Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights side for 2008

RABK

1. Kurt Gidley
2. James McManus
3. Justin Hodges/ Brent Tate
4. Adam MacDougall
5. Akuila Uate
6. Craig Wing
7. Jarrod Mullen
8. Josh Perry
9. Danny Buderus
10. Jason Ryles/Brent Kite/Joel Clinton
11. Steve Simpson
12. Cory Patterson
13. Daniel Abraham

14. Daniel Tolar
15. Kade Snowden/Mark Taufua
16. Mitchell Sargent
17. Milton Thaiday

Signing a rep quality centre, half and prop might seem a bit much but Joeys $500,000 plus releasing Tanner, Carmont, Woolnough and Newton will = $1,000,000 easily.

Jobdog

1. Kurt Gidley
2. James McManus
3. Paul Franze
4. Adam MacDougall
5. Akuila Uate
6. Jarrod Mullen
7. Luke Walsh
8. Josh Perry
9. Danny Buderus
10. Mitchell Sargent
11. Steve Simpson
12. Cory Patterson
13. Daniel Abraham

14. Daniel Tolar
15. Adam Woolnough
16. Todd Polglase
17. Mark Taufua

No signings in there, because I don't like our chances of getting anyone worthwhile TBH. Still not an overly bad side IMO.

RABK

Smith has a history of splurges on the player market...i think we'll see a broom swept through and a lot of players out of that 30 or so off contract gone. I reckon he'll chase a couple of rep quality players plus look to sign a few fringe first graders.

I'm going to bed to end this horrible day, i'm probably posting sh*t.

roopy

I'd like to see us spend the big dollars we will have on buying 10 guys aged between 18 and 22 who are future firstgraders and replace 10 guys like Carmont, Davico, royal, etc etc etc who are not going to be firstgrade material.
We have plenty of young talent, so we should build from the ground up.

RABK

I think we have a fairly young team and good core team as it is. With signings like Morrison, Tahu, Morris, Widders, Grothe and McKinnon in his CV i think Smith will purchase a couple of big names.

roopy

Red and Blue Knight said:
I think we have a fairly young team and good core team as it is. With signings like Morrison, Tahu, Morris, Widders, Grothe and McKinnon in his CV i think Smith will purchase a couple of big names.
He will go for some big names - but i'd prefer to see him tie up half the junior kangaroos instead.

Burwood

roopy said:
I'd like to see us spend the big dollars we will have on buying 10 guys aged between 18 and 22 who are future firstgraders and replace 10 guys like Carmont, Davico, royal, etc etc etc who are not going to be firstgrade material.
We have plenty of young talent, so we should build from the ground up.

Doesn't make much sense to me. We buy fringe players and develop them over time into first graders, by which time they have inevitably increased in value and forced to move to another club who can fit them under their salary cap?

RABK

No Roopy, no.

Why? So we can establish them whilst they're here on $80,000 two year deals then see them piss off to other clubs.

We have enough junior talent, we just lack game breakers in a couple of positions.

roopy

I don't think discards from other clubs are ever worth what is paid for them.
Breed them up i say - but nothing wrong with buying the best players in Flegg or the Qld cup.

roopy

One thing i have to say is that Smith is in the best position a coach could ever ask for. He has junior talent coming out of his ears, most of his senior players coming off contract, and millions of dollars to spend.
The one cloud - good players we might like to re-sign or sign will be asking the question if we are going to be competitive - and we could possibly lose guys like Snowden, White etc because the future looks brighter elsewhere.

Also, in the past, a nice incentive for players to come to Newcastle was the opportunity to play alongside Johns. I won't imagine today would have a massive effect on our signing prospects from now on, but it's food for thought

Frederick

strewth_mate said:
Also, in the past, a nice incentive for players to come to Newcastle was the opportunity to play alongside Johns. I won't imagine today would have a massive effect on our signing prospects from now on, but it's food for thought
"Come to Newcastle, Play alongside Carmont"

Doesn't quite have the same ring to it :(

General Knight

I think many poeple still have this perception that we can't win without Joey, and that we become absolute push overs without him and now that he is gone many players may think twice before considering singing with Newcastle. It all comes down to how we perform in the next few months. If we can prove (well we already have) but can change poeple's perception of us being contenders without Joey, I think many players will definitely consider calling Newy home.

