Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kiwi RL Haka not "real" Haka

Craigo

Thanks for the insight Israel....

"I would probably look at the Bledisloe as being a similar thing to playing Origin in league," Folau said.
"In rugby it’s the ultimate, it doesn't get any bigger playing the All Blacks. I have always watched rugby since I was a kid with my old man but I never been to a Bledisloe Cup game live.

"I always enjoyed watching the haka as they do it. Standing there in the line facing them would be very exciting."
Reminded he’d fronted the Kiwi league team’s haka, Folau added: "Yeah, I faced the league haka but the real one you have to face is obviously against the All Blacks

WOW! I feel offended and I'm an Aussie.....

The Great Dane

He's a mercenary sellout pandering to his new audience, apart from Kiwi RL fans who cares.

Let him bitch about RL all he wants, all he's doing is making it harder for himself to come back to RL, which he'll want to do pretty soon since he'll be able to make more money in the NRL then in the Super 15 in a couple of years.

It's just an act to keep RU fans screaming his name, ignore it.

shiznit

The haka is a gimmick anyway
In football games it is... It's a marketing tool for he likes of Adidas to hawk off all black apparel to Europeans who seem to be infatuated by it.

Haka itself is no gimmick... My own Haka from my family are an important part of who I am.

But I can certainly see why someone would consider it a gimmick.

What Izzy has said is a douchebag move IMO...

hutch

The haka is great, it is an important part of the tradition of our sport. I love the kiwis version! Izzy is not the smartest bloke and is sucking up to his new employers and fans. He is a tool.

In football games it is... It's a marketing tool for he likes of Adidas to hawk off all black apparel to Europeans who seem to be infatuated by it.

Haka itself is no gimmick... My own Haka from my family are an important part of who I am.

Let me re-phrase that to the use in sport. No disrespect to the Maori culture intended but the haka has reached celebrity status. From the outside it's almost like a marketing tool.

Fast Eddie

I don't like the importance placed on it in a sporting context, and I think so many have become so precious about it (EG that whole thing with Wales a few years back where the All Blacks had a massive cry and did in the sheds pre game). Especially when you're right in saying that it is a huge marketing and promotional tool in the sporting world.

Cloudsurfer

Izzy is an alright guy believe it or not, but he's rugby through & through...
the haka is everything it's purported to be for those who do it at the level he's talking about & it's ok to defend your rendition. The kiwis have every right to do it how they see it & I know Izzy knows it...part of the challenge of the haka is to make the other side question whether they've got the goods to back it up...if that's rugby against league, well, pick up the wero!

ParraEelsNRL

The last time he faced one, didn't the Aussies march on it and then lose the match?

Poor form shown towards the game that gave you the opportunity to get where you are. And disrespectful towards all who have ever done or faced up to a haka in a full blooded Test match of either code. Wanker.

The Kiwi haka always looks superior to me, where as the All Blacks haka seems sort of flat and a lot of the players look awkward and uncomfortable, like they're holding back. Apart from your main guys like Weepu, Umaga etc.

But I'm not a Kiwi let alone a Maori so I don't know which is better by proper standards, just that the All Blacks one isn't half as good from an outsiders POV. League guys look scarier and more energetic and passionate while doing it.

Maybe some of the rugby fellows of worried about looking like Ali Williams and that's why they're holding back :lol:

Dav0c

Poor choice of words but I -sort of- agree with what he is saying. When I think of the Haka I think of the AB's.

ozbash

When I think of the haka I think of The Usos.

lol

The AB's hybrid 'haka' is actually less real (although I really enjoy it) than Ka Mate.

Its a culture combo ( maori, PI, Fiji) challenge, where Ka Mate is strictly kiwi.

Izzy is a drongo..:lol:

Te Kaha

lol

The AB's hybrid 'haka' is actually less real (although I really enjoy it) than Ka Mate.

Its a culture combo ( maori, PI, Fiji) challenge, where Ka Mate is strictly kiwi.

Izzy is a drongo..:lol:

Not quite... "Kapa o Pango" IS a Maori Haka written by Derek Lardelli.. It was supposed to represent all the cultural heritage of the team... Tho it was more likely the threat of Ngati Toa charging for Ka Mate's usage that inspired it... which may still happen.