Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

LANG PARK MATCH

beekershark

And neither of them made any attempt to get you guys 5 mins with the team after a training run or something ?

That stinks mate.

chili pepper

Cheers again for Fizman and Pierre for organising Sunday. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Disappointed to hear that we wont get a chance to meet the team - I was getting really excited at the prospect. Shame the club can't recognise the enormous efforts many have made to tarvel long distances and organise a small posse of diehard fans to support the team. :? :?

OK guys I was going to speak to you all as a group on the weekend over this issue and still will, but let me set a few things right.
This morning I received a call from Barry Pierce and this call was at length. He verbally gave me the itinery of the club and was at pains to relay that due to the NRLs sanctioning of the match (Sunday 3:00pm) and availability of the flights back to Sydney it didn't leave much time. The teams is jetting back to Sydney after the game. As it is our first foray into Suncorp Stadium we are all in the dark as to how to R.V with the team post match. Barry is MORE than prepared to have the team meet with us mere supporters after the match but here is the hiccup.
Following on from our conversation I rand Suncorp stadium direct and the functions director was not available but they took my number. Approximately 1 hr later I receive a call from, wait for it, The Broncos. I told them of our circumstance and the position is this.
Due to the state of security, patrons do not have access to participating teams. This includes the Broncos for local supporters. The access to the ground is via a ring road under the stadium and is ineffectual as a staging area.

I will endeavour to meet with Barry Pierce prior to the game and see if we can meet somewhere post match for a short time. But please be aware.. NO PROMISES.
I thank Barry and Steve Rogers for the time spent in communicating with me over this issue but it seems out of our control. The MAIN aspect is for us to meet as a group have a few laughs, drinks and support our Mighty Sharkies. Our club officials have been brilliant in assisting us attempt to organise a meeting for the supporters and players. How many other clubs CEO & footy manager would take time out to do this???
As it is, it's shaping up as a great social weekend for us. see you all over the weekend.

A for effort Pierre. :clap: You guys will all have to make the trip down to Shark Park for a game this year and I garauntee you will meet all the boys. Plus we can have a Darts championship and BBQ at my house before the game. ;-)

RockyShark

Thanks for clearing all that up Pierre... I'm going down to watch the game. Meeting the players is not overly important to me personally, but it was more the recognition or acknowledgement of us out-of-town supporters. But it sounds like they know we're up here!

Shark

Trust me, they will know we're up there.

I spoke to Peach after one away game, at Newcastle, and he was stoked that he was able to hear a small group of us cheering. At another game at Gosford a few years ago, Chris Beattie singled us out after a win up there, saying that he could hear us going solid for the whole 80 minutes, and that the boys really need that level of support at away matches.

Now, why am I so sure our presence at Suncorp will be noted?

I have sat thru footy games with Pierre and Beekershark before. With that pair, plus another 58 back-ups, we'll he heard. No doubt at all.

chileman

Can't make the match but will try to meet up with some of you on the Saturday night after I finish soccer....Pierre, keep the floor clear in your room if I need to crash! ;-)

Jimbo

Make sure you all have a good look around at the magnificent design and construction of Suncorp :p

Shark

Jimbo said:
Make sure you all have a good look around at the magnificent design and construction of Suncorp

What, the magnificent design and construction that totally separates the teams and officials from any possible post-match interaction with fans by whisking the teams away via a separate loop road?

Sounds great, Boxhead... :roll:

Shark

LOL, if Pierre's intel is accurate, it sounds like the infrastructure may have more than a little to do with the Bronco's policy...!

So you, my friend, can BITE ME!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

...Or not. :D

fizman

Good work by the Flying Frenchman Pierre. I disagree with his sentiments on the President though, In MY opinion I think he could have done more if he wanted too. 3 years in a row this has happened AND we contact the Club at least 2 months before the game is up here, so they KNOW that we organise get togethers.

I have asked Wayne Bennett if the Broncos can wear face masks of our President during the game. He laughed and said that it cannot be done because we would win by 42 points.

bubs

It sounds nasty but I can understand why the team disappears quickly in the evening.
They go home on the evening of the match and the club doesn't have to shout another nights accomodation.
Does anyone know when they are heading up?
To meet the players afterwards we might have to wait for a 7.30pm match on a Friday or Saturday night. Then accomodation will be paid for and we can follow the team (ala Melbourne this year).

Good point bubs. Perhaps all of us ought to email Mr. Gallop at NRL headquarters and petition Brisbane matches for Friday or Saturday nights only. That way we may not be disadvantaged. Anyone know his email address????