Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights V Tigers - Post Match Thread

roopy

all our matchwinners were on the sideline and a bunch of others stepped up.
I think our two injuries cost us the game - but we had no right to be in it at all with Mullo, Bedsy and Kidley in the stands.

roopy

aqua_duck said:
He is absolutely horrific, decent defence but every other aspect in his game isn't even Jim Beam cup standard.

*Multiple dumb penalties for lying around in the play the ball
*Aweful distribution from dummy half that put Wlash under pressure constantly
*No dummy half running
*Grubber kick going dead in goal by about 10m

How anyone ever rated this hack is beyond me, should be playing park footy
Brown can be another 'success' for Brian Smith ala Kidley.
For years he has been stuffed around - is he a halfback, centre, second rower, 5/8, hooker, bench utility - I'm sure he doesn't know.

Before they started mucking him around he scored an outrageous number of tries in Flegg as a lock - and i reckon that is all he is and all he ever has been.

He would add a lot of individual flair to our attack from lock.

Whats Doing

To be honest, inexperience cost us the game ( not to mention a couple of diabolical refereeing calls). There were some crucial and tactical errors because of the inexperience which was obvious to all. Special mention to Tighe and Young who I thought were the best on field.

keeney

I fancy he's too soft and doesn't have the mental speed to match it with the physical speed of the NRL, if that makes sense. As in he can outhink in the juniors but his effect is nullified in FG. I remember watching him in NSW residents 03/04, he was electrifying, fantastic footwork, linebreaks a plenty.

Kidley always had positive strings in his bow at Senior level. Riley has none, and no bendy piece of wood either.

aqua_duck

roopy said:
Brown can be another 'success' for Brian Smith ala Kidley.
For years he has been stuffed around - is he a halfback, centre, second rower, 5/8, hooker, bench utility - I'm sure he doesn't know.

Before they started mucking him around he scored an outrageous number of tries in Flegg as a lock - and i reckon that is all he is and all he ever has been.

He would add a lot of individual flair to our attack from lock.
Kids showed signs of his potential even before smith arrived, riley has shown nothing in 1st grade yet. Tries way too hard and is abit soft

roopy

Brown has game.
Just not the game everyone has tried to get him to have.
A good part of his problem is he has a great attitude. He will put his hand up for anything - just doesn't have the ability to follow it up.

roopy

over four years Brown has played 31 games of firstgrade - which you would think would be enough for him to have found a role in the team - but i reckon half would have been off the bench and the other half would have seen him in four or five different positions.

I actually think he would have been better off going elsewhere.

Super Sub

I was listening to the game on the radio and the commentators were giving Bailey a massive wrap. IMO he is a really good up and coming player and we should put effort into keeping him for following years.

Can anyone tell me how he went? Apparently he was largely responsible for both of Tighe's tries, and how was his kicking game?

Frederick

Mick Young - 45 tackles, 1 missed tackle
Snowy - 25 tackles, 1 missed tackle, 15 hitups, 134 metres, 1 offload
Dan Tolar - 33 tackles, 1 missed tackle, 12 hitups, 107 metres, 3 offloads

Some great efforts there. Did Snowy come on to replace Reyno? I didn't see or hear anything about the match cause I was at work all day :p

Johns Magic

No Young replaced Reyno.

Snowden must've played upwards of 60 minutes today. He looked like he was going to fall down and die at times.

roopy

Johns Magic said:
No Young replaced Reyno.

Snowden must've played upwards of 60 minutes today. He looked like he was going to fall down and die at times.
and he needs to do that every week.
the big guy will eventually get match fit.
It seems like every year his best footy is in the last 10 weeks or so.
we should sell in to the cowboys and let Billy Johnstone flog him up and down sandhills in the off season.

Bicey_18

roopy said:
and he needs to do that every week.
the big guy will eventually get match fit.
It seems like every year his best footy is in the last 10 weeks or so.
we should sell in to the cowboys and let Billy Johnstone flog him up and down sandhills in the off season.

You mean the Titans Roopy?

keeney

Bailey was great, the kicking game was quite good too, especially considering its an aspect of his game hitherto unutilised in the top grade. Great passing game, good running game, quality conributions with the boot, solid in defense. I thought he was the best half we had on field today by quite a while.

IanG

Yeah definatly a disappointing finish. Handling was tricky out there but still need to hang on to the pill. We still need to play for the full 80 minutes. We were in it for most of the match but we slacked off and the Tigers ended up running away with it. Not good for Kurt Reynoldson though. Listening to Gazza's call suggested he's done a crusiet(spelling) ligament If so that's his season gone