Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

Draginzaaar

Understand completely, but the club can't simply cancel his contract without paying it out, which would stuff up our salary cap. If / when there is a Guilty verdict, the club can cancel the contract legally.
Players can be sacked for off field digressions and not paid out.

The Word

Players can be sacked for off field digressions and not paid out.
Yes but when there is an ongoing court matter they will almost always wait for a guilty verdict before doing so. The reason being, if a not guilty verdict is handed down and they have already torn up the contract, they are then liable for the contract without having the player. Big hole in salary cap.

BLM01

100% the drama will follow Junior every step of the way from now on, guilty or innocent. The squad and coaches have a huge job on their hands and don't need this distraction.

I would say most players will have a view on what has allegedly transpired and will feel pretty disgusted about it.

Why risk team unity. He's going to be stood down anyway by the looks of it.

Provide him with a personal trainer, and a psychologist to make sure he's ok. Letting him train with the squad on a daily basis is an unnecessary risk and a hard no from me.
Agree to disagree with that. We will see what the club does.
I am happy with which ever way they go or stand on this

Yes but when there is an ongoing court matter they will almost always wait for a guilty verdict before doing so. The reason being, if a not guilty verdict is handed down and they have already torn up the contract, they are then liable for the contract without having the player. Big hole in salary cap.
That’s true enough in general but it also depends on his contract with club and if it addresses these issues.

If the club wants rid of him now, they should be negotiating with the nrl about the salary cap position if that eventuates.

The allegations are very serious, I doubt the NRL want him in the game at the moment and some common ground can be reached.

Bennet was very keen on him coming to the Dolphins, but he stayed loyal.

He’s still entitled to the presumption of innocence and the process will be what it will be.

I was reading he was main belligerent, don’t know if that’s true. And he allegedly stated “ get the Merkin” when old mate was lying on the ground after jumping 3 metres probably fearing he was going to be bashed to death by three blokes, including one with a hammer.

Nasty f**ked up business.

Dragon David

Based on the reports and eye witness accounts of the incident, I just cannot see a good outcome for Junior. More information will come to light no doubt in the new year and the NRL will have had time to look over the details and make a decision on whether or not to stand Junior down. I'm feel sure that the club has already looked at his contract to see where the club and player stand.

This is another drama that the club can do without. The players in our squads and particularly all of the youngsters need to be spoken to by the Club's Chairman - Andrew Lancaster and the Coaches to ensure that all can put this matter aside and concentrate on footy - this matter could be a long drawn out case.

Now that Ramsey and Amone are very likely to miss most of 2023, it is ironic that a few months ago, there was a chance that Sloan and Sullivan would leave the club but luckily both look like they are now a shoe in to start the season in first grade. Both look very fit, in fact Sloan looks like he has bulked up nicely. I'm hoping that we have good enough reserves to fill in should either be injured.

It is such a shame that Amone has allegedly been involved in what appears to be a GBH situation. He has developed into a handy 5/8th and improving with every game. What in hell has made him lose his block?

jeffdragon

Based on the reports and eye witness accounts of the incident, I just cannot see a good outcome for Junior. More information will come to light no doubt in the new year and the NRL will have had time to look over the details and make a decision on whether or not to stand Junior down. I'm feel sure that the club has already looked at his contract to see where the club and player stand.

This is another drama that the club can do without. The players in our squads and particularly all of the youngsters need to be spoken to by the Club's Chairman - Andrew Lancaster and the Coaches to ensure that all can put this matter aside and concentrate on footy - this matter could be a long drawn out case.

Now that Ramsey and Amone are very likely to miss most of 2023, it is ironic that a few months ago, there was a chance that Sloan and Sullivan would leave the club but luckily both look like they are now a shoe in to start the season in first grade. Both look very fit, in fact Sloan looks like he has bulked up nicely. I'm hoping that we have good enough reserves to fill in should either be injured.

It is such a shame that Amone has allegedly been involved in what appears to be a GBH situation. He has developed into a handy 5/8th and improving with every game. What in hell has made him lose his block?
Irinic about those two who wanted out.
Let's hope,Sloan and Sully go well.

Dragonslayer

My 2c worth on this.

