Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kevin Pietersen labels his omission as 'ridiculous'

undertaker

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket...s-omission-as-ridiculous-20150720-gigsvq.html

South African-born English cricketer Kevin Pietersen has lashed out with a series of angry tweets at England's hierarchy, labelling his omission from the Three Lions' Ashes squad as 'ridiculous'.
England collapsed to 103 all out on the fourth afternoon falling to a 405-run loss with Australia levelling the series at 1-1 which brought sharp criticism from the UK media.

The London Telegraph even provided statistics to show the top three are now worse than Bangladesh's.
Advertisement

Pietersen, 35, watched the opening two Ashes Tests from afar in Miami after playing in the Caribbean Premier League, but believes he should have been part of the squad competing against Australia.

"Deep in thought right now...ridiculous that I'm lying on a beach when I should be in UK prepping for the 3rd Test! So silly really! Sad!" he tweeted.
Deep in thought right now...ridiculous that I'm lying on a beach when I should be in UK prepping for the 3rd Test! So silly really! Sad! 👎🏻
— Kevin Pietersen (@KP24) July 20, 2015

He then continued to describe the stalemate between himself and the England and Wales Cricket Board as "so, so, so, so silly"
The star was desperate to return to the England fold but, despite scoring an unbeaten 326 for Surrey in May, he was told by Andrew Strauss that there was no place for him in the England squad due to a "massive trust issue".
Despite Pietersen scoring 8181 runs in his Test career, the fifth highest in England's history, the door to international cricket was closed to him after he was dumped in the wake of England's embarrassing 2013-14 Ashes whitewash in Australia.
With question marks over the form of top-order batsmen Adam Lyth, Gary Ballance and Ian Bell England must regroup to face Australia in the third Ashes Test starting on Wednesday 29th July in Birmingham.
Australia need only draw the best-of-five series to retain the Ashes.

some11

When he comes in and fails how is that going to look?

About as bad as if we picked Warne when he was pushing the "I'm available" innuendo.

His whinging and general behavior justifies his omission.

Team discipline is not his strength.

When he comes in and fails how is that going to look?

About as bad as if we picked Warne when he was pushing the "I'm available" innuendo.

Was only saying to the missus during the 2nd test this has to be the first Ashes series since 06/07 where I've heard absolutely nothing about Warne making a surprise comeback.

KP's return would end in tears and I just don't see it happening TBH.

Mr Bean

Obviously waiting till England lost before his usual pick me outburst. He must of been choking on his fruit loops after the first test in Cardiff.

vvvrulz

Whatever KP says, he's still better than most (if not all) the guys they're sending out there.
Douchebag or not, that must be pretty annoying.

I reckon KP is a champion, and a champion player.

Having said that, I'm happy he's not playing - one less headache for us.

Cook
Robson
Trott
KP
R Key
Bell

I reckon that top order would send shivers down many spines...

KP was a good bat and he maybe better than the current batch getting picked ahead of him but tbh his best days are probably behind him.

Red Bear

He's a brilliant batsmen who was cast aside in an effort to look like they were doing something, when at worst he was only one of the problems in the dressing room. The rest of that side was full of dickheads also.

Great cricketer

If you have a good team you can leave him out for whatever nuisance he provides, but when you're batting as as dire as England's currently is then you probably should pick a player of his caliber.

JJ

If you have a good team you can leave him out for whatever nuisance he provides, but when you're batting as as dire as England's currently is then you probably should pick a player of his caliber.

Last I checked it's 1-1... they will lose, but they'll lose with that wanker in the side too - time to flush the dunny - as AM said above, he was strangely silent in the NZ series, and after the first test :sarcasm: