Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights sign Keith Lulia

Misanthrope

Question has to asked... Why aren't you guys putting your junior through the ranks ? I'd imagine a lot of reggie players are very disillusioned right now.

Cory Patterson
Mark Tuafua
Kade Snowden
Jesse Royal
James McManus
Stephen Gordon
Nathan Hinton
Terence Seu Seu
Matthew White
Luke Walsh

That's a fair chunk of 'juniors coming through the ranks' that have been or are being given a shot this year.

macavity

Stranger said:
Yeah, its to play under smith :sarcasm:,

Lulia was in the paper today saying a major reason he came here was to play under Smith. smartarse.

most of the guys we are signing are Woollongong juniors.

what team offers the most similar lifestyle to the 'gong, but isn't the Dragons?

I know you love that Shytney place benny, but they are coming for

1) opportunity to play under the best teacher in the game;
2) opportunity to enjoy an awesome lifestyle; and
3) opportunity to play in a young team and have a massive shot at FG.

seriously the only spots not wide open for next year are hooker and one backrow spot - no wonder we are attracting outside backs and promising forwards.

wobby - Wicks was offered first tier money, but it was much closer to 150k than the 250k you dragoons supporters seem to think he is getting.

tell me - if they were all coming for money, how could we sign them all..... :lol:

Wobbygong

As I've already said there were varied reasons some for money others not for money as in Wes' case (I know this because I know a couple of the boys from outside footy).

Houston and Wicks were both keen to stay at the Drags but couldn'refuse the Knights offer, I don't blame them I'd do the exact same thing.

You were able to sign them because your highest paid player retired 500k, and you offloaded several NRL players, so that's how you afforded it quite easy really.

Ronnie Dobbs

I would hazard that Perry & Woolnough were on ludicrous coin & we all know that Joey was a good whack of the salary cap himself.
Lets just say that those three are on a million (a nice round number between them) & they are all now no longer a burdon & look at what you've gone and bought:

Cross - 350
Wicks - 250
Naiqama - 180
Houston - 160

Just guesiing at th figures of course, but I'd imagine its somewhere around that in ballpark & you've still got the vest part of 100k to pay Lulia, who would be on next to nothing at the Dragons with a stack of players in fornt of him.

Its good work by Smith. I think they are all very shrewd purchases.

doggone

And yet this team of put togethers seems to be gaining more and more momentum

Good call. Maybe something to do with the Coach?? Things look pretty good for next year up Newcastle way, lots of good signings and lots of local talent, Put it together AND WHAT HAVE YOU GOT. JUST MAYBE A PREMIERSHIP!

Stranger

macavity said:
most of the guys we are signing are Woollongong juniors.

what team offers the most similar lifestyle to the 'gong, but isn't the Dragons?

I know you love that Shytney place benny, but they are coming for

1) opportunity to play under the best teacher in the game;
2) opportunity to enjoy an awesome lifestyle; and
3) opportunity to play in a young team and have a massive shot at FG.

seriously the only spots not wide open for next year are hooker and one backrow spot - no wonder we are attracting outside backs and promising forwards.

wobby - Wicks was offered first tier money, but it was much closer to 150k than the 250k you dragoons supporters seem to think he is getting.

tell me - if they were all coming for money, how could we sign them all..... :lol:

BTW, Wollongong is not part of Sydney ;-).

Can you give me some fact please? :lol:! So far you havent named any except for having a young team.

Alex28

Coastbloke said:
Surely there's players in the Hunter region with his abilities...

Why aren't we looking in our own backyard for up and comers and maybe just buy a marquee player...
To answer your question:

* It does not appear that there are players in the Hunter Valley with the ability of these players we are signing. Why the problem looking outside the circle?

* Name me a marquee player we can sign?

Spike

I haven't really seen a lot of Lulia to really comment on his abilities. I have seen enough of Carmont and Tighe to confidently say that so long as he's better than these two then I'm happy to have him. Again my concerns fall on the local juniors coming through such as Richardson and Cooper who may look to go elsewhere.

D

Deleted member 10972

Are Hinton, Gordon, White, Polglase & Dureau staying next season? I don't see much opportunity for them.

Serc

bluesbreaker said:
Either Akuku's attitude isn't right or they're holding him back for a big off season and the debut of a monster (hopefully ;)) round 1 2008.

Mate I hope so too :D

Just saw a replay of this kids long range try on NBN and he is very fast. Noone got anywhere near him. Another top signing. Houston however will be the biggest one i reckon. Rep honours to follow.

Jono078

Newie is God's Country said:
Just saw a replay of this kids long range try on NBN and he is very fast. Noone got anywhere near him. Another top signing. Houston however will be the biggest one i reckon. Rep honours to follow.
Very fast?

Didn't look it to me tbh.

Paterson caught him actually.

Bicey_18

I watched both games again today of Keith's first 2 games V Titans and Knights and boy was he impressive.

1st try vs Titans... dragged Rogers over the line, showed great strength...great finish!