Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

League picks up the tab as kids play their sport free of charge

Titanic

All QRL-registered players are insured (see http://www.oamps.com.au/sports-associations/QLD-rugby-league for the details and interpretations), however, from long hard experience unless you keep on the club's back you may never see any return as claims are often put straight in the too hard basket. In fact, I think OAMPS is the National insurer of rugby league.

CC_Roosters

My open age soccer rego on the coast was 320 last season, I hate paying it as the breakdown of the money shows that most goes to the nsw and ffa while the club makes a pittance. Never mind that its a rip off anyway and I have heard several cases where the much vaunted insurance scheme is not worth the paper its written on! Probably won't play soccer again.

I rememeber one massive rego day at Souths Jnrs where every player in the district registered on that day when my son played for maroubra

We moved to balmain district where rego fees varied from free at Leichardt wanderers to up to over $180 at Holy Cross

Helps when youve got a casino behind you

beave

Balmain leagues is still closed yeah mate?

Surely that would have a financial impact on the rego fees in that district or did they never help the kids out in the first place?

I played juniors for Moorebank (1992-1994) and i think even back then rego was $50-70 but then the sports club got built (well stage 1) and i can't remember if our rego fees were subsidised. Moorebank did have soccer, netball, league, baseball and cricket so there would have been a lot of mouths to feed from a subsidy point of view.

thorson1987

My open age soccer rego on the coast was 320 last season, I hate paying it as the breakdown of the money shows that most goes to the nsw and ffa while the club makes a pittance. Never mind that its a rip off anyway and I have heard several cases where the much vaunted insurance scheme is not worth the paper its written on! Probably won't play soccer again.

I played one season of soccer in Macarthur district.

Rego was $270, then on top of that $10 per player each game to help pay for the officials, never mind the fact we were lucky to have 2 linesman.

All I got out of it was socks and shorts.

Never again.

Delboy

My 2 grandsons who play soccer pay $280 , buy their own shorts and socks and have to give their shirts in at end of season

My junior club charges $150 , they get to keep their jersey, shorts , socks and training shirt plus club yearbook and includes insurance and rego

Last year in the final game of soccer, which they lost, the 9 year olds were sitting on the ground in the cold when a club official starting making them take their jerseys off as they were neded for the next year. As far as I can make out he sport is upside down the kids supporting the A league and socceroos, and Gallop is still a nuffy who did nothing much for the game while paying service to News Corp. He just goes to nicer places and spouts gibberish still for soccer

thorson1987

The only time kids have to give back the jerseys at the end of the year is if the side doesn't have a sponsor. (That's what it has been like in the Wests comp for a few years)

Otherwise they get them at their presentation.

Balmain leagues is still closed yeah mate?

Surely that would have a financial impact on the rego fees in that district or did they never help the kids out in the first place?

I played juniors for Moorebank (1992-1994) and i think even back then rego was $50-70 but then the sports club got built (well stage 1) and i can't remember if our rego fees were subsidised. Moorebank did have soccer, netball, league, baseball and cricket so there would have been a lot of mouths to feed from a subsidy point of view.
Yeh, Balmain couldnt pay their way ...Ryde Eastwood Leagues ended up financing Balmain Juniors for the most part

Lambretta

The insurance is cover for anything that does not have a Medicare rebate, so if the procedure has a Medicare component it is the responsibility of the parent etc

That is necessary to keep costs under control, I am secretary of a large junior club and we had a number of claims submitted and covered . That is how it works in the Parramatta jnr league and generally no complaints. Most claims are from the U15s up

My wife tore her Achilles playing a game of netball (her first and last) and the insurance only covered items that weren't covered by the government or our own private health care.

Here is the kicker - if we got partial coverage from our private health care fund they didn't have to contribute anything through insurance

Of a $900 bill we were rebated $20 and the insurance company absolved themselves of the rest of the bill.

:lol: errrr wankers :?

beave

Yeh, Balmain couldnt pay their way ...Ryde Eastwood Leagues ended up financing Balmain Juniors for the most part

Slightly off topic (apologies) whats the latest with the leagues club then? Is a new one ever going to be established?

beave

Damn shame. Such a prime location too.

So Balmain as a football entity is now pretty much dead? I know of the dramas with wests providing the bulk of the coin in wests tigers but I just can't fathom how this has all panned out?.

Didn't Ben Elias have something to do with this as well? I thought I remember reading his name in an article a few years ago?

Damn shame. Such a prime location too.

So Balmain as a football entity is now pretty much dead? I know of the dramas with wests providing the bulk of the coin in wests tigers but I just can't fathom how this has all panned out?.

Didn't Ben Elias have something to do with this as well? I thought I remember reading his name in an article a few years ago?

Yeh Benny's behind it all they reckon....his name is dirt to many old Tigers

Balmain have 16's and 18s reps, thats as far as it goes.

beave

You sure you aint getting it mixed up with Suncorp?

BTW, Beave, I used to trust you. Claiming to be a Canterbury junior - there is no such thing!!!!

Bloody Queenslanders.........

Step dad was in the army mate, living in Holsworthy unfortunately meant that if I wanted to play footy it was going to have to be for a bulldogs region club.

I guess I'm kinda like Steve Price........, but far less talented and according to my missus, far less good looking........

I would imagine Souths Sydney juniors rl would be the richest junior sports organizations in the world

I would have thought some American high schools and colleges would be spending more, not to mention clubs like Man utd who have jnr programmes all over the world?

The Rosco

Without the truth getting in the way of a good story . . . JUNIOR soccer fees in your local association club ( not an "elite", representative club ) would vary from around $0 - $140.
The adult costs are significantly more, as was posted by some. Again, something to do with Insurance.
How many goodies the kid gets at the end of year would depend on the wealth and sponsorship $$$ in that club.
Some keep their shorts and jerseys, some get diddly.

IMHO, league must start competing with AFL in what it provides for it's juniors.
The schools seem to get endless visits from afl players and marketing.
My son's school was given 2 full sets of playing jerseys printed in school colours with logo's, etc FREE of charge. Around $700 to buy normally. Sadly, no similar thing from the NRL.
Soccer already has a huge foothold on what were previously unchallenged junior league numbers. If we don't watch out, afl will scoop up another truckload from under our feet.