Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

League picks up the tab as kids play their sport free of charge

magpie4ever

Don't wish to put a downer on a positive story from News Ltd on RL, but the junior rep competitions (matts, ball - flegg and president's cup (when they existed)) were always free to the selected rep players (even in my day) and so they should be.

So it is not new, but News Ltd have obviously used it to highlight the difference between League and Soccer at the junior rep level.

To my knowledge Souths Juniors have always assisted their junior clubs with rego fees and gear etc.

The posters' comments about the insurance situation is correct, it only covers medical charges not covered by Medicare or the public health system (so very little).

ggmu

Can be worse than that. If you want your kid to even be eligible for rep sides they need to play in the NPL, which costs $1000 a season. My step daughter does it but luckily she was chosen as the one lucky kid on the team to get sponsored. Funniest part is if they do manage to achieve rep status with their hard work, talent and dedication, they're "rewarded" with a bill for $3000.

So yeah the socceroos and matildas of the future won't be any good but at least we'll know that they had rich parents.

Seriously? That's f**ked. I thought the $260 I pay to play all age was bad lol

Step dad was in the army mate, living in Holsworthy unfortunately meant that if I wanted to play footy it was going to have to be for a bulldogs region club.

I guess I'm kinda like Steve Price........, but far less talented and according to my missus, far less good looking........

Ahh, alls good then. I never understood how Hoslworthy was Doggies territory, when it lies on Heathcote Road - which goes from Eels/Magpies territory, past the Army base, through a heap of scrub and ended up in Sharkies territory!

Anyway, like Norton and Thurston, you found your home in NQ!

magpie4ever

Step dad was in the army mate, living in Holsworthy unfortunately meant that if I wanted to play footy it was going to have to be for a bulldogs region club.

I guess I'm kinda like Steve Price........, but far less talented and according to my missus, far less good looking........[/QUOTE]

You must be one seriously ugly f**ker.:lol:

Canard

Without the truth getting in the way of a good story . . . JUNIOR soccer fees in your local association club ( not an "elite", representative club ) would vary from around $0 - $140.
The adult costs are significantly more, as was posted by some. Again, something to do with Insurance.
How many goodies the kid gets at the end of year would depend on the wealth and sponsorship $$$ in that club.
Some keep their shorts and jerseys, some get diddly.

IMHO, league must start competing with AFL in what it provides for it's juniors.
The schools seem to get endless visits from afl players and marketing.
My son's school was given 2 full sets of playing jerseys printed in school colours with logo's, etc FREE of charge. Around $700 to buy normally. Sadly, no similar thing from the NRL.
Soccer already has a huge foothold on what were previously unchallenged junior league numbers. If we don't watch out, afl will scoop up another truckload from under our feet.

In Western Sydney they give out flares and seat destroying tool kit.

thorson1987

Ahh, alls good then. I never understood how Hoslworthy was Doggies territory, when it lies on Heathcote Road - which goes from Eels/Magpies territory, past the Army base, through a heap of scrub and ended up in Sharkies territory!

Heathcote road is nowhere near eels territory mate.

thorson1987

Yeah, Liverpool is Wests and, I think, Moorebank/Holsworthy is the western edge of Canterbury's area.

Correct.

I do know Liverpool used to be classed as parra district before the Magpies moved to C/Town.

But I started playing for minto in 1992 and Liverpool was Wests by that time

magpie4ever

Correct.

I do know Liverpool used to be classed as parra district before the Magpies moved to C/Town.

But I started playing for minto in 1992 and Liverpool was Wests by that time

If memory serves me correct, I think Wests originally retained their traditional juniors clubs, as well as, their new area clubs. Their rep sides were called Wests Black and Wests White.

Eventually, they seceded their traditional area clubs to Balmain (eastern clubs like Fivedock, Croydon Park, Burwood/Concord), Canterbury (northern clubs like Enfield and Berala) and Parramatta (western clubs like Granville, Auburn and Lidcombe). Many of these clubs were struggling and folded in the short term.

Wests gained Liverpool and the Green Valley area from Parramatta.

And Campbelltown. Eric Groth SNR was a Mt Pritchard boy, Junior and Hayne I believe from Cabramatta.

IMHO, one of Fitzgerald's materstrokes was to swap everything south of Fairfield for Auburn and Lidcombe with Wests. Thank god he's gone!!!!!

magpie4ever

And Campbelltown. Eric Groth SNR was a Mt Pritchard boy, Junior and Hayne I believe from Cabramatta.

IMHO, one of Fitzgerald's materstrokes was to swap everything south of Fairfield for Auburn and Lidcombe with Wests. Thank god he's gone!!!!!

Hayne was a Minto boy, whom Parramatta grabbed when he went to Westfield Sports High.

Loudy, Hayne's mum is Terry Hill's sister - am I correct?

If I'm right and if he was a racehorse, it would be said; he was bred in the purple.

Red Bear

Don't get me wrong, whatever insurance is provided is pretty barebones.

Me and my brothers have done ACLs, there was $2000-3000 of cover for surgery costs I think, but since we got it done on medicare it was worthless to us. Did not cover specialist visits or MRIs. So I didn't bother filling out the form.
Same as what it is in soccer. You pay a fortune for insurance that wont cover anything unless you truely have no other coverage.

Broke my arm and just went through own cover because the other insurance wouldn't pay for it.

And I had free rego when I played footy, but that was for a club that had barely any juniors and an enormous amount of cash.

thorson1987

Guru Jnr played for Eaglevale St Andrews, Hayne and Inu are from minto

Inu was already playing for Cabra when he was 11 despite still living in Minto. Hayne went to Cabra when he was 13 or 14.

The amount of players who left the wests junior league when they got to 13-14 years old was staggering.

magpie4ever

I just found out, Hayne's mum is a neice of Terry Hill's mum. He was bred to be a champ, should have been playing for Wests.

magpie4ever

Guru Jnr played for Eaglevale St Andrews, Hayne and Inu are from minto

Inu was already playing for Cabra when he was 11 despite still living in Minto. Hayne went to Cabra when he was 13 or 14.

The amount of players who left the wests junior league when they got to 13-14 years old was staggering.

Westfield Sports High can be blamed for a lot of this.

beave

What i always found funny was at high school friday arvo sport, footy and regional athletics was always against the Campbeltown area schools but on weekends playing on the field across from the same school (Hammondville oval) we were then playing against kids from canterbury district. It was like as if Heathcote Rd was the great divide or something.

My homes always been NQ mate, born and bred there but lucky enough to have spent a bit of time in Sydney with my step dads and now my work. I like Sydney but i could never afford to buy a house there, well in a nicer part anyways.

thorson1987

What i always found funny was at high school friday arvo sport, footy and regional athletics was always against the Campbeltown area schools but on weekends playing on the field across from the same school (Hammondville oval) we were then playing against kids from canterbury district. It was like as if Heathcote Rd was the great divide or something.

My homes always been NQ mate, born and bred there but lucky enough to have spent a bit of time in Sydney with my step dads and now my work. I like Sydney but i could never afford to buy a house there, well in a nicer part anyways.

It's pretty strange how the school zones work in Sydney.

Although once you get to regionals Sydney South West covers the whole Canterbury and Wests junior nurseries.

thorson1987

And Heathcote Rd is the boundary I think. The school side is classed as Wests and the Footy field side is Dogs.