Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

redv13

I think it’s time that he toddles off back to the tigers forum. His regurgitation of the same shit everyday is becoming very annoying. Time to give google a rest and leave us alone to suffer

Given the seriousness of the consequences of him flipping out, I think the club has a duty of care and a responsibility to players, officials and others to keep him away from any and all club activity at least until the matter is resolved.

If he’s gone to town on tradie ( with a mate) as alleged, who is to say he won’t snap again? Are there any guarantees? No.

If he does lose his stuff again and belts someone at the club, that victim is going to argue the club knew he was a loose cannon and let him back into the joint.

A nasty civil court battle ensues, more cash down the gurgler that could have been prevented.

It’s a work related thing, not a personal thing and I’m sorry, but he’s very dangerous

Hes before the court but hasnt been found guilty of anything. There is nothing adverse on public record in his past that suggests hes a loose cannon. He was granted bail so I suggest his criminal history is pretty clean. He might be a distraction to the team possibly, but a risk of having a snap again? The club would of run a shrink over him just to make sure hes ok. Its a long bow to call a bloke very dangerous based on such little evidence. Just curious are you a legal or court clerk or just interested in legal matters?

redandwhite4evr

The NRL's policies and lack of willingness to take responsibility for players it stands down is the cause of the current situation. Just imagine if:
1. Included in the stand-down policy is a clause demanding the player hand himself over to the NRL for care and fitness training until the case is settled in the courts.
2. Included in the stand-down policy is a clause stating that the club is to be credited for the salary cap expended on the player and the clubs' salary cap increased by the same to allow a replacement player to be compensated.
3. Also in the stand-down policy is a clause that says that the NRL will fully compensate the player if he is not found guilty and that such a player will be a free agent in such circumstances.
May be player welfare problems with 1. Some players may have suicidal ideation with their lives played out in court and thru the media. Isolating a player from the familiarity of their club and team mates could tip them over the edge.

However agree in principle with 2. The justice system is stuffed and with the delays, Amone could be waiting 12 months or more for his day in court. The current compensation system seems to require some sort of estimate be done for his absences from the game but that is impossible to predict as we found with De Belin. All it takes is for a jury to be invalidated somehow and the whole process has to start over. We need compensation now- maybe bring back Gareth Widdop?

SnowDragon

Fair dinkum. Why would the NRL give a blanket insurance policy to take care of any player that gets charged with a serious crime? As if any organisation would have a policy that equates to 'go ahead and break the law fellas, we've got your back'. There's almost certainly very good legal reasons why they can't do so anyway.

It's a very safe bet that Amone has behaved like an utter idiot. He's incredibly lucky to be paid ridiculous money in the first place and, now he's been charged with several serious criminal offences, to be stood down on full pay. He's shown total disrespect for the club and the NRL. He owes the club and the NRL, not the other way around. He has a contract with the club so it's in our interest, unfortunately, to keep him match fit pending a legal decision but it's he that has put the club and the NRL in this position, not vice-a-versa.

Let's wait for the court case.
why would the NRL take the insurance? Because they imposed the no-fault stand down! Simple right?

also, they are larger and control the game finances, so they can better investigate the legalities, standardise the approach, insure if needed etc.

also, in this case players don’t get annoyed at their club for any imposed fines, terminations etc and then run to rival clubs.

KogarahWarrior

Watched the 9 video, looked up the bloke's name who he attacked. Has gang connections and also got done for possession of meth... given what else has been said here, maybe the reason for said confrontation went outside it being over a nature strip. Of course, don't want to assume anything but just putting it out there. Regardless of if that has any bearing, it doesn't justify Junior's actions in any way

randomdragon

Watched the 9 video, looked up the bloke's name who he attacked. Has gang connections and also got done for possession of meth... given what else has been said here, maybe the reason for said confrontation went outside it being over a nature strip. Of course, don't want to assume anything but just putting it out there. Regardless of if that has any bearing, it doesn't justify Junior's actions in any way
Do you have the link the the video?

SnowDragon

well thought thru comment mate.

although it doesn’t look good, there is so much we don’t know. Hence we wait in some frustration…

justadragon

I get the fact that the guy may have had dubious connections, but the case should be taken in isolation to that, he was at work when confronted and assaulted. You are right in saying that no matter what the inference, Amone, Amone's Father and who ever else was involved should have taken a step back and considered the actions they may take. Obviously the wrong one was chosen.

Dragon David

I get the fact that the guy may have had dubious connections, but the case should be taken in isolation to that, he was at work when confronted and assaulted. You are right in saying that no matter what the inference, Amone, Amone's Father and who ever else was involved should have taken a step back and considered the actions they may take. Obviously the wrong one was chosen.
I've said my small piece on this matter. Whatever the final outcome, which I'm sure will take some time, Junior's supposed actions should not go unpunished in some way.

Adolf_Spritzer

I've said my small piece on this matter. Whatever the final outcome, which I'm sure will take some time, Junior's supposed actions should not go unpunished in some way.
The punishment being having to reinvent himself as a footballer. With Sullivan grabbing his opportunity with both hands and cementing himself in the halves for years to come, Junior will have to add a few hammers to his toolbelt to be considered for first grade again. Provided he's not sent to prison that is.