Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights to lure Jets fans.

Knights lure Jets fans

By Barry Toohey
January 30, 2008
NEWCASTLE Knights will kick off a major advertising campaign on Sunday to attract season ticket sales as the city's love affair with football code rivals Newcastle Jets continues to soar.
Only seven weeks out from the start of the NRL season, the Knights' pre-season build-up has been shunted into the background for most fans by the Jets' surge towards their first A-League grand final appearance.
As unthinkable as it may once have been, the Knights now have a legitimate rival for the hearts and minds of the Newcastle sporting public.
A crowd of almost 23,000 witnessed the Jets' pulsating 2-0 semi-final first-leg win over Central Coast on Sunday, bettered only once last season by the Knights when the club farewelled champion halfback Andrew Johns.
Sales of Jets merchandise is at an all-time high with major retail outlet Rebel, the official suppliers for the A-League, claiming Jets gear easily out-sold Knights merchandise in its Charlestown store.
"It is not easy to break it down but we would probably sell between 30 and 40 per cent more Jets gear than Knights gear," Rebel assistant manager Matt Dunn said.
"But you have to remember the Knights have their own merchandise store at the stadium and it is also available at other outlets so it is hard to make a comparison."
But far from viewing the Jets as a rival, Knights boss Steve Burraston insists their success is a positive for the town and his club.
Burraston claimed fans will never be forced to choose between the two because their seasons don't overlap.
"We are thrilled for the Jets and the season they are having," Burraston said.
"I was at the game (on Sunday) and really enjoyed it and went back to the club with Con (Jets owner Con Constantine) afterwards.
"There is a good relationship there.
"I don't view it as us being in competition with them.
"It's a positive in the sense that people get used to coming here (EnergyAustralia Stadium) to go to the footy.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23130570-23214,00.html

I have no qualms with the jets doing well.... Thoughts?

~knights~

hmmm

well they should merge somehow

maybe we could have a super season ticket to cover both jets and knights home games :)

bluesbreaker

People love winners, and Australian soccer is about as entertaining as watching paint dry. We'll see how the numbers hold up after a few mediocre seasons. Still, more teams in the area can only be a good thing for town pride.

Frederick

bluesbreaker said:
People love winners, and Australian soccer is about as entertaining as watching paint dry. We'll see how the numbers hold up after a few mediocre seasons. Still, more teams in the area can only be a good thing for town pride.
Bingo. Everyone seems to be forgetting that when the Jets had Nick Theodorakopolous as head coach at beginning of last season, and they lost 7 straight and were anchored to the bottom of the table, the crowds were absolutely shocking. Sub-10,000 every week.

macavity

bluesbreaker said:

yes, people certainly do love winners.

dont agree with you on the entertaining bit though - while certainly not at the level of overseas leagues, the A-League is still quite entertaining - there are some good goals scored, and it tends to be end-to-end stuff, unlike the bigger leagues where a lot more holding up seems to go on. The standard of defences and keepers in the A-League is also quite high (Aloisi was expected to dominate, for example, but certainly has not), its just our mid and forwards that are below average.

I love the Knights above any other team - but I love the Jets too. If they win the league this season, it will be like the Knights in 97 - ensure at least 10 years of good will.

We need to be united as much as possible - there really is no competition between the teams, and the idea of a "super ticket" etc is a great one. If we can have 400,000 fans of both (not either) it is better for both clubs.

antonius

macavity said:
yes, people certainly do love winners.

dont agree with you on the entertaining bit though - while certainly not at the level of overseas leagues, the A-League is still quite entertaining - there are some good goals scored, and it tends to be end-to-end stuff, unlike the bigger leagues where a lot more holding up seems to go on. The standard of defences and keepers in the A-League is also quite high (Aloisi was expected to dominate, for example, but certainly has not), its just our mid and forwards that are below average.

I love the Knights above any other team - but I love the Jets too. If they win the league this season, it will be like the Knights in 97 - ensure at least 10 years of good will.

We need to be united as much as possible - there really is no competition between the teams, and the idea of a "super ticket" etc is a great one. If we can have 400,000 fans of both (not either) it is better for both clubs.
Couldn't agree with you more there Mac. The Jets play a very entertaining game, and they are one of the best passing teams in the A League, their popularity will continue rise as it has since the A Leagues inception.

Misanthrope

I love how people continue to bash football in Australia purely because they're afraid it's going to rock their comfortable little world.

There's room for both rugby league and football in Newcastle - if only the two clubs would stop having slappy fights and start working together to get a decent stadium in the city.

macavity

Misanthrope said:
I love how people continue to bash football in Australia purely because they're afraid it's going to rock their comfortable little world.

There's room for both rugby league and football in Newcastle - if only the two clubs would stop having slappy fights and start working together to get a decent stadium in the city.

at risk of sounding like an 80s ponytail guy talking loudly into his cell phone whilst wearing a bad gray suit, there is so much potential for synergy between the Knights and Jets its not funny. if they could put the handbags away they could really help one another out heaps.

the past couple of weeks have been a huge step forward. hopefully we can continue this on and have a virtual joint venture happening in a few years.