CJKnight

I think it's abit too early to call yet because we have no idea on just who the board are looking at signing in '08. I would definately release some players like Carmont, Tanner, Royal, and Davico (he will most likely retire). That should free up close to $800-900k with Joey's salary.

But if I had my way in things the side would look like this:

1. Nathan Hinton
2. James McManus
3. Kurt Gidley
4. Todd Polglase (was Doogs signed for one year or two?)
5. Akulia Uate
6. Jarrod Mullen
7. Luke Walsh
8. Kade Snowden
9. Danny Buderus
10. Adam Woolnough
11. Steve Simpson
12. Clint Newton
13. Cory Paterson

14. Daniel Tolar
15. Matthew White/Jacob Ling
16. Riley Brown/Mark Tuafua
17. Daniel Abraham

18. Seu Seu

Having said that, there are quite a few quality players off contract and here is a list of the ones I would pursue and where I would play them:

Michael Monaghan (Halfback)
Justin Hodges (Fullback/Centre)
Luke O'Donnell (Lock)

K-Man

Here's my realistically possible side and my dream side:

Realistic:
1. Kidley
2. McManus
3. Tighe
4. MacDougall
5. Uate
6. Travis Burns
7. Mullen
8. Sargent
9. Buderus
10. Sam Thaiday
11. Simpson
12. Paterson
13. Abraham

14. Brown
15. Newton
16. Taufua
17. Tolar
18. Snowden
19. White

What I would like (but still a bit realistic, we won't get Hodges):

1. Milton Thaiday
2. McManus
3. Kidley
4. Craig Wing
5. MacDougall
6. Mullen
7. Hornby
8. Sam Thaiday
9. Buderus
10. Sargent
11. Simpson
12. Paterson
13. Abraham

14. Brown
15. Newton
16. Taufua
17. Tolar
18. Snoweden
19. White

Yosh

christopherjon said:
I think it's abit too early to call yet because we have no idea on just who the board are looking at signing in '08. I would definately release some players like Carmont, Tanner, Royal, and Davico (he will most likely retire). That should free up close to $800-900k with Joey's salary.

But if I had my way in things the side would look like this:

1. Nathan Hinton
2. James McManus
3. Kurt Gidley
4. Todd Polglase (was Doogs signed for one year or two?)
5. Akulia Uate
6. Jarrod Mullen
7. Luke Walsh
8. Kade Snowden
9. Danny Buderus
10. Adam Woolnough
11. Steve Simpson
12. Clint Newton
13. Cory Paterson

14. Daniel Tolar
15. Matthew White/Jacob Ling
16. Riley Brown/Mark Tuafua
17. Daniel Abraham

18. Seu Seu

Having said that, there are quite a few quality players off contract and here is a list of the ones I would pursue and where I would play them:

Michael Monaghan (Halfback)
Justin Hodges (Fullback/Centre)
Luke O'Donnell (Lock)

That is a very young team. Could struggle for a while I guess. But also I dont agree with alot of your selections so yeah. But the players you want to buy seem like good choices even though I would say there is like 0 chance of getting Hodgo

Yosh

If I could choose a team for next year it would look a little something like this yo~

1. Kids
2. McManus
3. Hodgo
4. Tighe
5. Uate
6. Mullen
7. Hornby
8. Josh Perry
9. Bedsy
10. Kite
11. Simmo
12. Ian Hindy
13. LOD

14. Craig Wing
15. Patto
16. Sam Thaiday
17. Ryles

18. Abes
19. Tolar
20. Clinton
21. White
22. Snowden

Look at our depth. JUST LOOK AT THAT TEAM.... DRIBBLE DRIBBLE..... Probably cost us like 7million to buy.... Look at that depth but. Imagine those guys playing PL fighting for a spot in first grade. Would be nuts.

Ben

Yosh said:
If I could choose a team for next year it would look a little something like this yo~

1. Kids
2. McManus
3. Hodgo
4. Tighe
5. Uate
6. Mullen
7. Hornby
8. Josh Perry
9. Bedsy
10. Kite
11. Simmo
12. Ian Hindy
13. LOD

14. Craig Wing
15. Patto
16. Sam Thaiday
17. Ryles

18. Abes
19. Tolar
20. Clinton
21. White
22. Snowden

Look at our depth. JUST LOOK AT THAT TEAM.... DRIBBLE DRIBBLE..... Probably cost us like 7million to buy.... Look at that depth but. Imagine those guys playing PL fighting for a spot in first grade. Would be nuts.
Only the roosters would be able to sign such a team.