Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kearney

For the good of the Eels and the standard of the comp..how long are they going to persevere with him as a so called coach ??.

Leaving Sandow on the bench tonight was an amateur decision and I question his credentials when he hung off the reputation of Bellamy at Storm and that is really all he did.

Seriously...the Eels have got to move him on sooner rather than later IMO.

the dude

Is there much point in sacking him now? They won't make the 8 regardless and may aswell wait till the end of the year.

nqcowboy87

eels defensively are terrible, so im not sure he can really take blame for them missing tackles, but jeez he does need to awnser some big questions. the eels heirarchy regardless of who it is has alwas beeb fickle, if he lasts the season id be surprised

I Bleed Maroon

The Eels heirarchy has to be seen to be doing something. This sort of performance can only be tolerated by your fans for so long. Kearney must go.

nqcowboy87

the people i feel sorr for the most are blokes lke hindmash and mcguire, these blokes are putting in and unfortunetly will probably finish their careers as wooden spooners, i mean not everyone can have a mal meninga style final season, but you almost feel hindmarsh deserves it.

carlosthedwarf

McGuire was terrible tonight, he's not been putting in the effort. Hardly any of them are, that's the problem.

Ron's_Mate

Their effort against the Dogs tonight was not much different to their performance against the Panthers a month or so back. In other words, there's been no improvement at all. in both games the defence was awful; they have no defensive structure. That is all down to the coaching.

anjado

Parramatta didn't make a single handling error in the first half. Yet they didn't make a single line break and only scored from kicks. It shows that was Kearney's structured attack in the first half and it produced absolutely nothing.

It is why the Eels were competitive for 30 minutes they didn't make a mistake yet at half time they were still down by 10 and not threatening at all. I honestly believe Kearney is the worst coach ever even worse than Langmack.

BunniesMan

This will get smashed as bias but I'll say it anyway. Before Maguire was even hired by us and it was little more than rumours, there were articles from "sources" inside the Storm saying Maguire was the real brains among the assistant coaches. That Kearney got the praise and the jobs because of his higher profile. But it was Maguire working with Bellamy and Matty Johns that developed Cronk into an elite player among many other things. Johns has gone as far as going on record to call Maguire a "genius". Don't recall him saying anything like that about Kearney.

Those sources said Kearney wasn't as involved as Maguire in the "head coach" sort of responsibilities. That he was more of a man manager while Maguire was the brains.

Kearney now has 7 wins in 33 games, and won with NZ with Bennett holding his hand.

I think there was some truth to those articles.

His incompetence is highlighted with Sandow. Sandow is a talented player who has plenty of negatives in his game. Sandow can only be a success in a certain style of game plan. Out of all of last years starting 1st grade halfbacks, Sandow would be f**king last on the list of halves most suited to the style Kearney insists on playing.

And then tonight specifically, you do not pick a halfback on the f**king bench. Your starting spine players have to be your best available. If Kearney thought his #6 and #7 were his best, Sandow shouldn't have been in the 17. If he thought his #6 or #7 couldn't be trusted to play 80 minutes, Sandow should have started. Picking a halfback on the bench means you are preparing for failure.

Either the Eels were going to play well with their starting halves and they wouldn't be subbed and Sandow would sit on his arse all night. Or, as it turned out, they'd end up going shit and Sandow would get a run when it was too late.

Stupid, stupid, decisions.

Cumberland Throw

This will get smashed as bias but I'll say it anyway. Before Maguire was even hired by us and it was little more than rumours, there were articles from "sources" inside the Storm saying Maguire was the real brains among the assistant coaches. That Kearney got the praise and the jobs because of his higher profile. But it was Maguire working with Bellamy and Matty Johns that developed Cronk into an elite player among many other things. Johns has gone as far as going on record to call Maguire a "genius". Don't recall him saying anything like that about Kearney.

Those sources said Kearney wasn't as involved as Maguire in the "head coach" sort of responsibilities. That he was more of a man manager while Maguire was the brains.

Kearney now has 7 wins in 33 games, and won with NZ with Bennett holding his hand.

I think there was some truth to those articles.

His incompetence is highlighted with Sandow. Sandow is a talented player who has plenty of negatives in his game. Sandow can only be a success in a certain style of game plan. Out of all of last years starting 1st grade halfbacks, Sandow would be f**king last on the list of halves most suited to the style Kearney insists on playing.

And then tonight specifically, you do not pick a halfback on the f**king bench. Your starting spine players have to be your best available. If Kearney thought his #6 and #7 were his best, Sandow shouldn't have been in the 17. If he thought his #6 or #7 couldn't be trusted to play 80 minutes, Sandow should have started. Picking a halfback on the bench means you are preparing for failure.

Either the Eels were going to play well with their starting halves and they wouldn't be subbed and Sandow would sit on his arse all night. Or, as it turned out, they'd end up going shit and Sandow would get a run when it was too late.

Stupid, stupid, decisions.

yep well said

natheel

Is there much point in sacking him now? They won't make the 8 regardless and may aswell wait till the end of the year.

Yes there is a point, statistically teams perform better when they sack a coach mid season so it wouldn't hurt

Billythekid

It was never fair dumping Sandow in the first place. The whole team has been terrible and most of them have been far worse than Sandow. I'm not sure what message he is supposed to recieve when he is singled out like that.

eels defensively are terrible, so im not sure he can really take blame for them missing tackles, but jeez he does need to awnser some big questions. the eels heirarchy regardless of who it is has alwas beeb fickle, if he lasts the season id be surprised

The reason they are missing so many tackles is because the defensive structure is so poor. Players are constantly getting caught out of position and isolated 1 on 1. Also the number one sign of a poorly coached team, the defense is constantly back peddling or caught sliding and not moving up.

The players obviously need to take some of the blame but they are clearly a poorly coached team. The fact that the NZ looks to have many of the same problems isn't a good sign.

Yes there is a point, statistically teams perform better when they sack a coach mid season so it wouldn't hurt

That plus it doesn't send a good signal to the fans when someone who is clearly f*cking up is allowed to just keep going. It's pretty clear that Kearney isn't the best coach for the eels going forward.

Pete Cash

Parra are a side full of peahearted tarts who would sooner sink a coach than do some hard work. They don't have a single leader in the spine. The most talented player has gone from one of the most exciting players in the world to a ghost walking around the field.

Its not even fun for Raider supporters to troll Parra supporters any more about Hayne because he is trolling them enough for all of us with his lazy disinterested performances. Maybe Kearney was mean to him at training and told him to do an extra lap or something so he has decided to just sink the entire side.

BDR

Honestly though, they are clearly poorly coached. Deciding to leave Sandow on the bench reeks of amateurism, I understand what he is trying to do (motivate the player) but he doesn't know how to do it. Their defense is just absolutely appalling and their offense is completely lacking in structure and rides off the back of a handful of players who can play decent off the cuff footy.

I don't know how much blame Kearney has for their recruitment over the past couple seasons but it is so illogical and poorly thought out. I feel sorry for the fans who have to put up with this basket case of a club, us Cowboys fans have had to deal with the same shit for years. Someone needs to make the decision to run the broom through and start anew, if they sit on their heels now it won't just affect this season but for a couple years to come.

NRL

Ive been wondering the same thing OP but i just read an article stating that Kearney is doing exactly what the Eels want him to. They are taking a gamble trying to switch up their team, but thats what they want even if it means temporary failure and they have no intention on getting rid of him. If you ask me, they are out of their minds but its their club.

the people i feel sorr for the most are blokes lke hindmash and mcguire, these blokes are putting in and unfortunetly will probably finish their careers as wooden spooners, i mean not everyone can have a mal meninga style final season, but you almost feel hindmarsh deserves it.
I dont. Hindy has been playing like a sook and not providing any leadership at all. The bloke I feel for is Nathan Cayless actually - led us brilliantly for a decade through the lunacy of Brian Smith to the Taylor - Hagan - Ando years. He got to lift a World Cup. Hindy, in his swan song year, is sh*t.

Kearney is a dud - but at least he is a tough one. He is there to clean out a supposed bad culture among the player group that has festered for years. The trouble is that it's like going through surgery without anaesthetic.

IMHO they should punt the whole f*cking club bar Tim Mannah and a couple of youngsters like Seo. Punt the board, punt the coach, even punt the ballboys.

Parra are a side full of peahearted tarts who would sooner sink a coach than do some hard work. They don't have a single leader in the spine. The most talented player has gone from one of the most exciting players in the world to a ghost walking around the field.

Its not even fun for Raider supporters to troll Parra supporters any more about Hayne because he is trolling them enough for all of us with his lazy disinterested performances. Maybe Kearney was mean to him at training and told him to do an extra lap or something so he has decided to just sink the entire side.
Yes, of course, it's all Hayne's fault - the chorus of the brainless still wails out it's pathetic tune. Hayne is out of form - no one else is you spastic? I think Kearney's game plan IS to play out of form.

In hindsight why did they sack Anderson. I'd take him at the Raiders.
You would love that. His only game plan was "Give it to Hayne". How would Hayne go in a slime jersey as your chief playmaker? :lol:

You'd take any nuffy at the Raiders because you have David Furner now. Kevin Sheedy would look a good option compared to Furner.