Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

Draginzaaar

The NRL introduced a policy that goes against a person being innocent until proven guilty. An audacious approach that could prove costly for Clubs. There is no doubt in my mind that the NRL should take responsibility for this action.
So if you don't get bail you are guilty?

Trifili13

Sounds great except it effectively indemnifies the club and shifts all the risks to the NRL. IMO the responsibility should reside entirely with the player.
Agree, as players are not employed by the NRL (correct me if I am wrong) there is no way that the NRL will take on the contract of a player who has been charged for a crime and stood down from playing, even if it is under the NRL's own no fault stand down policy. Unfortunately the clubs have to wear it or the NRL can give clubs some salary cap dispensation.

The Word

The questions that I ask are what triggered this alleged action by the Amones and the other unidentified guy? What made them do this? What did the tradies say to the alleged perpetrators that might have caused them to see red?

The games I have seen Junior play were without him anywhere near being over aggressive. He was developing really well at the Dragons and played for Tonga in the World Cup last year. Why did he lose his cool?

I cannot see Junior's future being in league for quite a while if the evidence available points towards him being stood down.
On a footy field, if you lose your sh.t and start carrying on, as a 20 year old, 89kg half, you are likely to get belted by a 110kg forward. This could be why we haven't seen him lose his temper on the field.

jodragon40

If found guilty he won't be playing for the big red v ever again. By the time his trial comes around most of this season is gone for him. He will be fortunate to stay out of jail let alone play footy. I believe his new colours will be prison greens. God we have a bad culture at our club and have so for many years now.

R&WTILLIDIE

If found guilty he won't be playing for the big red v ever again. By the time his trial comes around most of this season is gone for him. He will be fortunate to stay out of jail let alone play footy. I believe his new colours will be prison greens. God we have a bad culture at our club and have so for many years now.
You can’t really blame his actions on the culture at the club mate. Maybe he’s just a deadset nutter.

I do however blame bbq-gate on the club culture.

slippery5

I wonder if the " Father" has any "regrets" in wilfully letting his child be involved in such cowardly & intimidating actions???

gitano

You can’t really blame his actions on the culture at the club mate. Maybe he’s just a deadset nutter.

I do however blame bbq-gate on the club culture.
Bbq gate was the last time we had anything resembling club culture.

If you remember, we were looking certain for finals at the time, with a bye in hand.

Having basically the whole squad wanting to hang out away from footy is a sign of a tight group and strong culture. Sure, there's the covid angle of safety - but the same guys were allowed to tackle each other at training for goodness sake.

I wonder if the " Father" has any "regrets" in wilfully letting his child be involved in such cowardly & intimidating actions???
That’s a good point.

The lad and his friend weren’t doing anything until dad ran back into the house.

Probably reported on a heated discussion he’d just had outside with roofie and the lad ran off to retaliate.

But I don’t know whether the dad tried to stop the boys etc in the house or whether he was egging them on.

Regardless, the youngster should have composed himself, kept the altercation verbal at the worst and not have resorted to the stupid carry on.

I can’t see this as reflecting on anything bad for the club or your club culture. This is the last thing anyone wanted. It’s not a sneaky bbq gate thing ( which was club self harm as well as silly players), it was dangerous, out of control, violent and manic. Young Amine lost his bottle and may have proven that he’s very dangerous as a person. Let alone a footy player.

Anyway, I estimated a personal cost of about $2.4m for him in lost opportunity. 3 or 4 years in gaol if convicted maybe. That’s brutal, he won’t be the same.

Somethings up with the kid to do that, it’s not normal.

I hope his dad ran out to try to stop the fracas, I don’t think he did. Reports say the dad tried to deny anything happened later, but it was caught on video. Stupid beyond measure for saying anything let alone allegedly lying.

Not the best role model. “Father” yes.

SnowDragon

For all we know, the tradies had threatened amones dad, and they obviously had tools. That gets the blood up I am sure, and could explain (not mitigate) why they went with a hammer. what I am saying is we don’t know what caused it.

At that point, they lost their self control, and the result is a guy falling off a roof etc. can’t see the result being anything but serious, but the full story needs to be evaluated. hence although I’m frustrated, I’ll wait to condemn him (though it looks bad). Until all becomes clear I’ll ignore.

since77

If you remember, we were looking certain for finals at the time, with a bye in hand.

Having basically the whole squad wanting to hang out away from footy is a sign of a tight group and strong culture. Sure, there's the covid angle of safety - but the same guys were allowed to tackle each other at training for goodness sake.
Wow now I’ve heard it all. Not surprised it comes from Aitken’s dad / brother
/ mother / one man cheer squad. Disobeying the direct instructions of the coach during Covid restrictions is “good culture” huh? What an idiotic thing to say.

Dragon David

You mean his “meal ticket”.
Possibly a "meal ticket" for the whole family of 11 including Junior himself.

Junior has the skills which we will sorely miss and his family will miss the money that he could be foregoing as a result of his "follow-up" action which was probably stirred up by his father.

betcats

If what has been reported and submitted in the court docs is even halfway true the kids in a lot of trouble and the father is the reason it happened. Again this is just going off reports that apparently have seen the courts docs submitted by police so far but it sounds like dad didnt like the parked car, damaged it, went and got his son who came back with a hammer and used the car as a trampoline and then chased the victim onto a roof then off the roof and still wanted to get him after he took a tumble, of course that is all alleged and not proven facts but jeez how incredibly stupid if it is even close to true, A kid with the potential to make millions over the next few years dragged into a situation like that by his father over someone parking on the nature strip.

0F174FD5-D0E4-4422-80E5-D1A537CFB3B5.jpeg
Nissan Xtrail: $?

Temporary dents in grass and unsightly neighbourhood aesthetic: free

Council parking fine: $200?

Losing your head and carrying on: $2.4m plus loss of career, loss of standing and reputation, 3-4 years in gaol?, loss of income support for family, (if found guilty).

An unbelievable and irrational response.

Not priceless, just beyond disappointing.

R&WTILLIDIE

Nah mate. A tight culture includes your coaches…that is….listening, and doing exactly what the coaches tell you to do and not to do.

kit66

Wow now I’ve heard it all. Not surprised it comes from Aitken’s dad / brother
/ mother / one man cheer squad. Disobeying the direct instructions of the coach during Covid restrictions is “good culture” huh? What an idiotic thing to say.

He didn't say Good Culture he said Strong Culture as in a tight knit group, there's a world of difference.

We're getting a reputation as a club of bogans and ne'er do wells, if we haven't already - JDB, Sailor, Packer, Fonua-Blake, Amone, BBQ-gate, Award night no shows, etc. Time for massive changes, new owners, new leadership and management.