There's something not adding up here in this incident, like 1+1 isn't equaling 2. There must have been a spark that ignited the whole sorry situation. I guess more will be revealed as time passes. The mysterious 3rd person, who was caught on camera, is a key cog in this. His involvement in the entire incident will be crucial.

As for Junior, firstly, a presumption of innocence must apply, however he can basically kiss his 1st grade NRL career goodbye if proven guilty of the charges as they stand. Unfortunate (so many Un words that can go here), but at the end of the day, we are all responsible for our own actions, premeditated or not. It's hard not to see him doing some time, even as a "1st offender", that will be measured in years. The non-parole period that the Judge imposes will make or break any person sentenced.

As for the Dragons, we need to move quickly as soon as the NRL drops the NFSDP on us and apply for cap relief. Not dilly dally as we did with the DeBelin case. That completely *%^#ed our cap for the time that policy was imposed on him. I hope this also serves as a reminder to those who do like to live their lives more on the edge to rethink their actions, whatever they may be.

As a Club, this incident cannot be blamed on it. This was a single event, outside of the realms of responsibility that all players get education on. As I stated above, he was responsible for his own mind in this situation.

So now Bud should get his chance to cement a 1st grade spot, be that at 6 or 7. I guess, Mybe will be in the mix at least as the 14 now and serve as a replacement back utility and hooker role. He can slot into the 6 role as could Bird if necessity arises. Young Zac Herring could be fast tracked through to KOE Cup where he played a few games this season. He is a very good prospect. I don't know if Braxton Wallace is still with us, as he too spent some time in KOE Cup last season.

Crush

My 2c worth on this.

There's something not adding up here in this incident, like 1+1 isn't equaling 2. There must have been a spark that ignited the whole sorry situation. I guess more will be revealed as time passes. The mysterious 3rd person, who was caught on camera, is a key cog in this. His involvement in the entire incident will be crucial.

As for Junior, firstly, a presumption of innocence must apply, however he can basically kiss his 1st grade NRL career goodbye if proven guilty of the charges as they stand. Unfortunate (so many Un words that can go here), but at the end of the day, we are all responsible for our own actions, premeditated or not. It's hard not to see him doing some time, even as a "1st offender", that will be measured in years. The non-parole period that the Judge imposes will make or break any person sentenced.

As for the Dragons, we need to move quickly as soon as the NRL drops the NFSDP on us and apply for cap relief. Not dilly dally as we did with the DeBelin case. That completely *%^#ed our cap for the time that policy was imposed on him. I hope this also serves as a reminder to those who do like to live their lives more on the edge to rethink their actions, whatever they may be.

As a Club, this incident cannot be blamed on it. This was a single event, outside of the realms of responsibility that all players get education on. As I stated above, he was responsible for his own mind in this situation.

So now Bud should get his chance to cement a 1st grade spot, be that at 6 or 7. I guess, Mybe will be in the mix at least as the 14 now and serve as a replacement back utility and hooker role. He can slot into the 6 role as could Bird if necessity arises. Young Zac Herring could be fast tracked through to KOE Cup where he played a few games this season. He is a very good prospect. I don't know if Braxton Wallace is still with us, as he too spent some time in KOE Cup last season.
Hook will no doubt want to start Mbye in the spine somewhere, a leopard doesn’t change its spots.
Question is, will he play Mbye at fullback or 6?
I think more likely fullback myself.

Dragon David

Hook will no doubt want to start Mbye in the spine somewhere, a leopard doesn’t change its spots.
Question is, will he play Mbye at fullback or 6?
I think more likely fullback myself.
If Hook starts Mbye in the fullback spot, then nothing will be achieved in my opinion and the year will be a dead set waste of time to follow this game. An opportunity will go begging for Sloan if Hook puts Mbye at fullback and I would prefer Mbye as the utility bench guy for the year.

Crush

If Hook starts Mbye in the fullback spot, then nothing will be achieved in my opinion and the year will be a dead set waste of time to follow this game. An opportunity will go begging for Sloan if Hook puts Mbye at fullback and I would prefer Mbye as the utility bench guy for the year.
When Mbye was signed initially, I remember everyone saying he’d just play 14.
I clearly remember Johnny Pett on the red v podcast saying he’ll purely play 14. I thought yeah right, he’ll be slotted into the spine as soon as possible.
Now it’s the off-season so everyone is having amnesia as usual.
Hook will play Mbye as much as possible. He’ll start him in the spine. Maybe not from round 1 if we are lucky but it will happen again soon enough. We can hope all we want for Sloan, Bud, Hunt and Liddle but Mbye will be in there soon enough.
And I’m not basing this assumption off a hunch, I’m basing it off form, it’s what Hook did and will likely do again.

