Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

Yes I see your point.

He’s got property damage as a seperate charge, but yes, if the reports are true, his conduct from car to roof seems to be intentional.

He has to go right out of his way to scurry up that ladder and I will add another concern to your point, somewhere along the way he grabbed a hammer….which he then used.

So from ute to roof, both tests of ferocity and intent seem to be further aggravated.

The injury is more of a consequential result of the alleged crime.

Having smashed the car windscreen into bits, (which is juvenile and especially stupid on any construction) I agree that he had ample opportunity to compose himself and pull up.

By that time, roofie couldn’t just drive way as the car could not be driven. That’s probably another offence because he’s impeding roofies free lawful movement.

And he has an accomplice, very scary for roofie and the roof environment itself is extremely dangerous in and of itself.

If he pleads of is found guilty on what has been reported I can’t see a suspended sentence or slap in the wrist.
He had to deliberately go and find a weapon not just any weapon but a weapon that would inflict severe damage, leave his property, cross the road, enter another persons property and then climb a ladder and then set of in pursuit with intent to cause harm.

None of the above is spontaneous it is all very deliberate.

If he isn't locked up then there is something inherently wrong with our legal system.

He had to deliberately go and find a weapon not just any weapon but a weapon that would inflict severe damage, leave his property, cross the road, enter another persons property and then climb a ladder and then set of in pursuit with intent to cause harm.

If he isn't locked up then there is something inherently wrong with our legal system.
Yes, there seems to be a series of acts and steps he took during the commission of the offences.

I’m on the record expressing my surprise he even got bail.

My problem with bail is that it is alleged he attacked and harmed a person who was otherwise a stranger and wholly unknown to him.

That person otherwise had nothing to do with him. Just Joe citizen like us.

And your club has him training with the boys like nothing is wrong.

That is bewildering. I can’t do anything about it, but I disagree with it.

From the clubs perspective if you take him out of the picture, he can’t be used as an excuse during what will be a sad and uncomfortable tenure as a training assett.

He can’t be showcased or venerated right now.

Dragon David

There is no excuse in my humble opinion for what is alleged to have occurred throughout this ordeal with the result being property damage and personal injury sustained by the tradie - no matter what was initially said if anything between, I think, Amone Snr and the tradesperson concerning where the tradie's car was parked.

Even if the tradie said to Amone Snr to get nicked or worse, there was no need for Snr to get Junior and his mate to cause damage to the vehicle and then chase and threaten him with a hammer - absolutely off their heads, crazy blokes.

I don't care that Amone was coming good with the Dragons. We don't need guys like him if they cause trouble that should have been avoided.

I remember watching the incident on a news flash on tele , at the time there were no names mentioned only what a neighbour recorded on his phone .

It appeared to me as if someone was sliding off the roof with a chap directly above him merely watching . Then another chap is seen climbing a ladder behind him , I thought that he was attempting to stop him from falling , however the ‘ slider ‘ seemed to be moving away from him and then fell hitting the air-con unit quite heavily and bounced from there to the ground .

It certainly did not look good and whomever was responsible for any alleged hammer blows should be facing the full force of the law !

There is no excuse in my humble opinion for what is alleged to have occurred throughout this ordeal with the result being property damage and personal injury sustained by the tradie - no matter what was initially said if anything between, I think, Amone Snr and the tradesperson concerning where the tradie's car was parked.

Even if the tradie said to Amone Snr to get nicked or worse, there was no need for Snr to get Junior and his mate to cause damage to the vehicle and then chase and threaten him with a hammer - absolutely off their heads, crazy blokes.

I don't care that Amone was coming good with the Dragons. We don't need guys like him if they cause trouble that should have been avoided.

Given the seriousness of the consequences of him flipping out, I think the club has a duty of care and a responsibility to players, officials and others to keep him away from any and all club activity at least until the matter is resolved.

If he’s gone to town on tradie ( with a mate) as alleged, who is to say he won’t snap again? Are there any guarantees? No.

If he does lose his stuff again and belts someone at the club, that victim is going to argue the club knew he was a loose cannon and let him back into the joint.

A nasty civil court battle ensues, more cash down the gurgler that could have been prevented.

It’s a work related thing, not a personal thing and I’m sorry, but he’s very dangerous.

I remember watching the incident on a news flash , at the time there were no names mentioned only what a neighbour recorded on his phone .

It appeared to me as if someone was sliding off the roof with a chap directly above him merely watching . Then another chap is seen climbing a ladder behind him , I thought that he was attempting to stop him from falling , however the ‘ slider ‘ seemed to be moving away from him and then fell hitting the air-con unit quite heavily and bounced from there to the ground .

It certainly did not look good and whomever was responsible for any alleged hammer blows should be facing the full force of the law !
Cheers for that account.

