Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Leagues club AGM 2012

Kornstar

have you been to a football or leagues club AGM???...believe me they will get absolutely smashed, particularly if Fitzy and his mate John Fenwick turn up, I'm so cut about not being able to make Tuesday but for those who do i guarantee fire works plus!!

Yep, been to a few but apart from the comedy and dancing around questions, what answers will we get?

You are telling everyone to get there to ask the "tough" questions but we already have the answers and to the few others like "is it true that Hayne and Sandow had a punch up" or "was Sandow dropped for disciplinary reasons" or "do the coach and our best player not see eye to eye", which they will dismiss anyways. Is there anything that we can ask that will get answered?

Sure Fitzy will get there and ask why they are selling Vikings or something and MITS will ask about the salary cap breach but they will only spin doctor something, that is what everyone in power does when they don't want to answer questions.

Yep, been to a few but apart from the comedy and dancing around questions, what answers will we get?

You are telling everyone to get there to ask the "tough" questions but we already have the answers and to the few others like "is it true that Hayne and Sandow had a punch up" or "was Sandow dropped for disciplinary reasons" or "do the coach and our best player not see eye to eye", which they will dismiss anyways. Is there anything that we can ask that will get answered?

Sure Fitzy will get there and ask why they are selling Vikings or something and MITS will ask about the salary cap breach but they will only spin doctor something, that is what everyone in power does when they don't want to answer questions.

You are spot on. They won't answer any of those questions.
I was thinking of going but what's the point when I'll only be one of 1000 mushrooms in the joint being fed bullshit.

that's a cop out response Kornstar, seriously mate, that has a smell of "can't be bothered" written all over it...I think you'll get more out of the night than people think, in saying that I'm sure there will be plenty of people who would rather watch the 'voice' or some other rubbish on TV..

I was thinking of going but what's the point when I'll only be one of 1000 mushrooms in the joint being fed bullshit.

again, I think it'll fire up big time and mate there won't be 1000, there will be 50 if we're lucky.

It might fire up, they're still not going to answer questions honestly or in detail.
They just paper over the answers and give us spin, like any board does.

eg.

Question from floor: "It's been rumoured that there is a rift between some of the senior playerand younger fella's, and that Hindy and Hayne don't see eye to eye. Is there any truth to this?

What do you think they are going to say Stagger? This?

A. Yes, that's true, and we've tried to sort it out but there's no way we can get them to like each other. It's clear it's effecting our on field performances and that's why we encouraged Hindy to retire early.

Or this?

A. No truth in that rumour at all. Next question please?

Noise

Question for the board:

It has been rumoured that Parra are looking to get someone in to help out Kearney. What are your thoughts on Paul Langmack? He has a better record than Kearney and is currently available

I am a prepetual member of the leagues club, member of the football club and supporters club but live to far away to come down for meetings like this.
But i can tell it was living within a hours drive I'd be there will with bells on.
Something that should be asked is did they put this meeting on the same night and starting half a hour later as a Supporters club meeting to A) ensure more NRL supporters can go as they will already be at the club for thier meeting or B) hoping that the most passionate NRL team supporters will be too bust at thier meeting to attend so they can dodge footy team questions?

MrT

Question for the board:

It has been rumoured that Parra are looking to get someone in to help out Kearney. What are your thoughts on Paul Langmack? He has a better record than Kearney and is currently available

Are you Paul Langmack?

eels fans preparing for the meeting.........

angry-mob.jpg

Tony Bongo

Gronk,

This question was raised at the FC AGM in December. The response from the chairman had a few points.

1) He didn't believe 3P had that as a promise when elected.
2) He believed the current system worked well and saw no reason to change it.

I also want to be clear. Roy Spagnolo didn't run for the Football club board on the 3P ticket. Indeed I spoke with Roy after the election of the 3P team on two occasions before the Leagues Club election and on both times Roy was "considering" running and indeed considering what side to run with.

The constitution does not need to be amended. The issue is ownership of the NRL license. Currently the license has been granted to the Parramatta National Rugby League Club Limited (PNRLC or NRL / NYC operations), which is a fully owned subsidiary of the Parramatta Leagues Club Group (PLC). If that company was sold to the Parramatta District Rugby League Football Club (PDRLFC or Football Club.) for a dollar that would suffice as far as I understand. The problem comes down to the funding.

