter charges or succeed in getting off with no penalty because it's rep footy time or finals time when you know if that incident occurred in week 2, there is no chance they'd be free to play

The best answer here is to simply accept that not all games are made equal.
Hudson Young is going to get to miss a trial game and claim that as one of his weeks... which is equally absurd

It should be something like
50 points for a trial game
100 points for regular season
150 points for Week 1-3 finals
200 points for GF/SOO/International games

Now you can just charge and rule on players without fear of rubbing them out of a major game for a minor incident. If someone does something that warrants a charge of more than 200 points, well they deserve to miss that big game
As long as penalties are tiered in the same way this would work a treat.

Unless I’m loosing my mind I seem to recall other players sticking their legs out in a Trip motion this season and not been suspended

The MRC is so inconsistent in its citings it leads people to think it is a kangaroo court
You aren't losing your mind, you just don't understand how the match review process works.

Other players were cited for tripping throughout the season and weren't suspended because the base level offence for tripping is a fine.

As has been explained ad nauseum in the last several pages of this thread, JWH had a multitude of priors which rendered him ineligible for a fine. Hence, he was suspended.

Wily Ole Dog

You aren't losing your mind, you just don't understand how the match review process works.

Other players were cited for tripping throughout the season and weren't suspended because the base level offence for tripping is a fine.

As has been explained ad nauseum in the last several pages of this thread, JWH had a multitude of priors which rendered him ineligible for a fine. Hence, he was suspended.

Timmah, I fully understand how it works and why JWH was suspended due to the points

I haven’t but has anyone seen the photo doing the rounds of Wade Graham tripping DCE last weekend?

Timmah, I fully understand how it works and why JWH was suspended due to the points

I haven’t but has anyone seen the photo doing the rounds of Wade Graham tripping DCE last weekend?
So you're concerned about a photo (not a video) of somebody doing something you haven't seen, that wasn't charged?

:thumbsup:

Mate, it was a question

Don’t over think it:hugging:
No overthinking needed.
  • You claimed inconsistency (which I don't necessarily disagree with)
  • To back up your claim you used an example of something you haven't seen and the MRC didn't charge
:shrug:♂️

Wily Ole Dog

No overthinking needed.
  • You claimed inconsistency (which I don't necessarily disagree with)
  • To back up your claim you used an example of something you haven't seen and the MRC didn't charge
:shrug:♂️

No, I didn’t claim it as inconsistent with Graham as an example

My post was 2 seperate paragraphs.

Anyway, has anyone seen it. I was told about it but it could be false

If it isn’t false it may have some validity in future discussions

yobbo84

You can't use trials to count for suspensions any more. It's why George Burgess missed the first 3 games this year.

No, I didn’t claim it as inconsistent with Graham as an example

My post was 2 seperate paragraphs.

Anyway, has anyone seen it. I was told about it but it could be false

If it isn’t false it may have some validity in future discussions
2 separate paragraphs :joy: keep backpedalling.

Chances are if it's not easily found, it's false.

Danish

If that’s a grade 1 tripping for Parker, then JWH can feel pretty hard done by for his grade 1.

Has anyone ever got anything but grade 1 for any tripping offence? Seems like no matter what the circumstance it’s always graded really low

Galeforce

I only shake my head at the MRC decisions........

charge 2 souths players for reacting to grub play by Manly for an unwarranted attack on players head , yet NO charge on the Manly player .

Not much difference for me , in grabbing hair and pushing head down or just grabbing someone head and shoving down.in the game , both plays resulted in penalties , yet not even a fine for manly player, yet 2 souths players fined for reacting to grub act.

Galeforce

^So then, that "crusher" that Cook faked is confirmed as a fake out. Pathetic.

No fake , did you notice the redness on Cooks neck ? Not much in it , and I have no issue with no MRC charge , however does not mean that Cook was faking , you wanker