Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kurtley Beale - Watch out for him in the future or not?

Dragons_#1

nicko18 said:
Mal Meninga said:
Does anyone know if Beale's on one of those "academic scholarships" that GPS has made famous? I remember a few years ago Kings gave out a bundle of these to guys that were in their 20's.
quote]

mate kings has never given out a scholarship, who are the guys that got them and ill tell u there HSC result.

Johns Magic

Dragons_#1 said:
nah mate i dun sorry.
what team u play for?? and possy??

I'm not either.
I'm playing wing in the Grammar 15B's.
Yes....... Grammar sucks....
But the 15's are all right. Our 15A's only lost to Kings 10-3 or something.

Mal Meninga

Dragons #1 - I just heard a few rumours about kings giving out scholarships to over-age players(or making them come back for another year?) and it forced Sydney high to forfeit because they'd just about get killed against them.

And consequently it caused schools to stop giving out sports scholarships, although some schools are still doing it.

Hazy

Hey Mal,

I dont know about the over age problem in Sydney, but in Brisbane they identified a few years ago that some first XV (or fringe) players would come back for a second dig at year 12, mainly as they were only capable of being schoolboy stars and were afraid of the big bad real world.

The head of Nudgee College (I think) suggested a maximum age rule for the top few teams so that this wouldn't be encouraged, and Im pretty certain it was implemented.

Sydney High on the other hand (as I believe to be the case) has very few sport and/or rugby scholarships, mainly only giving academic positions. This resulted in a lack of top level players, and after a particulary bad game injury wise, didnt want to throw the even less experienced (and smaller) 2nd XV players up against a 'real' first XV side from one of the 'better' rugby schools.

Dragons_#1

Mal Meninga said:
Dragons #1 - I just heard a few rumours about kings giving out scholarships to over-age players(or making them come back for another year?) and it forced Sydney high to forfeit because they'd just about get killed against them.

And consequently it caused schools to stop giving out sports scholarships, although some schools are still doing it.
hey mate,
nah tehy aint aloud to give out sport scholas but the scholas that they give out are for academics and teh ones that get them are heaps smart guys like hangahlahu went ot kings and was ona academic but also got 99.6 in his HSC and all of the others have been in teh 90's to so they are smart guys aswell as goof footy players.

Mal Meninga

How did Beale go against Grammer? I'm guessing great again cause I heard it was around 40 zip.

Sydney High is a selective school and cannot give out any scholarships and every student has to undergo a test to get in. It's bizarre that they've been able to win GPS title's considering the provisions that people have to go through to get in.
I've never heard that story before Hazy, because i'm pretty sure High was worried about 1sts and 2nds being thumped to the ground. Your story of Nudgee seems familiar with what I vaguely remember about kings but Dragons #1 seems to have cleared that up. Although if your having your 2nd or even 3rd dig at year 12 your bound to know something on the school syllabus.

Joeys are run away this year though, the NSW 1's is a replica. Is the team made up of "juniors"(ie primarily made up of players going through the ranks say 13a or b all the way to opens) or did they poach a few players from the CAS and ISA, and raid the country schools? I spoke to some players at Chevalier(Bowral) and their whole senior age groups have been racked, by the GPS.

The Observer

Dragons_#1 said:
Mal Meninga said:

hey mate,
nah tehy aint aloud to give out sport scholas but the scholas that they give out are for academics

You're quite naive if you believe that.

ledzep

Joker said:
Dragons_#1 said:
Mal Meninga said:

hey mate,
nah tehy aint aloud to give out sport scholas but the scholas that they give out are for academics

You're quite naive if you believe that.
he also cannot spell