Last year the Leagues club subsidies the football operations to tune of 3.6 million and gave another Million to the PDRLFC as a Grant. As far as I understand, a parent organization can fund a child organization tax free. Whereas granting money to another organization starts to get taxed quite extremely once you get above a certain value (1.1 million or something like that). This is why the clubs organization was changed back in 1999, partially in preparation for a merger, partially to reduce the tax burden and partially to attract players as the leagues club would “guarantee” any contract, and in the wake of the Bears and Bunnies both leaving players out of pocket, that was seen as a positive.

I'm not real clear on this.
The ticket sales $2.5m, merchandise sales $1.5m, sponsorship $5.4m and NRL distribution $3.6m (total $13 million) were all counted as revenue in the Leagues Club Annual report.
The grants to District Rugby League are $1m and the Subsidy to Parramatta Eels $3m. So do the Disrtict Rugby League and the Eels cost $17million a year to run ?

I'm not real clear on this.
The ticket sales $2.5m, merchandise sales $1.5m, sponsorship $5.4m and NRL distribution $3.6m (total $13 million) were all counted as revenue in the Leagues Club Annual report.
The grants to District Rugby League are $1m and the Subsidy to Parramatta Eels $3m. So do the Disrtict Rugby League and the Eels cost $17million a year to run ?

You forgot to subtract the 4 million or so it costs for ground hire and sponsorship fulfilment (as in boxes and gifts) so say 13 million, Yeah that sound like the number I was in 1999 or so. 12 million for a Competitive football club. 9 Million for budget basement (wests magpies) 15 or so for the Broncos.

Tony Bongo

You forgot to subtract the 4 million or so it costs for ground hire and sponsorship fulfilment (as in boxes and gifts) so say 13 million, Yeah that sound like the number I was in 1999 or so. 12 million for a Competitive football club. 9 Million for budget basement (wests magpies) 15 or so for the Broncos.

Thanks Mark.

Kornstar

that's a cop out response Kornstar, seriously mate, that has a smell of "can't be bothered" written all over it...I think you'll get more out of the night than people think, in saying that I'm sure there will be plenty of people who would rather watch the 'voice' or some other rubbish on TV..

You are 100% correct, I can't be bothered! I have a family I have just spent 20 months away from and I would rather do my fatherly duties than listen to grown men lie to my face!

I get that enough at work......

If I honestly thought I would get answers, I would most definitely be there. My past experiences at the AGM's are the reasons for my attitude, if they were actually informative I would have no issues being there!

It might fire up, they're still not going to answer questions honestly or in detail.
They just paper over the answers and give us spin, like any board does.
Yeah, I tend to agree Suity. I enjoy reading the reports here from people who are kind enough to give up their time to attend and write up their versions of what happened.

But unless you live locally or go past the joint on your way home, it's a long way to go to just to hear the latest spin and wallpaper job.

cv8z

Yeah, I tend to agree Suity. I enjoy reading the reports here from people who are kind enough to give up their time to attend and write up their versions of what happened.

But unless you live locally or go past the joint on your way home, it's a long way to go to just to hear the latest spin and wallpaper job.

Yet we travel to game we might not win?

Yeah, true. But I guess that's just trying to get some value out of the $250+ we've already forked out for season tickets... maybe they should hold the AGM at the Stadium on game day, instead of the U20s :lol:.

cv8z

Yeah, true. But I guess that's just trying to get some value out of the $250+ we've already forked out for season tickets... maybe they should hold the AGM at the Stadium on game day, instead of the U20s :lol:.

What about those who go to the away games?
What about value out of the board?
Maybe people have no interest and it's only the vocal few here or just plain apathy
It's never a full house At the AGM anyway so the message is things aren't that bad or important enough
But it's our club when it suits the argument I guess

You hit it true with the word latest.
The last board were worse.

You hit it true with the word latest.
The last board were worse.
I'd agreed with your quote "like any board does". It's your opinion which was worse, I reckon they're all as bad as each other (as will be the next ones).