Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kearney

you really need to stop living in the past,
I lol'd!!!! Thats all you Fitzy loving Merkins have is the past. Anything the club has done since him good or bad has been seen as a negative. Thats the things most of the objective posters can see what has been happening at club. Not everything has been perfect but we seem to be heading in the right direction. We have recruited well for next season for the top side and the juniors but all we hear are the negatives. The team doing well on the park is all of most of us worry about, if we continue to struggle questions should be asked and rightly so but Kearney should be given the chance to show if he can cut it or not.

born an eel

I lol'd!!!! Thats all you Fitzy loving Merkins have is the past. Anything the club has done since him good or bad has been seen as a negative. Thats the things most of the objective posters can see what has been happening at club. Not everything has been perfect but we seem to be heading in the right direction. We have recruited well for next season for the top side and the juniors but all we hear are the negatives. The team doing well on the park is all of most of us worry about, if we continue to struggle questions should be asked and rightly so but Kearney should be given the chance to show if he can cut it or not.
where do I sign up.

who wouldn't want to be a member for this great year ahead. Anybody who who does not contribute is just not getting behind the team. Why leave it to others when we can do our part.

where do I sign up.

who wouldn't want to be a member for this great year ahead. Anybody who who does not contribute is just not getting behind the team. Why leave it to others when we can do our part.
So you were happy to sign up as a member with 24 years of nothing Fitzy but no way will you be happy to give anyone else a go :crazy:

At least the new mob have more than hopefully we will still be here 5 yrs time,play the pokies and while your at it have a free chinese meal while i get a free trip off to a pokies convention somewhere which isn't costing the club too much........ "Don't forget my gold plated fish tank did i tell you we won the NSWRL premeiship back in 86"???

Vote 1 Fitzy!!

Good god, who brought Fitzy up again, in a thread about Kearney?

Talk about living in the past! Fitzy wasn't even around when Kearney was appointed, and hasn't been part of our club's operations for is it more then two years now... :crazy:.

eel4life

This season was one where we actually played more consistent footy week in week out, we had no halfback, we had no five eight, we had no hooker our best attacking weapon was used to run the side, he actually does need help.

Guru retired early, Tahu walked out, Reddy was injured, we had second rowers playing as 3 and 4 and you all expected what?

We had more talented teams in the past and never have been able to play tough footy week in week out, they have now added a number 7, we have a number 6, we have got a number 4 and hopefully loko can become a gun, Hoppa is coming in 2 years Kearney is building a squad and it will take time.

So far i like what i have seen, if we can play the same way next year the players we have recruited will help the team win games.

I remember John Monie saying Kearney will be a successful coach we just have to be patient with what he is trying to achieve.

He has a plan and i cant wait for next season.

BigErn

I understand that just don't see the problem with it. What's wrong with eating humble pie if you admit you were wrong. It's up to SK to prove himself and if he does good on him, he'll deserve every bit of praise he gets.

I see a bandwagoner as someone who only supports the club when they're going well, ie. going to games, buying memberships etc. It's pretty clear everyone in here supports the club no matter what, just express it in different ways. Otherwise they wouldn't be in here in the first place.

Hear Hear.

I hope that Kearney succeeds. I'm not against the club. I love the club.
And I'll be more than happy to admit that I misjudged him. But I truly wonder whether the same will go in reverse. Will hasman ever admit that his beloved board made a mistake? Will Poupou sit on his words if we don't make the eight?

I don't see why one cops ridicule for not believing that Kearney is the right man for the job, but only those who believe in Kearney are 'true' supporters of the club..

It's because I love the club, that I can see the faults in it. I can see what I don't like in the club, and where I believe it could be better. To say that you have to love every aspect of something to love it is ridiculous.

I am no less of a fan than hasman. It's fans like this that the club could certainly do without. Constant ranting and raving about how good the club is after narrowly escaping a wooden spoon is embarrassing.

Will Poupou sit on his words if we don't make the eight?

Why wouldn't I? More importantly, how could I not?

I've stated many times in multiple threads that I expect to make the 8 next year and will be very concerned if we don't. I did this on purpose.

I defend Kearney because I like what he's done at the club so far. This is also why I'm confident he'll take us to the finals next year.

If we again miss the finals in 2012 then I won't like what I've seen from Kearney, and will be questioning if he's any good. If he gets the arse then he'll be just another Hagan/Anderson to me and won't even deserve my loyalty as Eels coach.

Maroubra Eel

This time next year no one will remember what you wrote Poupou.

By the way, something drastic would have to happen for us to miss out on the finals next year.

This time next year no one will remember what you wrote Poupou.

You remember shit from 7 or 8 years ago.

True nobody will remember or care - this time next year we'll either be reminiscing about how close we came to the premiership and looking forward to 2013, or we'll have the knives out for Kearney, the CEO (TBA) and the board over a disastrous third year in a row of missing the finals. And I'll be joining in the clusterf**k of hatred.

The reason I've put it out there that I expect to make the finals next year is so people know I'm not a mindless Kearney supporter. This way if I did make excuses for him next year, some smartarse ;-) would dig one of the old threads up and rip me for it. You know this, I know this, the merkins that give people shit for supporting Kearney also know this. It's about publicly giving myself nowhere to hide.

By the way, something drastic would have to happen for us to miss out on the finals next year.

f**ken oath. We've got a good coach who's assembled a good team. We have no reason not to be confident.

People said Kearney's a shit coach because of how we went this year, and next year others will be saying he's a great coach. And both groups will be wrong.

i guess it depends on how you define greatness if you say winning the premiership well its a hell of a lot easier if you already have a roster full of rep players like the dragons, storm or manly
for me greatness is picking yourself up from the bottom of the ladder and forcing your way into the gf like the roosters in 10 or us in 09
if we do make the semis next year :pray: then i think kearney will be a great coach not because of anything special he does next year but for turning things around from this year losing slumps aren't easy to stop

lingard

Too many new players.

