Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

LAURIE DALEY = W@NKER

Craigshark

ShireShark not everyone can drive or get transport to the games..
Im only 16 and i have been to 11 games so far this year and intend on going to the rest of them apart from the Cowboys game..

RICHO

Shark said:
OK, OK, OK, I've had enough.

Lozza called a terrible game against the Knights, granted. I haven't heard the call from today, as, like SS, I was AT THE GAME. But, I'll check it out through the week and form my own opinion. If it was as ordinary as you say, I'll use that link Beekershark posted two weeks ago and give FOX a spray.

Now, here's something else for those sitting at home and having a whinge about Lozza's call. Unless (like Tama, Pierre, Fiz, Imasharkie) you live interstate or a decent distance from the Shire, get off the couch and go to the matches people!

I have a THREE HOUR (read it, 3) drive EACH WAY to get to the games. Today, thanks to snow and ice closing several highways, I JUST made it for kickoff. Fearing further road closures heading home, I hung around for 30 minutes after the game and headed home again. Normally though I stick around to go to the presentations, etc.

So, call Lozza a w@nker all you like. You can turn his commentary on FOX off, and just listen to the ref or the crowd now anyway. BUT, if you live anywhere within a 150 km radius of the Shire (ie, Kiama or Nowra, Lithgow, Lower Hunter/top end Central Coast), you'll get no bloody sympathy from me!

Fair call, slight problem.
Sunday was the day of the winds. There was a friggen power pole blown across my street, and I had no way of getting out of my street in Wollongong, let alone get to Shark Park!!!

And I WISH I could turn the commentary off. Unfortunately it only works on "selected games" each week. This means ONE game, on a Saturday night.

I go to as many games as I physically can get to. But when I can't get there, it's Laurie Daley or nothing, and that SUCKS.

I'm coming down for the Broncos match. It'll be my second game of the year. It's a six hour drive for me.

Quite frankly I envy you people living in Sydney with the opportunity to watch footy matches each weekend. I'd love to be able to watch footy every weekend, but sometimes a thing called life gets in the way.

And Daley picked the Dragons to win comfortably against the Sharks. So yes he is a w@nker.

imasharkie

Great call Shark.
When i lived in sydney i was at the games every weekend (those were the days)
Its great living in QLD but damn i miss my footy.
Hope to see you when I'm down for the Parra game cous.
Laurie is still a wanker though.

SirShire

I try to get to as many as I can, but I am studying a bit and I work a bit on weekends at Kareela GC. I will not miss that Dragins game. Hope I meet some of you blokes there too.

No excuses, you have to engineer your lives better. There is no excuse for not attending home games and very few for not attending away games. I am playing golf this weekend and can't make the game at Kogarah, therefore I am a deadset disgrace!

There are little or no excuses for not attending a home game in particular. Its getting disgraceful the poor crowds we get at home and how we are always outnumbered by the opposition at home :evil:

gunnamatta bay

Shark said:
carcharias said:
Shark great effort in getting there though, Where are you coming from?

Bathurst, mate.

land of V8s and...not much else!

Nah, kidding, it's a great community out here. Very friendly, great place.

The new fossil museum looks interesting. I like Bathurst and it offers a lot more than the races. If you are adventurous try the bridle track up to Hill End. I've done it on a motor cycle, 4wd and car. (car can be a little hairy. just take it slow)

Shark

As it happens GM, I was at the official opening by Premier Carr yesterday. It's awesome, the educational benefits alone are worth more than the $15M Somerville was offered to take his collection overseas.

This guy, Professor Somerville, is the owner of one of only 19 full T-Rex skeletons in the world, and it's in Bathurst. On display is a full cast of the real skeleton (which is in safe storage at the museum too), but only the real scientists get to see the real skeleton.

And yes Gunna, the Bridle Track is great, but one problem we get out here is city slickers taking it on and coming unstuck. One of my SES units based out at Sofala are trying to figure out how to retrieve a vehicle from a gorge that went AWOL a few weeks back.

gunnamatta bay

There are so many places out in the Bathurst district. Kanangra Walls is spectacular, Abercrombie Caves, Jenolan Caves and theres nothing better then spending an evening in any number of pubs in the local villages.

gunnamatta bay

Shark said:
This guy, Professor Somerville, is the owner of one of only 19 full T-Rex skeletons in the world, and it's in Bathurst. On display is a full cast of the real skeleton (which is in safe storage at the museum too), but only the real scientists get to see the real skeleton.

He was interviewed yesterday and remained tight lipped where he got the t rex. To the best of my knowledge most t rexs come from the US or China.

gunnamatta bay

one problem we get out here is city slickers taking it on and coming unstuck. One of my SES units based out at Sofala are trying to figure out how to retrieve a vehicle from a gorge that went AWOL a few weeks back.

The same thing happens at Kurnell every weekend. I own a 4wd but I am constantrly amazed by the ratbags who suddenly think they are the Leyland brothers.

My big tip with 4wds and trail bikes is slow and steady. Generally a 4wd in low range will crawl it's way through the rough stuff without you touching the gas pedal.

Shark

Gunna Matter said:
...I am constantrly amazed by the ratbags who suddenly think they are the Leyland brothers.

GOLD! :lol: :lol: :lol:

And Carch...I know the Morgans, who now own Brownings Smash. But yes, Brownings is a long-established local business. They've grown alot too.

And, you'll be pleased to know, Professor Somerville DID end up making it to the opening yesterday
what a great story ! sounds like a great man.
Professor Somerville ..how's that for a great title.