The NRL should take full responsibility for him from the time he was stood down. After all the NRL stood him down, not the club.
A fair point.

But the club needs to send him on his way pronto.

He should take responsibility for himself.

NRL to provide cap and related relief due to exceptional circumstances “ beyond bad boy” situation. Other clubs would understand.

Given the seriousness of the consequences of him flipping out, I think the club has a duty of care and a responsibility to players, officials and others to keep him away from any and all club activity at least until the matter is resolved.

If he’s gone to town on tradie ( with a mate) as alleged, who is to say he won’t snap again? Are there any guarantees? No.

If he does lose his stuff again and belts someone at the club, that victim is going to argue the club knew he was a loose cannon and let him back into the joint.

A nasty civil court battle ensues, more cash down the gurgler that could have been prevented.

It’s a work related thing, not a personal thing and I’m sorry, but he’s very dangerous.
Since the incident, didn't Amone have a set to with Lomax?

I am aware of the incident but not when it happened.

There could be an argument that a set-to at training is by consensual depending upon the circumstances. Plus I don’t think Junior went
beserk.

I’m not sure who started it.

But you make an interesting point. That could be taken as another signal that he’s not ok.

It’s the snap decision with alleged violence that worries me. He’s shown he’s capable of it.

And it was extreme.

The club is exposing its people to this risk. That’s my concern.

A lot of workplaces would give him a holiday at the least. Mine would for sure. They’d find a way.

I am aware of the incident but not when it happened.

There could be an argument that a set-to at training is by consensual depending upon the circumstances. Plus I don’t think Junior went
beserk.

I’m not sure who started it.

But you make an interesting point. That could be taken as another signal that he’s not ok.

It’s the snap decision with alleged violence that worries me. He’s shown he’s capable of it.

And it was extreme.

The club is exposing its people to this risk. That’s my concern.

A lot of workplaces would give him a holiday at the least. Mine would for sure. They’d find a way.
The NRL's policies and lack of willingness to take responsibility for players it stands down is the cause of the current situation. Just imagine if:
1. Included in the stand-down policy is a clause demanding the player hand himself over to the NRL for care and fitness training until the case is settled in the courts.
2. Included in the stand-down policy is a clause stating that the club is to be credited for the salary cap expended on the player and the clubs' salary cap increased by the same to allow a replacement player to be compensated.
3. Also in the stand-down policy is a clause that says that the NRL will fully compensate the player if he is not found guilty and that such a player will be a free agent in such circumstances.

The NRL's policies and lack of willingness to take responsibility for players it stands down is the cause of the current situation. Just imagine if:
1. Included in the stand-down policy is a clause demanding the player hand himself over to the NRL for care and fitness training until the case is settled in the courts.
2. Included in the stand-down policy is a clause stating that the club is to be credited for the salary cap expended on the player and the clubs' salary cap increased by the same to allow a replacement player to be compensated.
3. Also in the stand-down policy is a clause that says that the NRL will fully compensate the player if he is not found guilty and that such a player will be a free agent in such circumstances.
I would not oppose the plan prima facie, except that the risk of another event is passed on from one organisation to another.

The NRL will argue it’s not their fault and why should they pick up the pieces.

The adverse outcomes arising for Junior are directly attributable to his own conduct or suspected conduct.

I would have him do a lot more of the heavy lifting financially.

I would however entertain your claim for a fair and equitable dispensation for the club by the nrl in these circumstances. That is simply endorsing a claim by you for salary cap relief at a minimum.

Perhaps also, in future contracts, the club should preserve for itself an entitlement to any losses from the player himself.

Yes I see your point.

He’s got property damage as a seperate charge, but yes, if the reports are true, his conduct from car to roof seems to be intentional.

He has to go right out of his way to scurry up that ladder and I will add another concern to your point, somewhere along the way he grabbed a hammer….which he then used.

So from ute to roof, both tests of ferocity and intent seem to be further aggravated.

The injury is more of a consequential result of the alleged crime.

Having smashed the car windscreen into bits, (which is juvenile and especially stupid on any construction) I agree that he had ample opportunity to compose himself and pull up.

By that time, roofie couldn’t just drive way as the car could not be driven. That’s probably another offence because he’s impeding roofies free lawful movement.

And he has an accomplice, very scary for roofie and the roof environment itself is extremely dangerous in and of itself.

If he pleads of is found guilty on what has been reported I can’t see a suspended sentence or slap in the wrist.
Never heard of an "impeding free lawful movement" offence let alone because of a damaged car. Are you referring to NSW law or another state or territory?

I was thinking about the false imprisonment cases.

He’s jumping on the car, damaging it to the point where it can’t be used for the guy to flee and then physically surrounding the guy.

