Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Judiciary

HenryTatana

I’m sure Vlandys and Annelsley will make something up on the run albeit after Penrith have assessed the situation before playing their cards.

Dragon David

Here is a snippet of what Latrell Mitchell put on Instagram -

Latrell Mitchell produced a cheeky social media post calling for Burgess to get off after Taylan May was given a delayed ban for assault, with Peter V’landys saying he did not want the fans to suffer.

“Starting to wonder where we find a consistent ground,” Mitchell wrote on Instagram.

“NRL surely the fans would love to see big Tom Burgess play finals footy!

“Don’t let the fans suffer right?”

So yes, where is the consistency? Souths fans should be able to see Tom Burgess play in the remaining games if Souths make it to the Grand Final, just like Taylan May was afforded and any suspension deferred until the start of next year.

Here is a snippet of what Latrell Mitchell put on Instagram -

Latrell Mitchell produced a cheeky social media post calling for Burgess to get off after Taylan May was given a delayed ban for assault, with Peter V’landys saying he did not want the fans to suffer.

“Starting to wonder where we find a consistent ground,” Mitchell wrote on Instagram.

“NRL surely the fans would love to see big Tom Burgess play finals footy!

“Don’t let the fans suffer right?”

So yes, where is the consistency? Souths fans should be able to see Tom Burgess play in the remaining games if Souths make it to the Grand Final, just like Taylan May was afforded and any suspension deferred until the start of next year.
I with you on this D.D. ,Tom has finally shown a bit of real fire and that in itself kept the Rorters pack at bay .

Plus of course those chooks simply cannot stand having their own crap fired back at them , as you can be sure as pounds to peanuts that their coach will have a royal whinge about it - as he did , the poor sod took some umbrage apparently , whatever the hell that is ? 🤔

However I believe- and I most sincerely hope that Gus - ‘ the human football ‘ Gould does not mind me taking a leaf out of his book , but in my view young Tommy should damn well be congratulated !

anyone help me out and define rule 41C? 🤔
fed dinkum when was this rule added
It would of been handy for us at times

View attachment 67013
There is certainly a big difference with the options . Out for 3 - 4 weeks , or your club pays $4000 , simply unbelievable .

How is receiving a fine for dangerous play stamping out the actual act itself ? Got me beat ? 🤔

AyiosYiorgos

Eels star takes ban over fine after grand final charge​

Parramatta Eels back-rower Ryan Matterson has bucked a recent trend by opting to serve a three-match suspension rather than pay a $4,000 fine for a crusher tackle made in the grand final.

According to PerthNow, Matterson's decision means he will now miss the opening games of the season, despite not knowing who the Eels will be facing in those games until the 2023 draw is unveiled.

It seems a strange decision given the design of the current penalty system and the availability of a payable fine.

The call comes after what was Matterson's third charge at the judiciary, handed out following a crusher tackle made on Clive Churchill medalist Dylan Edwards in the first half of the Eels' 28-12 grand final defeat. It was the only charge to emerge from the contest.

Matterson was otherwise superb in the contest despite a lacklustre performance from his team overall.

Despite being one again moved to the bench at the last minute for Marata Niukore, Matterson hit the ground running with 146 attacking metres from a team-high 20 runs, 44 tackles and three offloads in 62 minutes.

Though he finished the year in superb form, he will be unable to write off his ban in the World Cup after failing to be selected for Mal Meninga's 24-man squad.

If they want to get rid of crusher tackles then just call held as soon as the attacking player turns his back into the defender

I’m sick and tired of players turning their back into a defender and the dropping their body weight to get leverage to keep pumping their legs to gain yardage

The defender had no real way of stopping it turning into a crusher as he can’t get to the attacking players legs to tackle him

Becomes worse with players like “The Cheese” who have an even lower centre of gravity.

So calling held would be an easy fix and stop the argument of is is it or isn’t worse than somebody else’s tackle.

thebigredv

Taane Milne will potentially be free to play round one next year [rnd 3 at latest] despite his '6 week'finals high tackle which was the worst we saw all year. Using loopholes to do so. Wasn't even picked for world cup but low and behold the bunny will be free to play.

Contrasted next to some of the stints our blokes have copped for feather taps it just turns you off the game even more.

I'll come back and watch when there is a level playing field again...

Billeus

Taane Milne will potentially be free to play round one next year [rnd 3 at latest] despite his '6 week'finals high tackle which was the worst we saw all year. Using loopholes to do so. Wasn't even picked for world cup but low and behold the bunny will be free to play.

Contrasted next to some of the stints our blokes have copped for feather taps it just turns you off the game even more.

Yes, hard to remain turned on by inconsistent decisions that appear consistently biased towards some. Hoping but not confident there's good news to come with Francis Molo's suspension, pretty sure he has two games remaining on it, and represented Samoa in June. Shouldn't need Perry Mason to present brilliant case at judiciary, precedent is set.

Kolum Kid

Don't hang by your balls waiting for a level playing field

Dragon David

While he did get the guilty verdict and a 3 game suspension, credit goes to Reece Walsh for being able to drag the judiciary hearing on last night for 4 hours. His collaboration with Maroon mates Carrigan and Fifita to provide their account of the incident didn't help his cause though.

Just like how he plays his game - tough and fast, Walsh played it that way last night but not too fast to try and convince that his rant was not directed at the Ref. They must have gone over the video for ages.

Anyway, Walsh misses out on SOO 3 and Brisbane won't have him for 2 games - a little bit of Karma for trying to poach Hunt I would say.

since77

While he did get the guilty verdict and a 3 game suspension, credit goes to Reece Walsh for being able to drag the judiciary hearing on last night for 4 hours. His collaboration with Maroon mates Carrigan and Fifita to provide their account of the incident didn't help his cause though.

Just like how he plays his game - tough and fast, Walsh played it that way last night but not too fast to try and convince that his rant was not directed at the Ref. They must have gone over the video for ages.

Anyway, Walsh misses out on SOO 3 and Brisbane won't have him for 2 games - a little bit of Karma for trying to poach Hunt I would say.

Walsh is fast becoming one of my most disliked players. Carries on like an idiot after just half a season of good form. Looking forward to seeing a big front rower iron the mouthy clown out.

Undoubtedly he is a very gifted player but the little sod believes that he is the good lord’s gift to rugby league. Sick of his antics , if only he could be more modest about his ability and behave accordingly .

Walters truly needs to take him aside and read the riot act to him before it’s too late .