Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights threatening to storm out of the castle

Belly07

You need to pull your head out of you a$%e Jobdog!! If the Knights are going to survive...then they have to do something....and if that means partially relocating to Perth..than I say do it!! I would rather have a Newcastle Knights to support than to have my next closest team to my hometeam that I could support be Manly!!!

You wanker!!!

We're not going to Perth. End of story.

NthKnight

You need to pull your head out of you a$%e Jobdog!! If the Knights are going to survive...then they have to do something....and if that means partially relocating to Perth..than I say do it!! I would rather have a Newcastle Knights to support than to have my next closest team to my hometeam that I could support be Manly!!!

You wanker!!!

:lol: Misplace your meds mate

Belly07

NthKnight...I get slightly annoyed by ill-informed drop kicks who stand on their high horse and want to preserve the status quo instead of embracing something that will enable them to continue to support their team for years to come instead of standing still and letting the team fold!!!

:lol: Misplace your meds mate

NthKnight

NthKnight...I get slightly annoyed by ill-informed drop kicks who stand on their high horse and want to preserve the status quo instead of embracing something that will enable them to continue to support their team for years to come instead of standing still and letting the team fold!!!

Slightly = understatement

FTW I agree mate but Perth is a bit of a stretch. The CC is the ideal choice and would provide a growing area with plenty of corporate support and juniors.

Jobdog

You wanker!!!

Perth. No. Auckland. No.

Central Coast? I could live with.

In the meantime, I'll settle for having the Newcastle Knights playing out of :shock: Newcastle! :crazy:

And FTR, I'd prefer to have Con or someone else privatise the club before we moved to Perth.

KniGhTs BaTTLeR

This is f**ked. Im just going to start buying tickets to every home game even though I'll be 1000k's away. If it means saving my team than i'll happily fork out the cash.

PrideKnight

This is just gunna keep happening to many teams until the NRL grows some balls and Wrests control of scheduling and TV Rights back from Channel none and Fuxtel, I know it means buying back channel nones stake, but for the long term prosperity of the game, it has to occur.

My biggest bugbear, and the reason I havent bought season passes for the past 2 years is that with 3 out of 8 games on a weeknight, I cant get to newey.
even if we had a full season schedule instead of 7 weeks I probably would, because I would know if the value is there.

But no, the TV stations have to see who will rate before scheduling it all, really fracks me off.

I don't see what you novos are gettin worked up over anyhow, 40 minutes down the road isnt gunna kill you is it (not that I think any of this will eventuate, its a rocket up the bum, nothing more)

Stranger

Does anyone else think the timing of Burraston spending a week with all the Sydney CEOs and coming home and declaring our backs are against the wall is a bit suss?

I think he has heard from the Sydney CEOs that all the fans have been rallying around since Gallop declared they were all on the verge of folding, and Burraston wants a bit of that.

All he is saying is true, but i think throwing a scare into us comes from chatting to Sydney CEOs.

I wouldn't be so sure that fans have really been rallying... Parra haven't increased, souths haven't increased, Dogs are woeful, take out last game and cronullas have been sh*t...

Its stupid to rely on crowds. We won't survived 10 years if we rely on crowds... one bad year of preformances and we are back in red. 2 Bad years and we are up the creek...

B-dos

there is no chance on earth we'd relocate.

19k to a game and Burraston blames the crowds and threatens the clubs demise? absolutely ridiculous.

First thing Burraston needs to do is get his own house in order and that should include considering tapping in to all other income streams or investigating alternative business models. i am 100% for privatisation and have been for a long time

Stranger

You wanker!!!

A Newcastle Knights in Perth? :lol:

Knights go to Perth my interest in League dies until i pick a new team. And i would feel confident in saying that 95% of current Knights fans would be right behind me. I'm a Sydney boy so i wouldn't mind moving some games to the CC, in fact it would make traveling to games much easier. However, we are not a small club, we are not struggling to bring in decent crowds, our heartland isn't boxed in by other teams, why should we move when other teams who are in ALOT worse positions than us are staying put?

Lets face it, Newcastle should be secure in a footy mad city. 1 town 1 team. I don't mind privatization, but Newcastle should remain in Newcastle. The second they don't, the knights as a brand dies IMO.

cram

dont you have a pipe and slippers to be attending to old man?

the hills are full of people sitting in the same spot as they have since 1988. dont believe me, try sitting in their spots....

Well I do know of some people who havent moved since 1988 and I figure most of the people who are in the Western Stand are all but permanent fixtures. I am not sure how they will cope if they pull down or revamp that stand......lol

snapper

Simple fact is the seats are at all games are well overvalued. It's like putting your Datson 280b up for sail for $10,000 and blaming everyone else for the fact you can't sell it.

I'd go to every home game if I could afford the ticket prices.

With my missus and young bloke and our mortgage, I'm afraid its just more important that I cover the day to day living expenses.

Plus I hate the fact that you buy a so called cheap seat on the goal line only to look up towards halfway and see all the seats empty. (this was the case when we went and watched the Knights roosters game at bluetongue, the ends were packed but none in the premium seats.) That makes it obvious to me that people want to go to the football but are on a tight budget.

Have hardly missed a Knights game in 20 years yet the last 3 or 4 yrs I've watched 70% of those home games at the pub.

Its no coincidence that the older style grounds like leichardt get packed out. Thats the problem when we went to allocated seating prices.

Open up the seating on the eastern hill to the general admission price for a week and watch how many fans turn up. Not only will you get a packed house, but they'll be there from the kick off of the first game of the day

Apey

If they moved games away from EAS I wouldn't go to them, simple as that.

Why blame the fans though? We have pretty good crowds, even though they aren't great, and we're still not generating enough money? Sounds more like more of a management issue to me.

Then again, I do like to talk crap about things I know nothing about :)

~knights~

guys there is a poll on our local station website as to why knights fans don't want to go to the footy

vote here

http://www.kofm.com.au/

these are the questions asked

If you were going to Newcastle Knights home games and have stopped - why?

It's too expensive
The game has become boring
They only sell 1 type of beer
Don't like night games
It's not family friendly
All the good players have gone
Other
Results

these results will be forwarded to our CEO
spacer.gif

atm 61% have said its too expensive

IanG

Also in conversations the price of food kept coming up. Thing is nobody makes people buy food their. It's not like the movies where your supposedly forced to buy it there. Plus there's a pie shop across the road from the ground.

antonius

I also think the changes in games that are on may be a factor. I mean we don't see Premier league anymore, and Flegg has been messed around with. There is something to be said about game scheduling as well. Monday Night games are a total waste of time if you're expecting decent crowds. The game panders too much to broadcasters. We are now lucky to get 3 Sunday games a season. I know they pay the money for it, but how much of that goes back to clubs? I think this is nothing that is isolated to just us, the game is suffering a decline in genral. The NRL needs to look at the veiws of the fans and act on them. People are sick of all the rule changes that are not consistantly applied, they are sick of waiting around for video ref descisions, and the stripping rule has become one of the most frustrating inovations of the decade now that Vid refs can rule on them. I agree the game is becoming sterile and predictable.