Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

League? Indeed! - New Footy Show on Youtube

Cranky

Talk more to each other rather than to the camera. It'll be more natural for you guys and make viewers feel less pinned down by the double stare of death you blokes had going on.

Also, I think it would be a good idea to have a clipboard with a rundown of what you are going to talk about and put your ideas in point form and playing it more off the cuff. That's how I do it for wedding/engagement/birthday speeches and I think it comes across a lot better.

Good stuff though!:thumn

KeepingTheFaith

No, 10 minute episodes is fine, but 2 x 10 minutes is 20 minutes which is where it drags out, especially when there's nothing to visually keep the audience watching. In it's current form it'd be better off as a radio style show. I started tuning out visually after 2-3 minutes and let the audio stay, which is when the audio issues really kicked in.

SoftSydney

Not too bad, you guys need to forget about the camera and relax, less subject matter and more depth about your topics.

clarency

10min is far too long for 2 reasons.

1. Most viewers don't properly understand the time and effort it takes to maintain a successful youtube channel. A 5min clip (done properly) can take hours to film, sort, and edit. If the makers expect to have episodes with a runtime of 10> minutes I give them 3 episodes tops before they both give up.

2. While some (haynetrain... what a f*cking stupid nickname... plane just makes it that much more ridiculous and he is highly overrated...) are ok with lengthy episodes, these are a minority and your target market (being the average league fan) will have a short attention span. On top of this they aren't going to care who you are let alone your opinion.

Keep it short. Keep it entertaining. Keep it simple. Don't overdo it.

If you're serious about going long-term with the project you would be wise to follow my advice.

WaznTheGreat

E
10min is far too long for 2 reasons.

1. Most viewers don't properly understand the time and effort it takes to maintain a successful youtube channel. A 5min clip (done properly) can take hours to film, sort, and edit. If the makers expect to have episodes with a runtime of 10> minutes I give them 3 episodes tops before they both give up.

2. While some (haynetrain... what a f*cking stupid nickname... plane just makes it that much more ridiculous and he is highly overrated...) are ok with lengthy episodes, these are a minority and your target market (being the average league fan) will have a short attention span. On top of this they aren't going to care who you are let alone your opinion.

Keep it short. Keep it entertaining. Keep it simple. Don't overdo it.

If you're serious about going long-term with the project you would be wise to follow my advice.

genius

Red&BlackBear

I like it mate. Good work. It'd be great to see you do a segment on expansion and talk about each bid. CCBears, WAReds, Ipswich Jets, Central Qld, Brisbane2, EastsBrisbane3, PNG, NZ2 and Adelaide relocation. Gather up some of the facts, the benefits and positives each bid will bring. Also as stated about a segment on WARL would be great too. Maybe one on Newtown Jets in the NSW Cup?

League Indeed is now an approved affiliate of League Unlimited and we wish them all the best with the show.

Christmas Ape

Thanks Twizzle!

Episode 2 is up on YouTube now - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqvifL6IoaY&feature=feedu

We reckon it's a big improvement on our first show. Have a look and let us know what you think.

Episode 3 has finished filming and will be up by tomorrow afternoon.

As part of our affiliation with League Unlimited, we'll be putting together a segment featuring these forums in the very near future. We've already got some ideas but we'd love for you guys to give us some suggestions.

Have at it!

And thanks again to LU for the support.

good effort lads, ignore the miserable barstewards!

Happy to put together a piece on the WA Reds bid if you would be interested.

clarency

I'm not trying to be an *sshole or anything, if I was you'd be reading a completely different set of comments.

I'm not here to demand you follow my advice but you asked for it, so I gave it. If you chose not to follow it I fully believe it will not be as successful as it could be.

I haven't watched this episode so nothing new to add except.

1. No matter when the filming gets done or how long or short the episode. Release each episode on an interval basis (same day, once/twice a week). More organised structure allows viewers to more easily anticipate new content and watch regularly, otherwise your viewer ratings will scatter.

clarency

I'm not trying to be an *sshole or anything, if I was you'd be reading a completely different set of comments.

I'm not here to demand you follow my advice but you asked for it, so I gave it. If you chose not to follow it I fully believe it will not be as successful as it could be.

1. No matter when the filming gets done or how long or short the episode. Release each episode on an interval basis (same day, once/twice a week). More organised structure allows viewers to more easily anticipate new content and watch regularly, otherwise your viewer ratings will scatter.

Christmas Ape

good effort lads, ignore the miserable barstewards!

Happy to put together a piece on the WA Reds bid if you would be interested.

Thanks Perth Red. A piece on the Reds will be coming up soon. I'll be in touch, thanks for the offer.

Yep episode 2 was a big improvement,nice work.

Thanks Haynetrain!

I'm not sure who that's directed at mate but we did in fact take your advice seriously. I would've said thanks but the thread got pulled before I got a chance.
We will be releasing the show every Thursday.
If you get a chance, please check out the next couple of episodes and let us know what you think. It's advice like yours that'll help us improve and we do appreciate it.

Great effort guys, already settling into it nicely.

Thanks Eion!