920B29CA-47CE-4015-9F42-2A9E0FF7F9F7.jpeg

The guy can’t get away as Junior and mate has stopped or trying to stop him.

Thus restricting his free movement, without a lawful reason, which I think is an offence.

Certainly a tort or civil action, no question.

You don’t need a prison around to falsely imprison someone. That’s the angle I was looking at.

If I had Amone and co after me with a hammer, reaching the ute for a get away might cross my mind. I can’t run away on foot because he’s nrl. Too fit and too powerful. I might make it 3 metres. But Junior has already cut my best means of escape and safety.

I don’t know whether he deliberately jumped on the ute to stop a get away. That would add to the seriousness under the ferocity and the intent limbs I would think…

But the Reckless GBH in company, if the cops can adduce the elements …it’s right up there.

Could they have charged him with something more serious? I’m not sure what the next level up is.

Really good question.

I can’t locate the offence at the moment, I’m sure it’s out there. It certainly is for cops when they get it wrong. They need to be careful when they stop someone and are minded to detain them. They might meet a sovereign citizen type.

I would not oppose the plan prima facie, except that the risk of another event is passed on from one organisation to another.

The NRL will argue it’s not their fault and why should they pick up the pieces.

The adverse outcomes arising for Junior are directly attributable to his own conduct or suspected conduct.

I would have him do a lot more of the heavy lifting financially.

I would however entertain your claim for a fair and equitable dispensation for the club by the nrl in these circumstances. That is simply endorsing a claim by you for salary cap relief at a minimum.

Perhaps also, in future contracts, the club should preserve for itself an entitlement to any losses from the player himself.
Maybe a standard NRL contract should contain clauses where by the contract is terminated in the event a no-fault standdown is issued by the NRL. Such a standard contract should be issued by all clubs to their new recruits so as to not disadvantage any club.

Yes that’s a really good idea.

The player doesn’t have to agree, fine, he can play esl.

If he doesn’t sign it, then is he expecting to get into trouble?

Shift the onus back onto the player. Players should avoid situations where it is reasonably foreseeable there could be trouble.

Running at pace intending harm of some kind seems to qualify.

There might be a provision for limited compensation on a finding of not guilty but that’s it.

This uncertainty at the moment isn’t satisfactory, certainly for the club and it’s connections.

These early days of stand down, I think the full impact is yet to settle into peoples head. I suppose the club could proffer player welfare reasons for having him hang about, but Ive questioned that.

And if the club is unwilling to cut ties with him instantly, concerned about his mental health etc, then it can limit the damage by a measured
phasing out period.

Gradually he can forgo training etc for more and more one on one counselling or other activities to the point where he’s got about zero actual involvement.

I suppose he’d have to be fully assessed to see where he’s at acknowledging the tremendous harm he has allegedly caused to thousands of people. A bit of self reflection and thinking of others. All those awesome people who turned him into such an exciting and respected footy game prospect. Many for no reward I bet.

If he’s of the view that his alleged conduct was normal and appropriate , there’s something seriously wrong. If he gets found guilty and has this view, it will cost him dearly. You’d think the dad would explain that to him, then again, his dad may have helped get him into the mess, I don’t know.

Mojo

Fair dinkum. Why would the NRL give a blanket insurance policy to take care of any player that gets charged with a serious crime? As if any organisation would have a policy that equates to 'go ahead and break the law fellas, we've got your back'. There's almost certainly very good legal reasons why they can't do so anyway.

It's a very safe bet that Amone has behaved like an utter idiot. He's incredibly lucky to be paid ridiculous money in the first place and, now he's been charged with several serious criminal offences, to be stood down on full pay. He's shown total disrespect for the club and the NRL. He owes the club and the NRL, not the other way around. He has a contract with the club so it's in our interest, unfortunately, to keep him match fit pending a legal decision but it's he that has put the club and the NRL in this position, not vice-a-versa.

Let's wait for the court case.

randomdragon

And if the club is unwilling to cut ties with him instantly, concerned about his mental health etc, then it can limit the damage by a measured
phasing out period.

Gradually he can forgo training etc for more and more one on one counselling or other activities to the point where he’s got about zero actual involvement.

I suppose he’d have to be fully assessed to see where he’s at acknowledging the tremendous harm he has allegedly caused to thousands of people. A bit of self reflection and thinking of others. All those awesome people who turned him into such an exciting and respected footy game prospect. Many for no reward I bet.

If he’s of the view that his alleged conduct was normal and appropriate , there’s something seriously wrong. If he gets found guilty and has this view, it will cost him dearly. You’d think the dad would explain that to him, then again, his dad may have helped get him into the mess, I don’t know.
bro im seriously curious why you are so into this... its almost getting sus