In the spirit of all things Christmas how about we spend good times with our loved one’s, remember those things from yesterday and yesteryear that bring a smile to our faces and perhaps a tear to our eyes and for once be less critical and let Hook off the Hook at least until we see the whites of his eyes?

Far better we all go into the new year with some positivity rather than being miserable gutted bastards for 13 months of the year.

PS: Santa please make sure Hook gets a Specsavers voucher.

Crush

In the spirit of all things Christmas how about we spend good times with our loved one’s, remember those things from yesterday and yesteryear that bring a smile to our faces and perhaps a tear to our eyes and for once be less critical and let Hook off the Hook at least until we see the whites of his eyes?

Far better we all go into the new year with some positivity rather than being miserable gutted bastards for 13 months of the year.

PS: Santa please make sure Hook gets a Specsavers voucher.
Merry Christmas OT, how good is Christmas Eve! I think I enjoy it more than Christmas Day, so good.
Pick up the Hook chats next year but there is no letting him off the hook, we deserve better.
Anyway, have a great night!

Merry Christmas OT, how good is Christmas Eve! I think I enjoy it more than Christmas Day, so good.
Pick up the Hook chats next year but there is no letting him off the hook, we deserve better.
Anyway, have a great night!
Crush my good friend
All the very best of the festive season to you and yours

How perceptive you are as we are having drinks with dear neighbours and all is good with the world.

Nice music, good conversation, lots of nibbles, plenty of chilling and of course plenty of drinks to be had.

Here’s hoping Hook has the epiphany we all hope for and things start as we hope.

Stay safe and let’s have a wine sometime in 2023!

Here’s a pretty informative link about the court appearance below

It was reported the cops didn’t oppose bail which is pretty strange and he drew a good magistrate, His Honour Ong.

This article cites 2 tradies v 3 pro-Amones at the start of it anyway.

His dad remains in Custody.

I’ve heard things about his dad, but I don’t want to be banned from LU over them.

16 hours a day in this for a number of yearscould await him. He’s going to need a friendly cellie.

F7F08FCA-4729-463A-807E-F94445A18A99.jpeg

And instead of his carefully planned footy diet:

EE3FF7B4-0673-40A5-8A5D-3D7F32E34866.jpeg

All for 5 or 10 minutes of madness, the need to be right about something that on the face of it seems pretty low value, not much at stake.

A patch of grass no one else is using for a day or so. At best a couple of people might have to walk around it.

I think Councils own Nature strips anyway. Not even the Amones or interests property to defend, no residential honour at stake.

And some may argue forcefully it’s indigenous land anyway.

Here’s a pretty informative link about the court appearance below

It was reported the cops didn’t oppose bail which is pretty strange and he drew a good magistrate, His Honour Ong.

This article cites 2 tradies v 3 pro-Amones at the start of it anyway.

His dad remains in Custody.

I’ve heard things about his dad, but I don’t want to be banned from LU over them.

16 hours a day in this for a number of yearscould await him. He’s going to need a friendly cellie.

View attachment 68991

And instead of his carefully planned footy diet:

View attachment 68992

All for 5 or 10 minutes of madness, the need to be right about something that on the face of it seems pretty low value, not much at stake.

A patch of grass no one else is using for a day or so. At best a couple of people might have to walk around it.

I think Councils own Nature strips anyway. Not even the Amones or interests property to defend, no residential honour at stake.

And some may argue forcefully it’s indigenous land anyway.
Not really unusual the cops didnt oppose bail. However its not looking good for the young fella

The Word

Not really unusual the cops didnt oppose bail. However its not looking good for the young fella
Agree. As a young sports star he's pretty recognisable. Zero flight risk I'd say, and the bail conditions and $100,000 should keep him pretty grounded. No point wasting the courts time with unnecessary disputes, which they would probably lose anyway.

The Word

That’s true enough in general but it also depends on his contract with club and if it addresses these issues.

If the club wants rid of him now, they should be negotiating with the nrl about the salary cap position if that eventuates.

