Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

League picks up the tab as kids play their sport free of charge

We've just had some hard working parents set up a new jnr club in Sw Perth, the mandurah storm. It has been a big struggle for them with things like kit costs, training equip, field hire, insurance etc. it's hard work getting kids in afl country playing RL so you can't put the barrier of high rego costs or no one will choose league. Would be great if there was a start up grant for clubs like this to help them get up and running. Warl has been supportive with advice admin support and a development officer for coaching but some cash from the NRL for new clubs, especially in expansion areas would be a good development.

MrAnonymous

We've just had some hard working parents set up a new jnr club in Sw Perth, the mandurah storm. It has been a big struggle for them with things like kit costs, training equip, field hire, insurance etc. it's hard work getting kids in afl country playing RL so you can't put the barrier of high rego costs or no one will choose league. Would be great if there was a start up grant for clubs like this to help them get up and running. Warl has been supportive with advice admin support and a development officer for coaching but some cash from the NRL for new clubs, especially in expansion areas would be a good development.
Or they could do what every other club does and raise the money themselves.

Delboy

There are grants available from the NRL, have they tried contacting development @ NRL , they will have someone come back . Not sure if that is an email address but would definitely contact them

unforgiven

Without the truth getting in the way of a good story . . . JUNIOR soccer fees in your local association club ( not an "elite", representative club ) would vary from around $0 - $140.
The adult costs are significantly more, as was posted by some. Again, something to do with Insurance.
How many goodies the kid gets at the end of year would depend on the wealth and sponsorship $$$ in that club.
Some keep their shorts and jerseys, some get diddly.

IMHO, league must start competing with AFL in what it provides for it's juniors.
The schools seem to get endless visits from afl players and marketing.
My son's school was given 2 full sets of playing jerseys printed in school colours with logo's, etc FREE of charge. Around $700 to buy normally. Sadly, no similar thing from the NRL.
Soccer already has a huge foothold on what were previously unchallenged junior league numbers. If we don't watch out, afl will scoop up another truckload from under our feet.

What a contradictory post. You are correct that what kids receive depends greatly on the sponsorship and wealth of the local club, then dump on league because your son's school received AFL kits and not NRL kits. To counter that the school I work at received 2 sets of Rugby League jumpers from St Mary's Leagues club and we had to buy our own sets of AFL jerseys, and we are down the road from GWS supposed training base in Blacktown.

Clubs and schools that are located close to a wealthy club receive the support.

elbusto

Red, I reckon Dellboy is right on the money. I would be contacting the NRL.
I agree. There is a point in PR's post, though, that some seem to have missed.

Starting a Rugby League Club in Tassie or WA is entirely different to starting a Club in NSW, QLD or ACT.

The hardest thing is finances, as it is difficult to get a sponsor for a new Club in a new sport whicjh people are generally indifferent to.

I am not sure whether the NRL has a 'starting a new Club in a place where nobody cares' kit, but all jokes aside - we need one.

thorson1987

I agree. There is a point in PR's post, though, that some seem to have missed.

Starting a Rugby League Club in Tassie or WA is entirely different to starting a Club in NSW, QLD or ACT.

The hardest thing is finances, as it is difficult to get a sponsor for a new Club in a new sport whicjh people are generally indifferent to.

I am not sure whether the NRL has a 'starting a new Club in a place where nobody cares' kit, but all jokes aside - we need one.

Mate, new clubs in NSW, QLD and ACT also struggle these days for sponsorship.

Hell, some established clubs struggle.

PRs post just came off as a usual whinge about the ARLC post like the majority of his.

I do agree with the last part though. In a perfect world, the ARLC would help financially for every new club regardless of location.

elbusto

Mate, new clubs in NSW, QLD and ACT also struggle these days for sponsorship.

Hell, some established clubs struggle.

PRs post just came off as a usual whinge about the ARLC post like the majority of his.

I do agree with the last part though. In a perfect world, the ARLC would help financially for every new club regardless of location.
Fair call. I am looking at this from the point of view of starting a Club in what is, effectively, a new comp as well.

I hope to do a lot more work with Tassie Clubs this year to settle them all down. It is hard yakka. I am semi-retired so I have a bit of time to give them a more support than before working off a 60 hour work week.

cleary89

Senior park afl costs 400 rego. Steep when teams we play against pay players up to a few hundred a game.

Raiderdave

The posters' comments about the insurance situation is correct, it only covers medical charges not covered by Medicare or the public health system (so very little).

ah no
that poster was not correct ..... he said there was no cover at all & there obviously is some.
A lot of stuff isn't covered by Medicare like physio & some other specialised treatments & you get 80% of these bills covered up to a total of $2400 capped.

& its the same level of cover for other sports as well including soccer as another poster pointed out so his attempt to explain this as a reason for higher rego costs for soccer weren't accurate either:sarcasm:

Raiderdave

Senior park afl costs 400 rego. Steep when teams we play against pay players up to a few hundred a game.

some Senior RL clubs down here have an interesting way of covering their costs although unsure if its unique to Canberra
they don't charge their players rego & kit them out for no cost , but they encourage their players to go out into the local community & source a personal sponsor .. a U18's player costing $500 a year

the sponsor gets their company's name in the program .. 2 free tickets to all home games & a couple of functions at the club throughout the year

seems to work well.

The Rosco

What a contradictory post. You are correct that what kids receive depends greatly on the sponsorship and wealth of the local club, then dump on league because your son's school received AFL kits and not NRL kits. To counter that the school I work at received 2 sets of Rugby League jumpers from St Mary's Leagues club and we had to buy our own sets of AFL jerseys, and we are down the road from GWS supposed training base in Blacktown.

Clubs and schools that are located close to a wealthy club receive the support.

Didn't mean to dump on league at all. Merely highlighting the fact that afl is actively wooing the schools. Maybe it is just in my area. I didn't seek nationwide data.
If your local club is setting the pace , then great for them.

Delboy

I wouldn't believe all the propaganda re the AFL, they exaggerate everything here in the Hills District and struggle to field teams except mainly Mexican expats

They go to local schools . Give away stuff, then count the kids that turn up to get the stuff as local juniors and publish them as actual playing numbers, they will slowly get found out, but the pro AFL media will continue to run the stories spread by their media butt mates

And what, you think new clubs in Brisbane and Sydney have it easy.

No idea, I don't live in any of those other places, was giving an example of a recent situation in my area that would suggest the newspaper article is poorly researched to suggest kids choosing RL are getting it free. Great if you are in a Sydney/Brisbane/act pokie machine club, not so great for the rest of the country.

And yes by now the arlc should have in place a national insurance scheme, a national kit scheme and jnr club start up grants to help the game grow, one of their strategic goals. They've had two years and done what for jnr RL nationally?

Paullyboy

I think the reaction to Perth Red's post is based purely on personal opinions of things he has said in other threads, and completely disregarded the content of his post in this thread.

I personally think he made a good point and anyone who thinks starting a new club in QLD or NSW would be as hard as starting one in Perth or Hobart or wherever is kidding themselves. This doesn't mean it's easy to start a new club in QLD or NSW, I know it would be bloody hard work. But starting a club in a heartland area would definitely face fewer hurdles than a club starting up in a non-heartland area.

Titanic

How much do AFL players have to pay to play an international? Oh yeah, I forgot, nothing because they don't.