Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kiwis Train on squad

jaseg

Papalii gets in over Blair on merit, rather than locking him in. As does Kasiano (of course). Taumololo a little less so but he wouldn't be far off, with Glenn out.

So then, considering who is out:

1. Hoffman
2. Perret (Winterstein)
3. Matai
4. Inu (Mannering)
5. Vatuvai
6. Marshall
7. Foran
8. Kasiano
9. Luke
10. Matulino
11. Papalii
12. Mannering (Proctor)
13. Smith

14. ?
15.Pritchard
16.Bromwich
17. Taumalolo

Fufu Andronez

^^
Looks about as good as it's gonna get I would personally take winters over perrett but not overly fussed aye. Maybe Johnson can play the 14 role not that he deserves it..

Shaun Hewitt

I'd put Perrett at FB
then Winterstein at wing.

Hoffman hasnt been himself recently.

Heres praying we get Papalii announced, and Kasiano as well. I think we will get Kasiano as he plays with Pritchard, Eastwood, Inu, Perrett and Halatau. Surely the kiwi lads will try to swing him over, not to mention his mum!

ozbash

So then, considering who is out:

1. Hoffman
2. Perret (Winterstein)
3. Matai
4. Inu (Mannering)
5. Vatuvai
6. Marshall
7. Foran
8. Kasiano
9. Luke
10. Matulino
11. Papalii
12. Mannering (Proctor)
13. Smith

14. ?
15.Pritchard
16.Bromwich
17. Taumalolo

Who would your captain be ?

Rebel

1. Hoffman
2. Beale
3. Inu
4. Matai
5. Perret
6. Marshall
7. Foran
8. Kasiano
9. Luke
10. Matulino
11. Papalii
12. Pritchard
13. Smith

14. Leuluai
15. Taumalolo
16. Bromwich
17. Asotasi

mean_maori_mean

yeah me to mate - I bet he would come into some consideration.
If it was more than one game - I dare say him and FPN would of been in the train-on squad.

But winterstein has been good this year and can cover centre of wing.

Here is a question if Luke goes down injured etc.
And Thomas make the GF in england.

Who play 9 and 14?
Are we that desperate that we have to select Mara (who is barely played NRL) or taylor - who clearly is not a hooker.

I say consider to bring back Aaron Heremaia :)
Playing good footy from all accounts.
The guy everybody loves, NOT

Otherwise another guy hated on Halatau is back from injury and has played some good footy. Would be a good 14 for isaac. Opening 20 then sit on bench as cover.

mean_maori_mean

Josh Papalii easily makes the team on merit.
Jason almost - but will promoted with a few injuries.

Papalii should of made the 19 earlier on in the year.

Drzoidberg

Josh Papalii easily makes the team on merit.
Jason almost - but will promoted with a few injuries.

Papalii should of made the 19 earlier on in the year.

Injured or just returned from injury, if I recall correctly.

Still should've been included even if not named, get in the environment like Jason.

Haha to Mal 'we've invested good money and time' Meninga, hands off the kiwis dag namit!

Shaun Hewitt

Josh Papalii, Jason Taumalolo and Antonio Winterstein have been added to the Kiwis' train-on squad to prepare for the test against the Kangaroos in Townsville on October 13.

Papalii, who will look to make his Kiwi debut, is from the Canberra Raiders, while Taumalolo and Winterstein are from the North Queensland Cowboys. Both clubs were knocked out of the NRL finals at the weekend.

Taumalolo and Winterstein have been part of previous Kiwis squads, with Taumalolo 19th man for the test in April which was won by Australia. Ricky Thorby, also from the Cowboys, was unavailable due to a hip injury that requires surgery.

National selectors Richie Barnett, Tony Iro, Stephen Kearney and Tawera Nikau will add to the squad over the next two weeks following the last two weekends of the NRL finals.

Kiwis squad: Gerard Beale, Josh Hoffman (Brisbane Broncos); Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders); Jeremy Smith (Cronulla Sharks); Jason Taumalolo, Antonio Winterstein (North Queensland Cowboys); Sam McKendry (Penrith Panthers); Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters); Ben Henry, Shaun Johnson, Simon Mannering, Alehana Mara, Ben Matulino, Elijah Taylor, Manu Vatuvei (NZ Warriors); Adam Blair, Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers)

Unavailable: Alex Glenn, Brisbane Broncos, (knee surgery); Ricky Thorby, North Queensland Cowboys, (hip surgery); Nathan Fien (retired), Jason Nightingale, both St George Illawarra Dragons, (knee surgery); Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Sydney Roosters, (thigh surgery); Kevin Locke, NZ Warriors, (high ankle sprain).

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10835107

Good to see Taumololo in there.

Who is this Ricky Thorby fella? never heard of him