The allegations are very serious, I doubt the NRL want him in the game at the moment and some common ground can be reached.

Bennet was very keen on him coming to the Dolphins, but he stayed loyal.

He’s still entitled to the presumption of innocence and the process will be what it will be.

I was reading he was main belligerent, don’t know if that’s true. And he allegedly stated “ get the Merkin” when old mate was lying on the ground after jumping 3 metres probably fearing he was going to be bashed to death by three blokes, including one with a hammer.

Nasty f**ked up business.
Understand you're point Silverdale, and there would absolutely be clauses in his contract relating to good behaviour and not bringing the club into disrepute. However if he is pleading not guilty, and the legal process proves that he didn't do it, then the club will be liable for his contract even if they've got rid of him. This is why sports clubs have to wait for the legal process to finish. They can also get sued by the player for all sorts of stupid sh.t relating to psychological damage etc etc if the player is successful in court. Unless he takes an early guilty plea in order to reduce his sentence, in which case the club can cancel. The most they will do is ban him from playing and attending the training ground, which as I've stated before, is the right course of action in a case like this.
Agree 100%, it's a nasty f.cked up business.

Understand you're point Silverdale, and there would absolutely be clauses in his contract relating to good behaviour and not bringing the club into disrepute. However if he is pleading not guilty, and the legal process proves that he didn't do it, then the club will be liable for his contract even if they've got rid of him. This is why sports clubs have to wait for the legal process to finish. They can also get sued by the player for all sorts of stupid sh.t relating to psychological damage etc etc if the player is successful in court. Unless he takes an early guilty plea in order to reduce his sentence, in which case the club can cancel. The most they will do is ban him from playing and attending the training ground, which as I've stated before, is the right course of action in a case like this.
Agree 100%, it's a nasty f.cked up business.
I take your point and I thank you for it.

But if the contract between the club and the player stated that that the club could stand him down on the basis of a Police Charge without any liability or adverse consequence to the club thereafter- if he agreed to that, then he could be cactus.

If the club has missed that or like clause, they might consider it for next time.

Bail concerns:

Just for our intrepid bail commenders, with respect, cops and court prosecutors oppose bail every day and all the time and they don’t care about court time.

They have satisfied themselves Amone is not a risk though. I find that bizarre and extraordinary.

The magistrate is not bound by the defence or cops joint position on bail.

They put a billion conditions on him, but the seriousness of the allegations disturbs me.

They tried to hurt the victim, he could have been easily killed, they were in company, one had a weapon close to lethal capabilities, that disturbs me.

It’s academic now and I am a wokey civil rights advocate so far as law is concerned, but I probably would not have granted him bail.

He could then take the matter up with the Supreme Court.

But not on my watch. Hes flipped out and he’s very dangerous.

People can disagree, I won’t lose any sleep over it.

The Word

I take your point and I thank you for it.

But if the contract between the club and the player stated that that the club could stand him down on the basis of a Police Charge without any liability or adverse consequence to the club thereafter- if he agreed to that, then he could be cactus.

If the club has missed that or like clause, they might consider it for next time.

Bail concerns:

Just for our intrepid bail commenders, with respect, cops and court prosecutors oppose bail all the time and they don’t care about court time.

They have satisfied themselves Amone is not a risk though. I defer to your judgment there.

But the magistrate is not bound by the defence or cops joint position on bail.

They put a billion conditions on him, but the seriousness of the allegations disturbs me.

They tried to hurt the victim, he could have been easily killed, they were in company, one had a weapon close to lethal capabilities, that disturbs me.

It’s academic now and I am a wokey civil rights advocate so far as law is concerned, but I probably would not have granted him bail.

He could then take the matter up with the Supreme Court.

But no on my watch. Hes flipped out and he’s dangerous.

People can disagree, I won’t lose any sleep over it.
No need to thank me Silverdale, happy to debate just for the hell of it.
A clause that allows the club to sack the player simply on the basis of a police charge, even if it turns out to be unfounded, would seem a little unreasonable. If I was a player agent, I don't think I'd be advising my client to sign that, but I'm not an expert so maybe he did?
Regarding bail, there's a lot about this case that disturbs me as well. However for a first offence, with his high profile, I would have been amazed if he'd been refused bail, particularly given the time it takes for the legal process to play out.