We'll finish 6th-8th, but the squad itself is good enough to win the premiership (not saying much since about 7 or 8 clubs will have squads good enough to win the comp next year).

I don`t think our squad next year will be anywhere near good enough to win the premiership. We`re still short of a premiership-winning hooker and probably a premiership winning five-eight (we`ll see about Roberts). Willie Tonga, in my opinion, might prove to be a bit of a dud; and I`m unconvinced about our wingers. If we can buy a very good hooker and/or five-eight, then we would be a definite threat when Hopoate hits our back-line in 2014. Until then, I don`t expect anything more than about eighth spot. If we come eighth next year and the year after, Kearney`s job will be safe in my opinion.

HevyDevy

Not true at all.

I've been one of the board's harshest critics in certain aspects, however I recognise that they have done a wonderful job with the Leagues Club side of things. I have a problem with the set-up at Parramatta where the LC board runs the FC. I also have a problem with the selfish motives and blatant lies the board has demonstrated. Some of the things they have done publicly and also behind closed doors have been disgraceful.

However, as for Kearney, I still believe he should be given a full three years before judgement can be passed. IMO opinion it takes AT LEAST that long for any coach to be able to stamp his influence on a place.

One thing is certain - he had nothing to work with in 2011. I have no doubt now that he has some cattle we will see significant improvement in 2012.

Seriously though,

I don`t think our squad next year will be anywhere near good enough to win the premiership.

I think you're overlooking the fact that there are no complete teams anymore. Not since the salary cap began to be properly enforced.

Every premiership winning side since '05 has had it's weaknesses. The Eels in 2012 are no different.

We`re still short of a premiership-winning hooker

Keating's as good as Matt Ballin, and he's won two premierships.

The difference is Ballin has halves with some confidence calling for the ball, so he doesn't try to do too much.

Keating plays best when he plays like Ballin - tackle, support the ball-carrier, and give quick service. He only looks ordinary when he tries to play like Robbie Farah or Cam Smith.

and probably a premiership winning five-eight (we`ll see about Roberts).

And I think Roberts is as good as many premiership winning halves over the years. He has some weaknesses in his game (mostly mental) but in all the areas where he is strong - ball-skills, footwork, physical strength - he is up there with the elite playmakers.

He's not one to carry the side but he won't have to. Not even Sandow will have to. Neither will Hayne.

The last two premiership sides have lacked a dominant player, which was part of their success.

Willie Tonga, in my opinion, might prove to be a bit of a dud

I think he's excellent when he can stay injury free. But he does seem to get injured a lot.

and I`m unconvinced about our wingers.

I think, of the guys we have who can play wing, that we have potentially very good wingers. They are just inexperienced.

I'm in the club that says Burt isn't good enough to play wing in first grade. Sio and whichever centres miss out on the vacant spot - Morgan, Loko, Esi Tonga - could become good first grade wingers by the end of the year.

If we can buy a very good hooker and/or five-eight, then we would be a definite threat when Hopoate hits our back-line in 2014.

You don't reckon Hayne will move to 6 when Hopoate comes back?

Until then, I don`t expect anything more than about eighth spot.

Are you comparing us to the rest of the comp, or to the '89-'94 Raiders, '92-'00 Broncos and '06-'09 Storm?

Do you really think there are seven clubs with better squads than us? I reckon we're as good as any of them on paper. The only thing holding us back is lack of cohesion.

If we come eighth next year and the year after, Kearney`s job will be safe in my opinion.

You'd hope so. Mostly the board will want to see evidence he's building to something. Like Brian Smith '97-'01.

Seriously though,

I think you're overlooking the fact that there are no complete teams anymore. Not since the salary cap began to be properly enforced.

Every premiership winning side since '05 has had it's weaknesses. The Eels in 2012 are no different.

Keating's as good as Matt Ballin, and he's won two premierships.

The difference is Ballin has halves with some confidence calling for the ball, so he doesn't try to do too much.

Keating plays best when he plays like Ballin - tackle, support the ball-carrier, and give quick service. He only looks ordinary when he tries to play like Robbie Farah or Cam Smith.

And I think Roberts is as good as many premiership winning halves over the years. He has some weaknesses in his game (mostly mental) but in all the areas where he is strong - ball-skills, footwork, physical strength - he is up there with the elite playmakers.

He's not one to carry the side but he won't have to. Not even Sandow will have to. Neither will Hayne.

The last two premiership sides have lacked a dominant player, which was part of their success.

I think he's excellent when he can stay injury free. But he does seem to get injured a lot.

I think, of the guys we have who can play wing, that we have potentially very good wingers. They are just inexperienced.

I'm in the club that says Burt isn't good enough to play wing in first grade. Sio and whichever centres miss out on the vacant spot - Morgan, Loko, Esi Tonga - could become good first grade wingers by the end of the year.

You don't reckon Hayne will move to 6 when Hopoate comes back?

Are you comparing us to the rest of the comp, or to the '89-'94 Raiders, '92-'00 Broncos and '06-'09 Storm?

Do you really think there are seven clubs with better squads than us? I reckon we're as good as any of them on paper. The only thing holding us back is lack of cohesion.

You'd hope so. Mostly the board will want to see evidence he's building to something. Like Brian Smith '97-'01.

We must be identical twins.

It might seem that way because that's the only topic on offer around here. But I just looked at my recent posts and you have to go back 15 posts to find anything from me about politics.

Probably you only remember my posts about club politics because my opinions are well considered and my position irrefutable.