TooheysNew

I have no interest in the game, but I can see how mutually beneficial a partnership would be.

Jobdog

The use of the word "rival" in the article really sh*ts me. Why are they a rival for?

It also says in the article that there is room for both teams (and there most definitely is). Have to agree with what has been said here already and that is that people need to stop thinking of the Jets as "attempting to take over from the Knights" (Con's words generally I know) and embrace them both the same.

Hanscholo

I support both clubs. And i fully endorse the clubs working together where it is strategicaly wise to do so. I see no reason for conflict, the stadium issues can be sorted out in a reasonable manner, the knights may need to give a little on that, but what they will get in return is possibly the most powerful ally they have yet had in the search for funds to expand and improve the place.

Soccer and RL have co-existed in Newcastle for as long as i can remember and im sure far further back than that. I can remember my parents taking me to KB games one week and lakes utd games another week. Its up to the supporters of the both clubs to ensure that things move forward in a reasonable manner.

Jobdog

Hanscholo said:
I support both clubs. And i fully endorse the clubs working together where it is strategicaly wise to do so. I see no reason for conflict, the stadium issues can be sorted out in a reasonable manner, the knights may need to give a little on that, but what they will get in return is possibly the most powerful ally they have yet had in the search for funds to expand and improve the place.
As do I :cool:

And show about the same level of passion for both of them too. We need more novocastrians like us :fist:

Coastbloke

Misanthrope said:

And what will be your attitude when the A-League starts to get cocky and decides to make their code a Winter sport as well.??

If you think Con wants a peaceful co-existence with the Knights you have rocks in your head, mate...

I have no problem with people being 'sports lovers' and following anything with a number on their back, but this fantasy about co-existence is just comical....

Coastbloke said:
And what will be your attitude when the A-League starts to get cocky and decides to make their code a Winter sport as well.??

If you think Con wants a peaceful co-existence with the Knights you have rocks in your head, mate...

I have no problem with people being 'sports lovers' and following anything with a number on their back, but this fantasy about co-existence is just comical....
Ah there is only one problem with your statement mate. Our winter is the break for football in europe. That would do wonders for our world cup exploits. Our players being unfit during the qualifiers.

Frederick

To be honest, Newie, somehow I don't think Coastbloke could give two sh*ts about our players being unfit during the qualifiers ;-)

Coastbloke, how exactly do you think the A-League would go about making their game a winter sport, when it's already fully established in the summer season? In order to change to winter they're either going to have to start the next season a month or two after the previous season, incresing wear and tear on their players, or a year and a month or two after the previous season, which would no doubt lose them a sh*tload of money in sponsorship and broadcasting rights. Not to mention they'd be going up against League, Union and AFL.

The people who run the A-League aren't idiots, but you certainly are.

Coastbloke

Frederick said:
To be honest, Newie, somehow I don't think Coastbloke could give two sh*ts about our players being unfit during the qualifiers ;-)

Coastbloke, how exactly do you think the A-League would go about making their game a winter sport, when it's already fully established in the summer season? In order to change to winter they're either going to have to start the next season a month or two after the previous season, incresing wear and tear on their players, or a year and a month or two after the previous season, which would no doubt lose them a sh*tload of money in sponsorship and broadcasting rights. Not to mention they'd be going up against League, Union and AFL.

The people who run the A-League aren't idiots, but you certainly are.

You are entitled your opinion Frederick..

Although I can make my point without personal insult.

Says more about you character than mine...

As I said, I'm a Knights fan. You are a sports fan. That's fine. You're just not that concerned about the Knights as the dominant team in Newcastle and that's your perogative mate...

Frederick

Coastbloke said:
Although I can make my point with personal insult.

Says more about you character than mine...
:-({|=

Coastbloke said:
You're just not that concerned about the Knights as the dominant team in Newcastle and that's your perogative mate...
LOL says who? And once again, explain to me how two teams who play in completely different seasons are in competition with eachother?

Jobdog

Frederick said:
LOL says who? And once again, explain to me how two teams who play in completely different seasons are in competition with eachother?
Thats what I want to know :crazy:

Misanthrope

It shows your lack of knowledge on the subject that you suggest they'll do that. The reason football is played in the summer here is so it can line up with the European seasons. If it ran over summer, it would be ceaselessly interrupted by the international friendlies and tournaments that take place in the break between European seasons.

Coastbloke

Fair enough, I really don't care...

You are all free to support the Jets as well as the Knights.

This is a public forum and I choose to support the Knights over the Jets - actually, I'll support most things over the Jets.....

I am aware of the season and the lack of a overlap, but I tend to think that the Jets want to dominate Newcastle and would be privately happy to see the Knights stay where they were in 2007...

And as this is a public forum, I say anyone who is overly supportive of the Jets would also be happy to see the Knights where they were in 2007...

Shame...

This is a League forum....

There must be plenty of soccer forums....